We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - clean, lovely and sweet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Secret Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Secret Apartments to your Saves list
The Secret Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Zeljarica, 3, Dubrovnik, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 400 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location - clean, lovely and sweet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Everything about this lovely little apartment in the heart of old town is perfect. The staff are helpful in setting up the booking and meeting you at the gates to escort you to this little gem. Clean, well appointed and ready to be your launching pad into the city. I can not stress enough the perfect location. Maria helped with food and tourist suggestions and even helped us with our bags (no elevators). If you want to experience old town this should be your booking.

Room Tip: All have prime views into the side streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in Secret III for one week and we absolutely loved it! We arranged our airport transfer through Butterfly Services and Viktor met us to escort us to the apartment and gave us lots of info on sightseeing, places to eat etc and our e-mail queries were answered promptly. The apartment was set out over 2 floors and had fantastic views over the red rooftops of Dubrovnik. It was very well equipped and the linen and towels were changed mid week. The bed was very comfortable and the day bed in the living rom was fab! And like the previous reviewer my favourite time of day was lying in the huge bathtub in the evening listening to the guitar player in the street below - bliss! And even though we had to be careful not to use up all the hot water filling it up it was not a problem. The location was perfect being just off the main square, there was a small supermarket and bakery round the corner but we preferred the ones just outside the Place gate - worth the extra couple of minutes walk. The Oliva Pizza place just below the apartment is also very good. I can't recommend these apartments and Butterfly Services highly enough - we both agreed this was our best holiday ever - thank you Isabelle & Viktor.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I found the secrets apartment 2 on booking.com and from the photos thought it looked very nice. I wasn't disappointed when we arrived! From a few days before we arrived Isabelle and Viktor from Butterfly Services were in contact via email and arranged our personal pick up from the airport to Ploce Gate at the entrance to the city, at a very good rate may I add! Viktor met us here and helped us walk with our bags in about under 2 mins to our destination...the beautifully renovated Secret Apartments 2! Viktor was very efficient and friendly, giving us advice on things to do and both his and Isabelle's telephone no's to contact 24/7 if we had any problems. There were four of us stayin here and every night we couldn't believe how central we were! Right next door to st Blaise's church in fact! Another bonus was that every night at around 6 a beautiful classical musician played the guitar at a restaurant outside and if you open the window you can have a private concert while you get ready after a day of discovering Dubrovnik. I can't recommend this apartment enough. We certainly will be returning for you can't beat the location, value, and a personal service. Thank you again Isabelle and vicktor! :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks stay in Dubrovnik in Secrets 1 apartment. We booked our holiday in Dubrovnik because we were getting married there & our wedding planner put us in touch with Isabelle and Viktor as we told her we wanted to look at some apartments. We wanted somewhere central as we had guests staying all over Dubrovnik so by being in the old town we could be in the middle of everyone. Instantly Isabelle was agreat help, she suggested the different apartments available that suited our needs and their website was easy to use to look at the different apartments. Booking was easy with just one form and deposit easily paid with Isabelle ringing you when it was convienient for you. After that any questions we had were easily answered by a quick email.
On arrival at the airport we had the taxi transfer which was quick, easy and comfortable & with our mound of wedding stuff much appreciated. At the old town we were met by Viktor who took us to the apartment involving a walk through the old town which can only be described as amazing. The apartment was about 50m away from The Rectors Palace where we were getting married and smack in the middle of the old town. We then got to the apartment which can only be described as beautiful!!! It was much much bigger than all the pictures let on & just generally more amazing then we could wish for. We couldn't believe how lucky we were to be staying then.
After that Viktor went through a map with us, gave us suggestions of restaurants, and organsied a return transfer for the end of the week. He also reassured us he was on the phone if we needed him, to which we were then left to our own devices.
Everyone who came to visit us in secrets fell in love with it, it was for 2 people but is extremly spacious & we now have some of the most beautiful wedding photos thanks to it generally being a beautiful space. Can't wait to get back there!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I could write about how unexpectedly big the apartment is or how well it's decked out. I could talk about how friendly and helpful Viktor, the guy we dealt with, is. I could tell you that Dubrovnik is a stunning city that you have to visit... but you probably knew that.

The real highlight, however, is that the location of the apartment (Secret Apartment I) is as good as I could ever imagine holidaying in. It's not just a highlight; it's phenomenal. Located 10m across a narrow street from St. Blaise Church, we were staying in the very heart of Dubrovnik. This permitted us to recover from unusually high temperatures (and, correspondingly, an unusually tempestuous storm) whenever it suited. As self-catering accommodation we were able to come and go as we please, stocking up on fresh produce from the open-air morning market around the corner and essentials from a nearby supermarket.

Most importantly, we didn't lose any time travelling to and from one of the many hotels outside of the city walls. For one thing, this allowed us to spring out of bed and walk around the perimeter first thing in the morning... well before the hoards came in, so very much recommended!

Whilst a hotel experience undoubtedly holds its own attractions, we couldn't imagine going back anywhere else when we do inevitably return to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in the apartments for 1 week and had rented two of the apartments. Seriously, we have no complaints at all about these. Before travelling our correspondence with Isabella and Viktor was excellent with very quick responses. On arrival we had arranged a taxi transfer which was friendly, prompt and very efficient and our meet with Viktor to reach our apartment was also very easy and smooth. We were provided with maps and plenty of tips on where to eat and visit, all of which were good.
On to the accommodation itself, the two apartments that we rented were beautiful. Very well laid out and huge in size. The location was absolutely spot on. Right next to St Blaise Cathedral and if you looked sideways, onto the Stradun. Surprisingly noise was not an issue in the evening, even although it remained busy until about one o'clock. The apartments themselves are within an old renovated building entered by a stairway among the local restaurants. The stairway itself could be described as a little rickety but that added to the charm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bærums Verk, Akershus, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a one bed room apartment with two floors. Perfect location, aircondition, great apartment and a lots of information from the host, Victior.
Btw - you need to buy your own toilet paper.

Room Tip: We stayed at the top floor - no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Secret Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Apartments

Address: Zeljarica, 3, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 400 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Secret Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Secret Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Secret Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.