We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great hotel - only minor moans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Princess Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Princess Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really great hotel - only minor moans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel was generally great and I would definitely go again and recommend to others. The setting was fab, overlooking the sea. We had a park-side view (of the driveway really) and I really wished we had got a seaside view for the extra money as it was worth it. We tried to switch while we were there but there weren't any available.

We had a one-bedroom apartment and it was great. A really decent size with two bathrooms, which is handy once the little one has gone to sleep in the bedroom. It had its own little kitchen area with hob, microwave, fridge and draw/cupboard space. Also a mini-bar, which we used on arrival and then stocked with our own stuff.

The front of house staff were really friendly and helpful.

The hotel had three pools - one attached to the hotel and two others attached to 'On The Rocks' bar - a 1 minute walk away. The one attached to our hotel wasn't big, but there were always enough sun loungers for us (two families) around the pool and there was also an indoor pool, which is great when the kids want to get out of the sun.

The service around the pool wasn't great. Not enough staff came around to help set up the umbrellas (which were cumbersome) or to take food and drink orders. When they did they would often get the orders wrong and once I was told I couldn't get the cocktails on the menu as there was no-one there that could make them - even though they were options on the poolside menu!! So i trotted along to 'On The Rocks' and carried a couple back. The last thing to say about the poolside areas, both at our hotel and the associated ones, is that they are not toddler friendly. The ones at On The Rocks were basically on the rocks i.e. you could jump into the sea and there were massive rocks poking out of the decking everywhere. It was great for adults and older kids and I did enjoy an afternoon there without child, sipping cocktails and jumping into the clear waters. The one attached to out hotel just didn't have a lot of space around it for the kids to play and again had a pretty big drop into the pathway below. So we were always on extra special watch, which is not great for a holiday.

It was handy having three restaurants that were associated with the hotel as meant we could eat out and charge to our room and they were all in really short walking distance.

It was a tad annoying at check out that we had to put two transactions through our credit card to clear our bill. Basically on arrival they pre-charge your credit card and then if you spend more than that (100 euro) you need to do it in two transactions and so pay twice for loading charges and commission on the credit card. Im surprised the hotel, with so many guests going through it everyday, hasn't negotiated a different way of doing this for its customers. I only mention it as I consciously took cash to change over there and didn't use a credit/debit card until this point to avoid the cheeky loading charges that the credit/debit cards charge when you are abroad.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
68
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returned from a week in Dubrovnik. with a sea view suite on 1st floor (3007) - couple with 2 adult children.
the room was not ready at lunch time when we arrived - but we were given a free drink (sparkling wine) and sat in the bar terrace for the hour it took.
The room was very large with the sofa bed made up for our adult children and the separate bedroom wit he suite for us,
The balcony was massive, almost big enough for 5 a side
There was a microwave, kettle, safe, hob - bit redundant unless you bring your saucepan with you as no plates, saucepans were provided - perhaps they can provide if you ask?
Coffee and tea was generally refilled although we had to ask once.
There is no milk , But this can be obtained for free from the bar on the reception level if you ask.

Breakfast was available in your room but we always went to the buffet - long hours 7-11am for breakfast. Massive choice, with range of orders - such as omelette and various types of egg you could get made fresh.

Lunch and dinner we enjoyed in the attached restaurant - selectee review

My wife and eldest daughter enjoyed the reasonably priced spa

Everything was clean, everyone helpful with good English

Plenty of pools to use - indoor and out - 4 I think in total, but you need to be a good swimmer to use the sea off of the attached beach.

Only downsides were on the last day
Our breakfast eggs were over cooked, there was a problem with payment of the bill - agent we had booked through had not paid - but to be fair the hotel said they would take it up with them and haven't charged us yet, and while they allowed us to use the facilities all day until our late transfer we were mad to feel uncomfortable as we spent 3-4 mins in the lobby area adding our day clothes to our suitcases - I could hear them talking about the suitcases in the reception area and the porter hurried us up to get them back on a luggage trolley.

