We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach close to the old city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banje Beach

Banje Beach
West entrance to the Old City, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 61 attractions in Dubrovnik
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beach close to the old city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Banje Beach is a nice little beach adjacent to the old city of Dubrovnik. It can however get a bit crowded, but aside from that it is a great place to enjoy the clear waters. Be sure to check out the kayak, snorkeling and parasailing tours that are available.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    29
    19
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
runcorn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rare Sandy Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The water in croatia is crystal clear perfect for snorkelling. Watch out for sea urchins!!! Was amazed by the amount of sealife underwater I could see just snorkelling off the coast.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beach= Pretty Good, Beach Club=Awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Banje Beach is a pretty nice little beach for Croatia, especially considering how close it is to the city. The problem is that it seems to be controlled by the 'East-West Beach Club'. If I was reviewing the beach, I would give it a 4/5, but there isn't anywhere else to review this 'Beach Club', so it has to go here. What sucks about the beach club you may well ask? For starters, the service is atrocious. Dude felt the need to point out in a rude manner that we should've gone up to the bar to rent the beach chairs. Heaven forbid he have to get up and do some work. We told him that everywhere else we had been in Croatia you just sat down and the people came around to collect your money. "Well it is not this way here." I can see that. You don't have to worry about it though pal, because I won't be back. Also, to rent the chairs was 70 kuna each, which was more than twice what we had paid anywhere else in the country. Now the first guy we talked to told us that if you rent 2 chairs you get the umbrella free, so as this other jerk is taking our mobey I said to him "We get an umbrella with this right?" He looks at me like he's some king considering whether to let a commoner kiss his hand. "No" he says at long last. I pointed out that I had already been informed that the umbrellas came free if you rented two chairs. So then he looked pissed off and wandered off and got us one. Great job champ. With your people skills you'll make assistant manager in no time. Cocktails were expensive and they let me buy one at full price at 4:55, then told me they were half-price starting at 5:00. Ice cream stand had like literally about 3 flavors. Oh, and they charge you to use the toilet. Yeah, really. Keep up the good work, East-West Beach Club. You're doing Croatia proud!

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“that's not a beach!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

It's a real pity that Dubrovnik doesn't have a large spacious beach in the city centre. Banje beach pretends to be one but in fact is more of a beach club than the beach itself. Too overcrowded, too dirty, too commercial and finally too expensive! Avoid at all costs, it's better to invest some time to get to Lapad or even better, to some smaller villages outside of Dubrovnik for some relief and relaxation. You can get a nice sun bed, umbrella, clean water and more privacy for almost twice cheaper than at Banje.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisholm, Minnesota
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice Beach with Lots of action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Check this spot out on your tour of Dubrovnik. Great beach with lots of action and adventure for people of all ages. Chairs and umbrellas are available for rent. The Beach club is there as well for late night action. All in all, one of the better beaches in Croatia.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banje Beach also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Banje Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banje Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.