We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance

Renaissance
Vara bb, Dubrovnik, Croatia
0038520324799
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 280 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Price range: $15 - $77
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Excellent restaurant and one of the few that can please very demanding vegetarians as well, also they serve several very unique fish dishes such as "sea eggs" , wild oysters, borbolaise and all of this within very good budget prices
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Cosy restaurant with attentive service, excellent seafood and - to our surprise - the ability to concoct an Irish Coffee without previous experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    48
    25
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We ate here for lunch. It is a lovely little restaurant down one of the side streets in the old town. we had a 3 course meal for 99 kuna (Approx £10 per person) with a couple of beers at approximately £1.40 - bargain and tasty too.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A wonderful place ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I ate the best tagatele with tuna and my husband is a wonderful meat in sweet and sour sauce, nice music and excellent staff, and the end of the evening they gave us a very tasty desserts. Definitely going back to Dubrovnik and Renaissance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pay extra for the wire”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

With so many other great places to eat in Dubrovnik, I would avoid this. Friendly waitress but we found two pieces of wire in the tuna (which was explained away as it having been on the spoon chef used to prepare the tuna).
We were also charged for things we did not have and they put a service charge which was not clearly advertised.
Food was bland, worst place we have eaten in Dubrovnik.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food in a romantic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We happened upon this restaurant by chance as it's tucked away a little but we were enticed in by the nice lighting, music and paintings dotted around the outside alley.

The staff were very polite and attentive without being pushy.

We each had the steak which was delicious, as were the accompanying side dishes. The chargrilled mediterranean vegetables were excellent, we also liked the way the steak was served on top of a slice of toasted bread which soaked up all of the excess meat juices.

Altogether for two drinks, two mains and bread appetizer the meal came to approximately 340 kuna.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Renaissance also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.