We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden treasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Ekvinocijo

Konoba Ekvinocijo
Ilije Sarake 10, Dubrovnik, Croatia
38-520 323 633
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 280 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“hidden treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We saw this restaurant first from the walls of the fortress when we took our tour the previous day. The next day we looked for it, it was really like a treasure hunt, getting around those small streets of the Old Town. And then we found it. Fresh fish (catch of the day, very-very pricey - over 50 or 60 eur per kilo, but hey, it's once we come to Dubrovnik, right?), nicely cooked, soft and juicy, very tasty, with a side dish of Swiss chard and potatoes. The cheese in oil from the starter was a bit dry, but I guess that's the style. The waitress Marijana was very helpful with the wine. One thing though: fix the problem with the water running from the AC upstairs, please! Otherwise, a great cosy restaurant for a dinner with your loved one!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A good find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We found this restaurant after having gone in search of and having found Buza Bar on our first evening in Dubrovnik. We really enjoyed our meal here and would have returned except that we like to try different places each day. I had the Spaghetti Belladonna ( I think that is what it was called) and it was simply delicious, the best meal I had on our travels. The waitress was very attentive, the food was delish and it was in lovely and quiet area. I would definitely recommend Konoba Ekvinocijo

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great eating in a quite but very central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Very glad we found this restaurant and we ate here three times during the week. Food excellent and well worth it's price. Especially Chef's Fillet Mignon was a true hit. Only a three minute walk away from the busyiest alleys you can have a very nice meal without people queing next to your table which is often the case in the most crowded alleys. Booking a table is recommended. Service one of the friendliest in all Dubrovnik. Very much recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cosy backyard restaurant away from the crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We've found this place after coming back from Dubrovnik's local beach (just off the city walls). Ekvinocijo is just a few steps from the Cathedral and the crowds, a quiet place with a friendly service and the usual Croatian menu items (fish, squids, risottos and a good selection of Mediterranean appetizers). Fresh and organic vegetables and a lovely atmosphere. You can get a decent dinner here for four for just about 500 Kn.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Konoba Ekvinocjio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Why is this restaurant so far down in the list? The food is delicious. The service friendly and attentive. The restaurant is off the beaten track down a side street on the left side of the Cathedral - maybe that's why fewer people find it - make a point!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Ekvinocijo also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Konoba Ekvinocijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Ekvinocijo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.