We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure Sailing is FANTASTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huck Finn - Private Day Tours

Huck Finn - Private Day Tours
Vukovarska 271, Dubrovnik 10 000, Croatia
+385-1-618 33 33
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #13 of 75 Activities in Dubrovnik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Huck Finn is the leading Croatian adventure travel outfitter and operator. Pioneered rafting, canoeing, sea kayaking, biking and adventure sailing tours and excursions in the country in the past two decades and have reached the highest level of quality and professionalism in service. Huck Finn operates 20 different one-day excursions. Cooperate with other tour operators by providing all-inclusive custom made trips or just gear, logistics, guides etc. Nobody knows Croatia better or cares more about the environment, sustainable operations and benefit to local residents. Therefore Huck Finn will provide excellent service and value for your travel in Croatia. The photos will show you some of those wonderful but hidden places in Croatia, as well as illustrate the passion and commitment to outdoors.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Chicago, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Adventure Sailing is FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Do not hestitate to book the adventure sailing trip with Huck Finn. The staff is nice, friendly, professional, knowledgable, outgoing, and funny. Our captain, Zeljko made sure all eight of us on board were happy and comfortable at all times. The boat was clean, the food was delicious, the beer was cold, and we had a marvelous time. Whether we were kayaking through sea caves, biking through vineyards, swimming to an island with a monestary, or relaxing in the evening under the stars, we had a wonderful time. Zeljko takes his guests to islands that are not crowded with tourists, and by exploring the islands via kayak or bike, you are able to really get a feel for the REAL Croatia. I cannot wait to go back to Croatia and sail with Huck Finn!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanja K, Public Relations Manager at Huck Finn - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments - that's exactly what we try to achieve when designing each and every one of our trips. Looking forward to seeing you again on our sailing trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    11
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Adventure Sailing a MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The 5 day Adventure Sailing is an absolute MUST! The boat is a modern, clean catamaran with plenty of deck space for relaxation and sun bathing. The cabins are small, but clean. I recommend taking a backpack or small bag on board. My friend and I had full suitcases and although they fit, it would have been easier to have less/smaller luggage. The activities were fantastic- sailing, sea kayaking, swimming, biking, cave swimming! Captain Jake was awesome, leading us from one adventure after another. Don't worry, there is also plenty of time for relaxation. Our group consisted of 4 groups of 2 (US, Canadian, Croatian and British), all girls and it was 5 days I'll never forget.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanja K, Public Relations Manager at Huck Finn - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Zeljko (Jake) is still telling us stories from the week your group was on the boat and says thanks for the Blackhawks t-shirt that arrived!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant cycling day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a great day cycling on the island of Sipan. We didn't expect to have our own personal guide and it was fantastic. A great way to see the islands, very well organised and our guide, Ivan, was excellent.

I would highly recommend.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanja K, Public Relations Manager at Huck Finn - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Josephine,

I'm glad to hear you had a good time. We are locally based and use our own equipment and local guides for the trips - that is the reason why we try not to cancel trips even when there are only two people booked. We feel a personal approach is best when it comes to sharing local knowledge and culture with our guests, so that is why we prefer small groups and uncrowded places. Why not try our day trip Sea Kayaking Kolocep or even a week long holiday next time? Looking forward to seeing you again on one of our trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rivers by the Sea July2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just retuned fro two week in Croatia, first week based in Trogir, second week went with Huck Finn on the Rivers by the Sea Adventure Holiday based in Skradin.

Trogir, great cosmopolitan UNESCO town with small winding streets and much charm, we stayed just over the bridge on the island of Ciovo at the top of the hill, excellent location if you want to near the action (10 mins) but away from the noise. Note, the area near the town is hilly and unless you are ok with this I suggest you check out any accommodation you may book, the hills are steepish. We hired a car for the first week and visited Split (by boat), Zadar (by car), Sibenik (by car). If I was to book the same holiday again I would not hire a car for a week as all the major sites mentioned above are visted when you are with Huck Finn. The airport is on a few kilometers and can be reached easily by bus or taxi. When we went to Split we caught the local ferry which goes regularly through the day but be aware the last two return boats leave at 4pm and the next at 8pm so plan your day, the cost is reasonable at 24 Kuna each for a single ticket, we caught a bus back and that cost 26 Kuna each. There are local ferries to all the major beaches so we found the car unnessary. Trogir buzzes at night and there are loads of restaurants to choose from, our favorite being the Kamerlengo.

Huck Finn week was a blast, we were a small group of my wife and I plus two Swiss-German speaking men. The size of the group did not detract from the trip, we have travelled with Huck Finn twice before once as a group of three and once as a group of sixteen. Borna our guide was knowledgeable and professional in every respect, he was flexible and changed the activity days to suit the weather as the Bura (wind) was blowing hard for our first two days. The hotel in Skradin was comfortable and had air condition which was essential, the meals were good and varied except for the soup which sometimes was repeated. The trips were well organised and fun, the days were usually structured to do an activity then visit the local town such as Zadar, Sibernik and Split in the late afternoon. On our day we chose a trip to the Kornati Islands (a must do trip) and Huck Finn made all the arrangements. Overall it was a good balance of activites, two days Kayaking, one day biking, one day rafting and one day walking with the Kornati Islands trip completing the week. The local bar for local people (Cafe Platana) over the road from the hotel was great value for money and people watching after days activites. In summary Trogir is a great base for the relaxed week and Huck Finn excellent for the activity week.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanja K, Public Relations Manager at Huck Finn - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Hryzko,

thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing Huck Finn for the third time! We're glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Vanja Kelemen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a difference good staff make!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have just come back from a week on the Isle of Kolocep just off the Croatian coast near Dubrovnik. The trip was organised by Huck Finn Travel or Croatia and I would like to say what a good time we all had.
We did have a small issue one day but their senior organiser, Vanja has sorted out the issue to the satisfaction of the whole group, and that is how to deal with issues.
We stayed in a ‘Guest House’ hosted by Ivan. Our selected itinerary gave us the option of eating out (extra cost) or eating Ivan’s food and once we had eaten on the first night we did not look anywhere else. He is a superb and remarkably un-flusted cook.
The accommodation was very comfortable with air conditioning and the knowledge that on such a small island and protected by 189 steps we were safe and secure.
Huck Finn offer different itineraries and we chose the Sea Kayaking around Kolocep option (Sea Kayaking Multi Activity). This gave us 3 days in Kayaks with a guide (very helpful chap) and a trip to Dubrovnik with a couple of free days and some sailing (which did not come to pass, not to worry).
The island was quiet, provided very peaceful coastal bays and rocks, great walking and running (albeit on quite a small island) had a great bar, shop and ferry service. What more could you want.
We were placed in a group and I could not have chosen nicer people if I tried. I will put some photos up and I do recommend Huck Finn and Croatia if you like this sort of thing.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanja K, Public Relations Manager at Huck Finn - Private Day Tours, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Mike,

thank you for your review - we are very glad that you had such a great time despite the problem with the day of sailing. Once again, we are very sorry about the inconvenience that caused and are happy that everything was sorted out to mutual satisfaction in the end. Good luck with your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huck Finn - Private Day Tours also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Huck Finn - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huck Finn - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.