We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of S&L Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added S&L Guesthouse to your Saves list
S&L Guesthouse
Antune Gustava Matosa 26, Dubrovnik, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 156 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and paid a little extra to have to room with a view - it was definitely worth it! The guest house itself was lovely, very clean and comfortable and excellent value for what we paid.

The thing that made it so special was Ante's exceptional service to us, we have never been so impressed with anywhere we stayed. He picked us up when we got lost, gave us excellent tips for places to eat (the food in the area was unbelievable), took us on a tour of the area, let us stay later after check out time until we were ready to get our flight, and just did everything he could to make us comfortable. He also noticed when checking our passports that it was my birthday and turned up in the morning with chocolates and a rose - he was so lovely!

We loved this trip so much we are definitely going to go back again and I strongly recommend this place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the room with the ocean view - you will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
93
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Didn't sleep for two nights due to lack of curtains on the windows.broken Venetian blinds let in light from his huge patio lantern in the night and then the sunlight streamed into the room at five am.told Anton and said he would fix in the future.he expects you to use the previous guests soap in the bathroom! I think accomadation in cruise boat ports is highly overpriced. We did have a million dollar view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is really a cozy house with an WONDERFUL treatment. Ante is almost a guide even if with lots of things to do. He got us at the bus station three times and also showed us al the best things to do and where to go without spending much money. He also tooked us to the top of the mountain where the cable car stops and FOR FREE.

Had an wonderful time at Dubrovnik and I recoment 100% this Guesthouse

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

- charming, genuinely friendly owner (Ante) who works incredibly hard & goes out of his way to help people out & ensure guests have an excellent time
- rooms & communal areas are clean & there is a lovely balcony with a view of the harbour
- aircon & wifi work well
- good value place to base yourself if you are spending a few days in Dubrovnik. Ante will help you out at trying to keep your costs down while you are in the city

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights in the little but fine independent apartment. No harbour view from the window but nothing to share with others (e.g. kitchen) and a very loungy and shady terrace. 10 steps away, a beautiful roof terrace with harbour/sea view and loads of sun.
Ante is tall, strong, tanned, friendly, helpful and he can talk for hours. Listen to his comments very carefully while he draws arrows all over the city map.
And keep in mind BUS 8: drives along the harbour, till the roundabout, second stop after the roundabout, up the stairs, here you are haha...
We loved his restaurant suggestion Wanda in the old city... that was perfect!
So nice that he drove us up the mountain with other nice guests from London so we can enjoy the breathtaking view for free. He explained a lot about his country. Very interesting. He surely doesn't count his time if he can help.
We wish him and his family all the best and lots of friendly and thankful guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Ante was a brilliant host, providing loads of useful info about Dubrovnik and going above and beyond for us to have an enjoyable stay. We spent our evenings enjoying the sunsets from the comfort of our patio. Couldn't ask for anything more :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenchen
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The guesthouse is located a little bit far from the old city of Dubrovnik and this is probably the only minus....on the other hand it is located uphill and in a quite area so you can sleep very well and and a wonderful view on the city and on the port. THe rooms are clean and nice, recently renovated with style and passion. The owner is very friendly and helpful. He drove us to the old city giving us a short tour through the city and the history. He is available for a free pick-up at the airport too. There is a kitchen available fully equipped in case you stay for several days and you want to prepare your breakfast, lunch or dinner. Bakery, supermarket and restaurants are nevertheless in the neighbourhood. Overall I would say this place value is 3,5 but unfortunately I have to choose between 3 and 4 so I choose 3 because of the price for a one night just sleep like we had.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to S&L Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S&L Guesthouse

Address: Antune Gustava Matosa 26, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to visit princess of Adriatic coast -DUBROVNIK- and if you are looking for a quite , safe spot what value for your money than choose our clean , safe and friendly home.Within few minutes walk from ferry or main bus station ,Guesthouse S&L is practicly located in the middle of the city.We are not huge noisy property but quite homelike comfortable guesthouse . Every room has it own key.The guesthouse has two terraces and balcony from where you have perfect view at sea and Elafiti Islands.There is nice garden all around the house with a lot of flowers and fruits.Everybody can use the kitchen wihich is very well equiped. INTERNET (no password),SAT TV,AIRCONDITIONS -FREE .Our Standard double bed private ensuite is a apartment with separate entrance and it has room,kitchen, bathroom and wide terrace with garden in front.There are A/C and SAT TV in the apartment.Another double bed private ensuite has kitchen in comunity.It is spacious kitchen very well equiped.It also hes nice view at sea and marina.Turist and exscursion boats are in distance of 150 m so if you like to see Elafiti Islands or Natiolal Park Mljet it is very easy.There is bus stop near the house.It is 4 min by bus to the old town and beaches or twenty min walk.We would be very pleased to have you visiting us.Distances:bus stop 50mnearest shop 20mnearest restaurant 70msea 150mtourist boats 150mtourist info 300mbanks 200mseveral supermarkets 300mferry port 400mmain bus station 600mold town 1,5 kmbeaches 1,5 kmOut of charge :INTERNETPICK UP SERVICE FROM FERRY OR MAIN BUS STATIONcity maps and all posible infolocal phone callstowels and bed linenair conditionrefrigeratorall taxes included in priceWe charge :pick up from or to the airportlaundry servicePlease note that we only accept payment in cash on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your S&L Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s And l Guesthouse
s&l Guesthouse Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S&L Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.