We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rozario

Rozario
Prijeko 1, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
+385 (0)20322015
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 287 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Portland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The ambiance is nice although lots of places in Old town with a much better view. We found the food to be average. Probably on par with the rest of Dubrovnik restaurants but certainly not among the best. The prices were high compared to the portion size. We had the truffle pasta, calamari and the fish stew. The fish stew was good, the rest were just OK. Disappointing after all the excellent reviews we had read about this place. Also, as other reviewers mentioned, they bring out this bread with olive tapenade (one slice per person) and charge 9 kuna per head for it... not a large amount, but not impressed!

On the plus side, the service was good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    90
    25
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newyork10011
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Well made traditional local food, good size portions. Especially loved the octopus salad appetizer. Nice location in a courtyard in the old city with outdoor seating.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maui, hawaii
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Seafood excellence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I wasn't feeling very well the night the three of us visited Rosario, but my husband and brother had fantastic seafood. I got a seafood risotto figuring the rice would be relatively mild. It was delicious and sitting at a pretty outdoor table made me feel better. From the happy faces on my dining companions I can recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice corner for dinner, central but tucked away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This konoba/tavern is tucked away in the 'east end' of the old town of Dubrovnik, nearby the Ploce gates into town. On Prijeko, a narrow 'restaurant alley' up one level from the Stradun and running parallel to it, it is very easily found at the end of Prijeko itself. The tables are spread over 3-4 ledges outdoors and a few inside. The tables are set nicely to a high quality with proper linens etc. The owner's / manager's affability (nice, friendly but respectful and not pushy) and the decent mid-sized menu (in terms of variety) were what one if for us as our choice for dinner this particular night.
After this it did take a while for the waiter to come over with menus etc. and to take our order subsequently. Whilst waiting for the starters, which also took a while but that was respectable we thought if they were presumably making it all fresh from scratch, we were served some appetisers as the kitchen's greetings. For mains we went with fish/seafood all the way, after all we were in Dubrovnik right by the Adriatic Sea! The catch of the day, quite similar to swordfish but not swordfish, was very tasty but a tiny tad overdone on the grill. The scampi, or langoustines, were in the shell and in a Dalmatian white wine and garlic sauce, extremely fresh and equally tasty. These needed a side dish as they came as they were on their own, so we ordered some grilled veg which was also very nice. The local Posip dry cold white wine with the meal went down rather well too. And after the slightly slow start, the attention we received through the meal was well balanced.
For a very decent price and quality of food and setting, this seems like a good bet among the hundreds of options downtown Dubrovnik!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great experience overall. Service was exceptional, warm and friendly. A little pricey for the quality of the food but that was standard for our experience in Dubrovnik.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rozario also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Rozario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rozario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.