We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem by the Harbour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blidinje

Blidinje
Lapadska Obala 21 | Lapad, Dubrovnik, Croatia
020385794
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 291 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Haywards Heath, Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Little Gem by the Harbour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Of all the pleasant Restaurants we tried on our visit to Dubrovnic the experience we received at Blindije was by far the best.

A smallish restaurant situated on the opposite side of the harbour to where the Cruise ships dock provided a mix of excellent food, good quality local wine and superb friendly service.

On our first visit we took advice from other visitors and ordered the "lamb on the bell" slow cooked two hours before you turn up. It was huge, very well cooked and priced very resonably.

We went back on our last night and had steaks and fish both of which were equally as good.

The Terrace on the roof has an excellent view over the harbour but as the time of year meant it was a bit cold for eating outside we were glad we had booked a table because several groups of people were unfortunately turned away.

Make sure you book a table and sit back to enjoy a pleasant unrushed dining extravaganza that you will wish you had discovered earlier.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    59
    19
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good, reasonably priced food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just after having the slow cooked lamb. There was four of us and were all stuffed. Really tender meat and potatoes to die for.
We had pizza there for lunch, and the pizzas were that good we booked the slow cooked lamb for dinner that evening. Didn't have a problem with the staff, they were pleasant and it was service with a smile. Would definitely return if back in this corner of the world.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruden Bay, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This restaurant was very close to the Hotel Lapad where we were staying and we enjoyed it so much we returned later in the week. On both occasions we sat on the rooftop terrace and enjoyed views over the harbour. The food was very good indeed and not at all expensive. Our "free" starter was missed on our first visit so it was a pleasant surprise to get it the second time. The service was unhurried and certainly much better second time around by the slightly older waitress who was very welcoming and polite.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merimbula, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Large servings and a free entree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We noticed this restaurant next to the well-reviewed Mozart restaurant and decided to give it a try.

The menu was quite extensive and the rooftop seating overlooking the harbour just the thing for a warm evening. The staff were very professional and helpful. My partner and I ordered an entrée and main course each, expecting the usual small entrées we had been served elsewhere. We were then presented with a complimentary entrée of tuna pate with toast and salad before our ordered entrees arrived. It was tasty.

Our ordered entrees of goats cheese and Dalmatian Ham then arrived and each was very large. By the time our main courses of schnitzel and carbonara pasta arrived we were full, and these again were huge servings. The pasta was stodgy but the schnitzel crisp with lashings of French fries and salad.

We did return to the restaurant another night for a pizza (alone) and the Mixed Pizza (tomato, cheese, ham and mushroom with herbs) was crisp and delicious.

Overall we would recommend this restaurant but be aware of the large portion sizes. It certainly offers value for money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent slow cook”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

They do an excellent slow cooked veal or lamb "under the bell". But you must call ahead at least 2 hours before arrival to order.

The restaurant is actually in Lapad area. You can reach here by No 6 bus from Pile Gate for 12 kuna each, a bit more on return for the bus has to reach Lapad before turning back to Pile Gate.

We had Katika too, she was very nice as described by many already. We ordered 4 slow cook and 2 grilled vegetable, and it was too much. Lots of yummy potatos in the meat dish.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blidinje also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Blidinje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blidinje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.