We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but you pay a premium for the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cele

Cele
Placa 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
99 423 0400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 280 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food but you pay a premium for the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This place is located on the main street (Stradun) so is great for people watching, and looks pretty smart from the outside. They trade on their location and it is very much a tourist trap, convenient for those desperate for refreshment on a hot day! We went here on just one occasion and each had the breakfast burrito, which was nice but nothing to write home about. As previously mentioned in other reviews, the waiters are pretty disinterested and the service isn't great - this is the only place we didn't tip on our entire trip! They do not accept card payments, which is unusual considering their location and the size of the establishment. They do have good wifi though, which is not password protected, so if you're desperate to check your e-mail then you can loiter around cheekily pretending to take photos and get your internet fix!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    38
    17
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Never had a bite to eat in Cafe Cele, but this is THE perfect place for an after dinner drink! Great for people watching and when we were in Dubrovnik at the end of September, there was life music every night right next to the place and good music at that! Price level is higher than most other places, but worth it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We called in here several times on our way back to the apartment after a night out. They had live coustic music. The two guys who did the acoustic versions of rock music (including Led Zepplin and Pink Floyd) wewre superb. The beer wasn't particularly cheap, but as the place is on The Stradun it's to be expected.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“Got sick from the food here and lost 2 days”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went to Cele and ate food that made me very sick within hours of eating there. Thanks to Cele I spent 2 days sweating in my bed with frequent trips to the toilet getting rid of it from both ends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Breakfast? This was a full meal to last the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A first visit to Dubrovnik saw us heading to the old town looking for breakfast, and at 9am many of the local restaurants were preparing for the onset of thousands of visitors - many from our cruise ship. After a very early beer and coffee we found a lovely cafe called Cele. My wife and I ordered breakfast, expecting a small meal to start the day. Instead we received a huge plate of bacon, sausage, freshly fried eggs and vegetables, with a generous side plate of salad and coffee. The meal was so large it set us up until a late dinner, and was in a prime spot to people watch, and take in the sights. I was more than happy to pay the bill of 178 kuna, or around £20, and tip the very friendly and helpful, English speaking waiter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cele also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Cele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.