Apart from this a great stay and we would happily return

Room Tip: Sea view a must Suite good value for 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a junior suite when staying with family for one week. The views are stunning as long as you make sure to have a sea view room. Nice room, spacious bed, but in overall the hotel lacks luxury type of elements. Breakfast was good and the service was very friendly. With a rocky beach and only couple of small swimming pools this place is not that good with kids. Would still recommend to anyone.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just got back from a short stay at the Royal Princess for our 10 year wedding anniversary and had an amazing time. If you are there on a special occasion they will go out of their way to make your stay truly memorable I can find no faults with any aspect of the accommodation in the end we did not go into town instead just lounged around by the pool snorkeling in the hotels private sea area whenever we got too hot. Also agree with a previous reviewer the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept on!

For breakfast take advantage of the al carte service to order a fresh egg based dish at no extra charge

Thank you to everyone who made our anniversary so special we hope to return but may have to try to leave the kids at my parents again as the quality here is too much for small children to appreciate fully!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here about a week.
The suite we stayed had 2 toilet and a separate spacious living room and cooking facility. Room was rather huge. It could an apartment, one bedroom that finished in high quality.
We were talking that if we find a holiday house in that size and in that quality we would buy.

The view from the room was stunning, sea facing right in front on the top floor.

We had massage, free airport transfer, one dinner voucher and champagne on arrival package. We didn't use the complimentary massage and airport transfer. Didn't have time and had a car. But it wasn't particularly expensive compared with other deals. So wasn't bad for us.

When we arrived, there was champagne and chocolate fondue strawberries in the room.
Parking is good. Out or underground parking. Plenty of spaces.

Breakfast was o.k. I had better. Pool also was on the same floor as the breakfast room. We didn't use it. Even though weather was pleasant, it wasn't hot enough dip us into. But looked o.k. But little bit smaller size I think.

We tried dinner at the restaurant. But wasn't satisfying, because there wasn't many on the menu. Just 2-3 on. I didn't go back. Using voucher was enough. Waiting personal were very attentive. Especially the manager!

It is close to the town, you can reach there on foot. Walk along seaside then, you are there 10-15mins. There are many restaurants n bars you can choose from.

Only criticism is we usually stayed until mid day if we weren't doing any excursions. Then heading town. Twice, the room wasn't tidy up. One out of two occasions we pressed make a room button, but nth happened. Wasn't big problem it wasn't that messy. But hotel like this, usually get 2 service daily. Morning and evening. So sth they can improve. I guess.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the luxury suite with sea view and it was quite simply magical. The bedroom and living room have glass walls looking out over the amazing blue water. The suite had 2 bathrooms both with showers, a huge living room with a small kitchenette area. The bed was super comfortable sleeping to the sounds of waves crashing on the rocks below was a wonderful experience, The balcony was huge with 2 recliners at one end and a table and chairs group at the other. It was also fairly private with no-one able to look directly in. The room had lots of nice touches like free wifi and an international plug adapter.

We didn't eat dinner in the hotel but the breakfast was great and even offered champagne which was a nice touch. The one negative thing here was that it didn't seem like the croissants or bread was freshly baked each morning.

We had lunch in several sea-front cafes which belong to the hotel complex and the food standard was consistently high. For example we ordered a pizza bar snack in the "On The Rocks" bar and were kinda expecting a microwaved snack. Instead we got a delicious freshly made pizza.

The spa area was gorgeous with several saunas, though we didn't use it much, On our last day our flight was late in the evening the hotel kindly checked to see guests were moving in to our room (otherwise we could have held onto it after check out time) and unfortunately that was the case but the hotel kindly gave us passes to the hotel spa so that we could shower and change in the hotel before leaving for the airport. Talk about service,

The hotel staff were really helpful and were knowledgeable about which shops were in the area. The hotel is a long way from the old town but there is a bus stop nearby with buses every 10 minutes or so heading into the town (takes 10-15 minutes). You can even buy bus tickets at the hotel. There is also a little tourist village 5 minutes walking distance away with ATMs and shops for clothes, beach gear and stuff.

