We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, clean and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sigurata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Sigurata to your Saves list
Villa Sigurata
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Stulina 4, Old town, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 156 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cool, clean and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

The lovely Nicolina greeted us on our early arrival, and the room had been cleaned and was ready for us to use. Big bonus!
The room is very compact, very clean and with the double glazed windows, very quiet.it was perfect as a base to explore Dubrovnik, literally walking out onto the street.
We recommend staying here, it suited us to a T.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    64
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
112
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at Villa Sigurata for 1 night in June. The location of our room was perfect - located right in the centre of the Old Town. Our room was lovely - complete with air conditioning and an en-suite bathroom. The decor was of a very high standard. The owner was very friendly and helpful. We were able to leave our bags after check out and collect them later at no extra cost and she showed us where to visit in Dubrovnik. We will definately return to Villa Sigurata.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed in the annex which was a few streets away from the above address .A very small room but good for 2-3 days ,little room for large cases.The whole building has been renovated to a high standard and is spotless.No breakfast. The only gripe is that cash is the only way to pay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

They did ask if steps were ok. If someone from old town Dubrovnik asks you this, don't assume they just mean to the second floor. In the case of this establishment, the nice owner meets you at her office (whose address is above) and then walks you 10 minutes up 100 or 200 steps to the rooms they have up by near the wall. Not exactly what I was expecting.

That said, the well cleaned top room in what felt like the guest wing of a house was bigger and nicer than expected and they had given us a room with it's own private bath and a lovely view, which I wasn't expecting. After all those steps, that was a nice surprise! The bed was comfortable and the area was quiet.

Aside from our initial surprise and climbing back up, it was a very cozy and comfortable room and we had a wonderful 4 days exploring and dining in beautiful Dubrovnik, despite thunderstorms. We arrived September 17th, just in time for the start of the rainy season, so I would suggest planning trips a little earlier in the season.

Other quirks of Dubrovnik included that it seems more typical to set up a meeting time to get the keys for your room than for the hotels to have a front desk. Because of this, I would also suggest waiting to coordinate any day trips, kayaking or sailing or otherwise, as there are many outfitters in town and it is much easier to sign up last minute than to try to coordinate changes of plans through this "hotel" which has no front desk or phone service.

I thought the area inside and beyond the wall were both nice, for anyone debating whether or not they must stay in the old town. There are no cars in the old town, but the outside the wall and off of the main road, the little roads are also charming and dotted with B&B's, especially near the sea. I would recommend our place to anyone who is ok with steps, but if not, there were many other choices out there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed at Villa Sigurata for one night in June. When you arrive you go to the central address (provided on your booking confirmation). We chose the cheapest options, the shared bathroom.

Once you at at the central spot, you are then taken to a private accommodation. I was expecting to stay in a hostel so a bit surprised to find that I would indeed be sleeping in someones home. While staying in side the city walls is highly recommended I did find it a bit odd to be sleeping in the owners rooms (literally) and share the same bathroom. The lady was very friendly and helped us with local recommendations, however it was a bit off-putting having to chat with her when you wanted to pop into the bathroom quickly. She also offered to make as breakfast which was a bit simple for the 50 kuna pp she charged (just bread and packaged cheese, instant coffee). She did however offer some great local insights and understanding of Croatian habits.

Overall if you are prepared to be in a 'local' room (not a hostel) then this is ideal. The location is perfect and Dubrovnik is absolutely beautiful. One night was a perfect stay to look around the city and not get overwhelmed with the hoards of tourists.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed here for 9 nights and think the place is best suited to those on shorter visits. The room we had was en-suite but was really very small and it felt very crowded after a couple of days. There is a kettle and fridge for guests' use but nowhere to sit and eat/drink, except on the hard bed. Breakfast is not included. The owner is a very nice person with some good advice on what to see and do. Her husband does day-trips to Montenegro and to Mostar in his car (4 in a group at around 35-40 euro per person) but unless you speak Croatian, it's better to pay the 10 euro or so extra and go with one of the small, locally-run minibus tours (some come highly recommended) to learn something about those areas. Location is probably the best thing about Villa Sigurata.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at Villa Sigurata for one night (not at the address listed on the website but at another managed by the same proprietor in a beautiful quiet corner of the old town - although up a lot of stairs!) and it was excellent.

We chose the room with a private bathroom which was spacious, more of a suite as we had our own living room as well, and had fantastic views across the rooftops. Facilites were very good, comfy bed, decent shower and effective AC. The proprietress was very helpful and made a real effort, providing recommendations and making sure we were well organised including providing luggage storage and the use of showers in the afternoon of checkout day. The only thing to bear in mind is that breakfast is not provided although it's hardly a problem as there's a kitchen and plenty of cafes nearby.

Would recommend this location strongly. Really good especially for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sigurata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sigurata

Address: Stulina 4, Old town, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Sigurata 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Sigurata is located just in the center of the old town of Dubrovnik. We have double rooms ensuite, double rooms with shared bathroom, triple room, apartments for 4, 5 and 6 persons in our 3 houses in the Old Town. Come as a guest and leave as a friend!Welcome to Villa Sigurata! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Sigurata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sigurata Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sigurata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.