We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem! 4 and a half stars definately” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Komarda - Konoba Caffe Bar

Komarda - Konoba Caffe Bar
Frana Supla, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 274 restaurants in Dubrovnik
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: You have many comments on this restaurant on your site, but not one on this restaurant.
Kingsdown
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a gem! 4 and a half stars definately”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We explored the area around the ploce gate and stumbled across this restaurant. Frankly the entrance area is next to a tour booth so not attractive, when you go down to the steps to look you see bench seating for large groups, but keep going because the tables in the restaurant have excellent views of Dubrovnik and the harbour.

We had a table by the edge of the sea, it reminded me of being in Bermuda and eating at a restaurant on the beach.

Location is romantic, a great place to watch the lights come on in Dubrovnik.

Food was brilliant, because they are outside the city walls so can use a barbeque grill which cooks the meet perfectly. We had small fish to start, these were better than any others we had tried, then fish for lady and a brochette for me.

The barbeque grill adds flavour to the fish and meat, I had chicken brochette which was succulent. Washed down with a carafe of smooth red.

A word of advice, I can get chilly so wrap up - but the restaurant can provide blankets, great thinking.

The restaurant offer a drink after dinner, Fig liquor made by the owner. Very moorish but very strong, 2 of these and you now you have had a drink.

Great vista, great food, the perfect end to our holiday in Dubrovnik. Would I recommend this restaurant - yes. Just go see the setting and ignore the bench seating at one end and the front entrance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    47
    36
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A welcoming, relaxing place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

After a hot day in the hills, the old town was too bustling for dinner and we slipped back out the Ploca gate to find somewhere to eat. Immediately after the shops we were asked to consider eating in a restaurant nestling in the trees down towards the sea. Figuring we had nothing to lose we followed the water into the little haven of peace that is the Komarda Restaurant. The sea side tables face south and east so the sunset was a dusky version of that enjoyed to the west; the colours in the water, and the views of the City Harbour and the island of Lokrum only add to the charm.
Our food, a Dalmatian platter and a small fish from the grill for me and squid followed by steak for my partner, was bursting with flavour. We coupled this simple food with the house Plavak. The meal cost a little more than 400 kuna and was well worth the trouble to find.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very good, relaxed restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We ate here on recommendation of the Hilton Hotel. We walked past it on our walking travels around the old town and had it a look at it in the daytime, and thought it looked a little 'tired' and wondered about changing our reservation but i am glad we didn't. We sat overlooking the harbour which was beautiful at night, the fresh fish was barbecued for us and delicious with the black risotto. The service was lovely and atmosphere very nice for our group of friends. Would recommend for an evening meal with table by the edge.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

always when I was in Dubrovnik I always visited this restaurant. It offer excelent view on opposite island Locrum and old harbour. Waiter always remember us when we are there and offer us the corner siiting overlooking whole restaurant and harbour in the back. I really love this place, not only for atmosphere and hospitality, but especcialy for excelent fresh grilled fishes. I can recommend seabus and red sniper.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

beautifully situated restaurand with very nice view over the port and island.
Drago, the owner, is very friendly and cool guy, serving all tables himself.
I went there two times for lunch, and had only seafood, which was very good.
Priced are also very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Komarda - Konoba Caffe Bar also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Komarda - Konoba Caffe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Komarda - Konoba Caffe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.