The hotel had several swimming pools, which would be good for kids but it is much more fun to go swimming in the blue water in front of the hotel. There are several places where stairs and ladders have been built to allow easy access in and out and they had outside showers.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury suite - you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are a couple in our late 30s used to staying in upper-middle to top end hotels. We stayed for a long weekend in May 2014. This is a re-post of my original post with new annotations following a remarkable email discussion with the hotel owner about the points raised originally. I am leaving it as a 2 star as it was my original impression, but given his feedback this could be upgraded to a 4 star if the issues I had have been addressed – I have added the results of the email exchange in capitals. I would certainly consider staying here if I returned to Croatia given the location, the enthusiastic staff and adequately sized rooms. I think the management of this hotel is hands-on and has the right attitude to continually improve their service. The title of my original post was: ‘Management need to review their systems’, and it is clear they have.

Staff seemed rushed off their feet - even when few people were around requesting their assistance. This makes me think they are either inefficient/incompetent or the systems are poor. The staff seemed enthusiastic and helpful on the whole though (and I had numerous things to sort out) so I think it was the latter. In fact I thought the staff actually were rather helpful and the things that went wrong were not their fault.

THE OWNER SAYS HE HAS INCREASED STAFFING AT PEAK PERIODS TO MANAGE THIS. THE STAFF THEMSELVES SEEMED HELPFUL SO THIS SHOULD SOLVE THE PROBLEM.

What is going on with the fountain out the front? It needs to be sorted out - the pump is noisy and extremely irritating if your room, like ours, is next to it - it needs either sound-proofing, replacing or just leaving on so it is continuous. There was also some music playing from the fountain itself that was fine when you were outside but awful when inside. Admittedly after I complained they turned it off and were very apologetic at the time and then again the next day.

THE OWNER SAYS THIS HAS BEEN RECTIFIED AFTER A MANAGER SLEPT IN THE SAME ROOM OVERNIGHT AND CONFIRMED THE NOISE.

The rooms need an iron and ironing board. It took 25 minutes for me to be taken to the laundry room to iron a shirt and in the end it was an incredibly helpful bar maid that took me as the person that was going to vanished on another job and didn't come back.

THE OWNER SAYS NEW STAFF ARE NOW WALKED THROUGH THE BUILDING AND COMPLETELY FAMILIARISED WITH IT. THIS SHOULD SOLVE THE PROBLEM.

Breakfast was pretty good. You can ask for fresh juice and proper coffee - there is no need to use the machines. Good variety of cereal, fruit, breads and hot food. Waiting staff seemed to have no specific table that they were responsible for so service was on and off. There were also never really enough of them.

THERE IS A NEW MANAGER APPOINTED AND A NEW SYSTEM IN PLACE THAT SHOULD IMPROVE THIS.

Views from breakfast are obscured by the trees but great from elsewhere and if your room has a view then brilliant - just make sure it does. We accidentally requested a non-sea view and when we arrived they were apparently booked up so we couldn't upgrade to one. THIS WAS MY FAULT AND NOT A REFLECTION OF THE HOTEL. The room was a good size though and well laid out and finished. It was also clean and the bed comfortable. I did choose the location based primarily on the view though and had the room not been already paid in advance on expedia, we would have moved hotels.

The hotel arranged airport transfers efficiently. No problems there.

We did use the bus service which seemed to depart from 300m up the road every 15 minutes or so. It was fairly easy to use. Tickets were bought from reception.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Make sure you have a sea view otherwise stay elsewhere. Avoid the rooms closest to the fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Princess Hotel

Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Princess Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Royal Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.