We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best coffee and cakes in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gradska Kavana

Gradska Kavana
Gorica Sv. Vlaha 77, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
+385 038520324747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 287 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“best coffee and cakes in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

really great location right next to the main square and looking at the cathedral. Service really efficient and the coffees all good too - the cakes and pastries, croissants and sandwiches were all really well done. A great example of keeping it simple with an easy menu that can be delivered quickly every time

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    63
    29
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ely, Cambs
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A super view! The service was polite and efficient. We had a free tuna pate starter which was excellent. The wine list is very good. Recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
1,030 reviews 1,030 reviews
507 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
669 helpful votes 669 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The place was pumping when i arrived , full of happy diners so it seemed that evening , The outside terrace is huge and i believe housed in the former place of keeping the weapons of the town.
I was served very efficiently by a young waiter who kept calling me lady. Yes lady , no lady , that kind of thin , How is your meal lady are you enjoying everything lady ,
I had three starters for my dinner beginning with oysters , 10 delicious fresh local oysters of what variety I do not know but they looked something like Belon. I then had a swordfish carpaccio, nice , fresh and light, foliowed by a delicious octopus salad . A big bottle of water and some rose wine , a local rose of excellent quality . Lady was happy and lady was satisfied , all for around $50.
I recommend the Arsenal as a restaurant for singles , couples and families , there is something for everyone on the menu …..

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England!!
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, beautiful location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was very surprised to see the ranking and previous reviews of this restaurant - we ate here twice and really enjoyed our food both times. The fish platter was reasonably priced and out of this world, you could tell the chef really knew what he was doing!

The service was of the highest standard, with our waiter Toni doing all he could and more to make sure we had the best experience..and we DID!

The location of the restaurant is also superb, situated in the old port of Dubrovnik - its really something special.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
“the view doesn't compensate the service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This restaurant was false recommended by our travel guide and so we tapped in the hope of a nice evening with good food and wine into a trap full of ordinary dihes and inacceptable services. Yes, you can see the harbour while eating, but that is not enough to have a good stay in a restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gradska Kavana also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Gradska Kavana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gradska Kavana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.