We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One hour familiarisation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dubrovnik Walks Guided Walks

Dubrovnik Walks Guided Walks
Brsalje bb, Dubrovnik, Croatia
+385 95 806 45 26
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$18*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: :: GUIDED WALKS :: WALKING TOURS ::Take a guided walk with Dubrovnik Walks and discover what makes Dubrovnik special. We're pleased to offer the perfect city walk: an informative and leisurely walk, in a small-group setting, for a reasonable price. It's perfect for people who want a high-quality travel experience without spending a fortune.Best of all, you can be sure that our guides are not only professionally licensed, but also friendly locals who will enjoy showing you "the Pearl of the Adriatic".We're the first and best walking tour company in town. Long after leaving Dubrovnik, you'll remember your Dubrovnik Walk.Currently we offer two different guided walks: Discover the old town and Dubrovnik Walls & wars.Also, there is a Combo Option that includes both walks.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“One hour familiarisation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

If you are in Dubrovnik from a cruise ship and have only a few hours, do this tour and also the city walls. If you are there for longer, start with this tour. In 60 minutes, you get to know about the history of the region, get to see the key sights, and also get a few do's and don'ts on what to see and how to see. If you are there for longer, basis this tour figure out all that you may want to see, and then decide on buying a one day card or 3 day card. The walking tour takes you from Pile Gate, along the Stradun, to the Orlando column and clock tower, then on to the Rector Palace before finishing at the harbour. At the end of the tour you have a very good idea of what you want to see from inside and what can be skipped. A must do right at the beginning of your Dubrovnik trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    29
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Kitts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“walking Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

On tour beautiful, hundreds of year's , worth of culture ,historical , experience , knowledge, guide, of course I am the best tour guide, it was very, good being toured, amazing, highly recommend. we walk and walk , wow, need vacation!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great way to get the layout of the city, but lacking energy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a very informative tour guide. Very knowledgable about amazing history of Dubrovnik. Too soft spoken hard to hear. For the $15 cost think it could have been a lot better. She seemed to promote other tours with additional costs.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“So glad that we took the tour.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

......which works on two levels. For those on a short (cruise) stop it is an expresso dose of several hundred year's worth of culture - for those (like us) who are here for a week it is a great way to find your bearings. PLEASE READ TO THE END OF THE REVIEW FOR A NUMBER OF HELPFUL (?) TIPS.
Where to start? - the guide Marco (guido optimistica) was enthusiastic, likeable, humorous ("by the end of this tour you will be able to speak Croatian like a local"), diplomatic (providing a balanced view over much of the history), highly knowledgable and equally importantly local (he grew up here). He was also a great communicator - despite the fact that there were 15-20 in the party we could always hear him clearly.
Dubrovnik at first glance is in many ways like parts of Italy and the tour provided a number of missing pieces for our jigsaw of European history (particularly the relationship with Venice).
A great experience which we would thoroughly recommend.
Now for the helpful (?) tips:-
HT1 - If you are here for a while take this tour early in your stay & leave your camera behind (if you are taking photos you run the risk of missing a pearl of wisdom) - you will get an idea of the best places to take the pics from and be able to revisit and spend time on getting the best result.
HT2 - the old city is v busy - the quieter parts generally seem to be up a series of steps - if you seek solitude be prepared for a climb (or alternatively avoid the old city).
HT3 - on the walk you will see a sign offer "cold drinks and the most beautiful views" - we can confirm that this is correct - if you want to experience both then immediately after the morning tour is a great time - before the cafe/bar becomes busy.
We hope that you found this review useful and if so that you also enjoyed the tour. We bought the combo ticket and can't wait for the city walls tour later in the week.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Walking Tour was perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This was excellent. We were given a wireless headphone and taken on a guided tour around the Old Town.
It was really interesting and the guide spoke really good English & explained everything.
I would like to add that this was perfect for my husband who us profoundly deaf as he could hear every word she said.
We really enjoyed our day spent there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubrovnik Walks Guided Walks also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Dubrovnik Walks Guided Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dubrovnik Walks Guided Walks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.