We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sort of modern” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Modern Art

Museum of Modern Art
Put Frana Supila 23, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
+385 20 426 590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 61 Attractions in Dubrovnik
Type: Art Museums
Attraction Details
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Sort of modern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

As a career artist and traveler, I have spent time in museums everywhere. I use the Museum of Contemporary Art Denver as a standard. Unfortunately this one in Dubrovnik feels more traditional than modern. When they noticed me with my iphone, I had someone following me until I left. They don't allow any photos.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    10
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Worth visiting with a Dubrovnik Card”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It was certainly worth the walk out of the old town centre to the museum. It is an interesting building just past the city beach. As with all modern art museums, the art won't be to everyone's tastes, but it was certainly interesting. I probably would not have gone if it hadn't been for the Dubrovnik card and, if you have one of these, I would definitely go. If you don't, it's probably worth going if you are interested in modern art.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Mark Curry photography”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Was really impressed by the exhibition, portraits from around the world. The museum is on the hill out of Dubrovnik about a 10 minute walk max.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Interesting but not memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Unlike most of the museums we visited, the modern art museum did not allow photos inside. The collection was interesting but not memorable. As part of the collection there were war related photos and some additional Mestovic sculptures.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfe Castle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A collection that makes you think”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We visited this beautiful art collection as the sun was setting, the outside terraces have a superb view of the old city. The art is very mixed, to us the most moving were the photographs of the bombardment of the city, the last frame being when the young photographer was killed by the shelling.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Modern Art also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Museum of Modern Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Modern Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.