We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Nice Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stella Apartments to your Saves list
Stella Apartments
Za Kapelicom 16 | Behind the chapel no. 16, Dubrovnik 200000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location and Nice Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in the large room for 3 nights. The room itself was a little dated but it was on on the retro side which made up for any shortcomings. The apartments are centrally located, only 5 mins from the Old Town and Pile Gate. You have to climb alot of steps to get from the Pile Gate to the apartment but this didn't put us off, it was a good daily workout. The owner was hospitable and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

NOTE: Be careful not to confuse this with another "Stella Apartments" which is much further uphill from the Old Town! This accommodation is just a couple of minutes from Dubrovnik Old Town.
We booked the "Large Apartment" for a week in September. Planning a busy week in which we didn't intend to spend long sitting about in our accommodation; we spent time scouring review sites for a lower-cost "hidden gem" location; and Jadre's Stella apartment really fit the bill.
The apartment is roughly equivalent to; but superior to; standard package holiday apartments - and I think my girlfriend hit the nail on the head when she described the apartment as feeling like we were staying at the holiday home of a good friend. It does not have modern furnishing; but the essentials (bathroom; kitchen surfaces; floors; beds) are all nice and clean.
The host (Jadre) is very friendly; and is always close at hand and will help with any request you might have. Contact Jadre directly ( adranka.barac AT du.t-com.hr ) to book. She will send you some travel information; and will meet you on arrival.

Positives:
* Great location - 5 minutes (albeit steep steps) walk from Pile Gate which is a hub for tourist services. A slightly longer walk avoids the steps and takes you to either of the other 2 Old Town gates. You are also a couple of minutes walk from the cable car station, which is a handy location for day tour or airport pick-ups. The location feels nice and secure for leaving your luggage.
* Bathroom is recently decorated and well fitted. Shower has strong water pressure; which is lovely :) I agree with another review that the hot water runs out quickly; but in warm weather we didn't care. The high pressure was a real treat.
* The kitchen is a bit basic but is definitely more homely than basic holiday apartment accommodation. We absolutely enjoyed a night-in with pasta and wine from the local shop; saving us money on eating out.
* The apartment was fitted with really good air conditioning - it had a remote control; and felt like it could drag the temperature down 10 degrees Celsius inside a minute. On a hot night, this is amazing.
* The apartment had a new (or very new) TV with FreeSat and DVD player; and a set of movies are provided. We did not use the TV even once; but it's a nice addition.

Negatives:
* The 2 downstairs apartments have partial visibility through both front and back doors; and share outside seating and clothes drying; so are not 100% private. For us; this was not a problem; but I think is a consideration... if you want a romantic or lazy visit to Dubrovnik with 100% privacy, this might be a concern.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Very decent room. All you would ever need was there (fully equipped kitchen, bathroom with washing machine). Interior design was like from previous century but believe me - it made this stay truly atmospheric. Character of the place is unbeatable. If you add owners who are amazingly kind and helpful it's place I fully recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stopped here for 3 nights and we were both blown away by Jadres hospitality! She bought us a bottle of pop and biscuits and showed us around where all the short cuts were. The room was everything we needed (and had air con which was a godsend!) and the outdoor patio is a lovely spot to have breakfast (there is a great bakery just up the road which Jadre directed us to). You really couldn't be in a better location for the price (plus it's very quiet!). The stairs up from Old Town really aren't a pick of bother, except when your belly is full of Ozjusko. Do be careful that you get to the right address! We went to the wrong place first, entirely my fault. I typed Stella Apartments into google maps and got directed to somewhere just up the road, that wasn't half as good. It took us about 20 minutes to realise we were in the wrong place and the other owners won't tell you that there is another Stella Apartments (even though they know Jadre).

Room Tip: I didn't see the large apartment, but the small apartment was perfect for two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location, basic rooms with everything you need and Jadre was very helpful and gave us great advice and information about Dubrovnik. One point, the shower ran out of hot water quite quickly. Apart from that, the apartment had everything we needed and was great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N.Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We loved Stella Apartments so much so we've booked again for later this year! The apartments are big and very, very clean for a very good price. We had a great view overlooking the sea from our balcony. The owners (husband and wife) are the sweetest couple and are so helpful with everything to start your stay in beautiful Dubrovnik. We were welcomed with special chocolate biscuits and fresh fruit juice. They also gave us a map and explained how we get to the Old Town, nearby cafe and supermarket along with a few restaurant suggestions. You will get a great peaceful sleep at Stella (the Old Town can get noisy) and the owners offer great airport/port transfers which we organised with them.

It's a simple 5 minute downhill stroll (steps) to the Old Town. Take your time walking back up but it is good exercise after all the yummy food and ice-cream you will be eating in the Old Town. Dubrovnik is a beautiful city (Old & New) we spent 3 days in total there and can't wait to revisit in September. Make sure you visit Lokrum Island opposite. It's £10 return on the ferry that goes every hour from the Old Town port and only takes 10 minutes to get there. Lokrum is a nature reserve and simply stunning. We spent the whole day there, swimming, walking and admiring the wild Peacocks, Birds and Rabbits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wonderful trip was complete thanks to Jadre and the apartment I was staying in :) I had arrived late from the airport and she had cookies and juice waiting for me :) She was even up late to welcome me and to greet me upon my arrival. The apartment was just perfect for one traveler. King size bed, my very own bathroom (that was very nice I should add), my very own kitchen and a small courtyard full of wonderful flowers :) Jadre was very kind to me, always available to me for any inquiries or minor problems that arrose (amenities stuff). I was always greeted respectfully and was always given the necessary assistance. Thank you for the wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stella Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Apartments

Address: Za Kapelicom 16 | Behind the chapel no. 16, Dubrovnik 200000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 5 min. From the Old City, in the cool shade of the mesmerizing 10 th. Century walls, our apartments promise you unforgetable holidays. It's possess charm unlike any others, a charm of an antiqeuness, and moderness of the both world. The majority of the steps are either on the northern and southern parts even in the Old Town town; the location is superb if you like to book the apartment inside the walls! But it can be noise and crowded. The market sets up 5am/5.30 A.M. And bells ring in the church a 6 a.M., So if you are a light sleeper this will cause you some problems including late at night the music from coffee shops. Once you're up I shall show you a shortcut to avoiding the steps, neighborhood is quiet and you need only 5 minutes walking down the road, and you are in the Old Town; very close to the apartment is a bakery, mini and super market, public garage!This private accommodation features modern kitchens, spacious living rooms and bathrooms with showers-bath. Both apartments have private entrances with an atmosphere of the safety and security as your own home.By choosing Apartments Stella you avoid the cost of busy city transportations and crowded streets.And in the same time, you have the advantage to be among the green foliage of needed peace.We offer you 2 apartments for rent. All are fully equipped and tastefully decorated. The two studio - apartments can be also rented for family or group up to five people.Facilities:Public Airport-Shuttle, Video/DVD Player, wi-fi for free.Satellite TV, Tea/Coffee making facilities in each room, Hairdryer; and car parking is available (100 meters ) in the Public garage,( do not have private parking place). NOTICE: there is another Stella apartments&rooms - so check the address ans ask for my name Jadre - that often leads to confusion!Looking forward to welcome you! Jadre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Stella Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.