We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views Top Quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Princess Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Princess Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Dawlish, South Devon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views Top Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We spent a few nights at the Royal Princess after spending two nights staying in Dubrovnik Old Town. This was a really a wonderful relaxing location made all the better by the Spa Facilities at the hotel. Food was great, the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful and the location ideal I would imagine at all times of the year. Certainly in November it was beautiful and 21 degrees one day although we were assured it does get colder than that.

The standards of service, of decor, of facilities and of comfort are excellent thanks in part to the efforts of the lovely Tatjana, the Quality Control Manager.

We will be back.

Room Tip: A sea-view room is well worth a price premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    34
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
84
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire, uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have just returned from the Royal Princess hotel where we stayed in lovely accomodation with amazing views. We had booked to stay in Hotel Ariston so were delighted to be upgraded to the Royal Princess where our accomodation was not only vast but exceptionally clean with fantastic facilities. The views were amazing. We really enjoyed watching the cruise liners coming and leaving each day. We booked on a bed and breakfast basis and the selection of hot and cold food offered as a buffet each morning was great. It was nice to have the option of ordering your own choice/ combinations for eggs, omelettes , scramble etc in addition to the buffet. The staff were extremely friendly and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left all staff were friendly, helpful and a credit to the hotel. Well done and Thankyou.

Room Tip: We would recommend seaview rooms to enjoy the lovely views, sun sets, cruise liners etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London (formerly from Chicago)
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was nice as was the spa. I recommend you book a spa visit! The food was a bit pricey and was okay. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The views from this location were phenomenal and the late October weather was in our favor so we swam in the sea. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our adult daughter, husband and myself were privileged to enjoy our stay in the Presidential Suite and It was all you could expect from a 5 star hotel! On our arrival we were escorted to the suite and found fruit, candy and Champagne. The views from the balcony is breathtaking! With four chaise lounges and a table with 4 chairs, there was plenty of space to real relax in the open. The furniture was as elaborate as I could every have imagined. A fire place next to my full size desk with beautiful paintings on each wall and georgous art work everywhere. The chairs and love seat in the living area fit the decor and the dining area had a beautiful dining table to seat six. The wet bar are was stocked with lovely glassware and wine cooler. The kitchen had a stove, refrigerator, dishwasher and serving pieces plus table service for four. There are two huge bedrooms. One on the sea side with floor to ceiling windows (as does the living and dining room) is done in shades of cream and the bed set is fit for a Princess. A huge walk in closet with lots of shelves and hanging area and a gigantic bath suite is off of this room. A whirlpool tub for two, a fantastic shower, toilet and bidet plus a double vanity. The second bedroom is done in mahogany and again the bed set is beautiful. Several large closets and large chest of drawers give you great storage. A lovely bath with shower is attached. The most surprising feature is a private sauna room with separate shower and chaise also TV. There are actually a total of four TV's but few are watched because of the views out the windows. Breakfast in the dining room on the main floor was bountiful, varied and wonderful. If you didn't see what you wanted you could as for it! We did order in and ate in our dining room for one of our evening meals. Again the food was delicious. The Hotel Spa on the main floor was well appointed and the staff very friendly. There is a lovely indoor swimming pool and the sea swimming area was a few doors away. The bus to the Old Town was a short walk from the main check in area and tickets were purchased at the desk in the lobby. What more can I say, but that the sound of the crashing surf and the view of the boats on the sea, all under a warm sun with a gentle breeze, made this a most delightful and amazing vacation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are suites and have a great view of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were very fortunate to get an upgrade to the Royal Princess from the Neptun on our arrival. The suite was huge with a large bedroom, with a great bed, seperate lounge area and two bathrooms. Everything was very clean and there was loads of storage space. Bathrobes and slippers were also provided. There was a large balcony with a marvellous sea view and we watched the sunset over the sea. The leisure facillities were good with a sauna and steamroom which we often had to ourselves. Breakfast had a good selection of items on offer, although some days they were a little slow to fill up the meats and cheeses. We were booked half board and evening meal in the Mediterraneo Restaurant was very average with a lot of the food not being very hot and the vegetables over cooked would recommend eating out in Dubrovnik instead.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

....which should tell you what you need to know, but there are a few points that need to be made / understood about this superb hotel. Firstly, it's one of 3 that make up the Importanne resort - basically 3 hotels joined together, the Royal Princess being the newest and the most luxurious of the 3. Whilst it has it's own reception you still have to check in at the main original hotel a couple of hundred yards down the road. Also, facilities are shared to a degree which until recently (since we came in May at any rate) extended to all restaurants and leisure options. The RP now has its own restaurant which RP residents use for breakfast - a nice airy room with a beautiful,decked area outside. This however does not extend to evening meal service for half / full board customers as the new restaurant becomes an a la carte "stand alone" restaurant open to passers by. Those staying at the RP need to take dinner at the communal Mediterranean restaurant a short walk away OR they can choose to forgo and pay for a la carte. Not a big problem as such - the Mediterranean is closer to the seafront and has superb views from its outside area BUT the food is only average. This is the only area I could criticise the overall package and I would suggest that they offer RP residents the option to "trade up" to a la carte - say 100k a head allowance perhaps?

Accommodation in the RP is staggeringly good and its USP - suites comprises 2 big airy rooms lounge and bedroom, huge bathroom ensuite plus separate additional loo and shower, massive plasma screens in both rooms plus a kitchenette area with minibar in a full size fridge, sink, microwave, kettle and safe. Quiet, private and from most sea-side rooms, views to die for - truly awesome. To sit either on the outside balcony off the lounge or on a chair (or in bed!) in the bedroom is breathtaking, the latter view having almost an infinity effect where you could imagine that there is nothing outside except the sea gently lapping the rocks below.

Location on the Lapad peninsula is picturesque, verdant, quiet and on an excellent bus route that can get you to either the Gruz Harbour area or the Old Town in a matter of minutes - Dubrovnik card passes can be bought from the hotel or online and are excellent value and avoid messing with change on the bus which irritates the already grumpy drivers!!

So, overall verdict is a worthy five stars despite its idiosyncracies BUT the RP is probably more for couples than families as facilities and activities for the latter are limited (which suits us just fine having done the kids club thing with our bundles of joy several years ago!!).

Room Tip: Sea view a must have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Late October break - 4 nights. Our room was on the top floor overlooking the sea. Sitting on the balcony in the sun watching the ocean and the good views was excellent. Room very high quality, hotel clean, high standard and staff are friendly. It's obviously end of season but this did not detract from the service here or at neighbour hotels. Breakfast every morning outside was a treat, good buffet or cooked to order. Did not eat in the restaurant as it was very quiet with little atmosphere. Excellent spa facilities, (wife now planning a girlie trip) Did eat at the Zoe restaurant in the same complex, okay but could have been better.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Princess Hotel

Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Princess Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Royal Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;