We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the squid bouzzara - delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Nostromo

Taverna Nostromo
Hotel Petka, | Obala Stjepana Radica 38,, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #155 of 280 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Try the squid bouzzara - delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I am surprised by some of the recent negative reviews on Tripadvisor for Nostromo, because in my experience (three meals across two visits to Dubrovnik) the food has been excellent. The real star was the squid bouzzara (essentially squid in tomato sauce with polenta), but I have also enjoyed swordfish and king prawns here. The staff are pleasant and gave us a tasty starter of fish pate free of charge. The atmosphere would be my only criticism as it is rather business-like. It proved convenient to have such a good restaurant in the Gruz area for those staying in the harbour district.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Large portions - average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our dinner in this restaurant was slightly disturbed by another dinner party. About 20 local citizens seemed to like drinking and telling masculine stories. The waiters tried their best, but still e.g. forgot to bring our salad, which they earlier suggested themselves. Portions were large and the food was ok. You would not be hungry after a meal here, but I would not look for a culinary experience in this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Staff very friendly and food very good. We returned for a second and third night I think that says a lot. Staying at Berkeley hotel very convenient

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Averagely unwelcoming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Average food and if I'm honest, we weren't made to feel that welcome at a restaurant that wasn't exactly a hive of activity.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really medicore”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had fish soup and fried squid along with scampi soup and fish platter for Sunday lunch. Fish soup was really poor, smelled very strongly of old fish. Fried squid was average, not very fresh. Scampi soup was excellent. Fish platter was quite poor... fish was overcooked and not fresh and shrimp was chewy. Prices are at least 20% cheaper than old town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Nostromo also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Taverna Nostromo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Nostromo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.