We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but not memorable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Modern Art

Museum of Modern Art
Put Frana Supila 23, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
+385 20 426 590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 119 things to do in Dubrovnik
Attraction details
Laurel, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Interesting but not memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Unlike most of the museums we visited, the modern art museum did not allow photos inside. The collection was interesting but not memorable. As part of the collection there were war related photos and some additional Mestovic sculptures.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    10
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Corfe Castle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A collection that makes you think”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We visited this beautiful art collection as the sun was setting, the outside terraces have a superb view of the old city. The art is very mixed, to us the most moving were the photographs of the bombardment of the city, the last frame being when the young photographer was killed by the shelling.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Main collection not on show”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Wanted to visit on our last morning in Dubrovnik but when we turned up we found that only a special exhibition was on and the main collection wasn't on show. Glad we were told before parting with our 30 kuna. We were able to climb the steps to the sculpture terrace which was lovely with great views to the old town.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Depends if you like modern art I guess”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Inside part didn't do a lot for me. Outside part was pleasant enough with nice views, although the audio commentry was rather laboured. If you have bought a Dubrovnnik card and you've got nothing else planned, then why not. If you haven't bought a Dubrovnnik card, then I wouldn't bother unless you are into modern art.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, excellent artworks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I am so glad we we able to seek the gallery out - what a fantastic setting for the sculpture, and the building itself is gorgeous. Tickets for the current exhibition were a mere 30 kn and kept us entertained for hours.

The photography that is part of the permanent collection was perhaps the most worthwhile of the exhibits, allowing a glimpse into life before the recent conflict and, also, during/after.

Loved it. And the staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Modern Art also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Museum of Modern Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Modern Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.