We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of S&L Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added S&L Guesthouse to your Saves list
S&L Guesthouse
Antune Gustava Matosa 26, Dubrovnik, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 162 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Dubrovnik aint cheap, this is a great value accommodation near Gruz. Lovely rooms which are spotlessly clean, with use of a kitchen and computer with internet access. The owner, Ante , is a top bloke and picks you up from the bus station. He also drove me to the top of the hill, so I didn't need to get the cablecar, for some awesome views of the old town and the extremely interesting museum. The old town is walkable but you're best getting the frequent buses.

Dubrovnik is lovely, but can be unpleasant during the day as it's so busy. Definitely walk the city walls, but if the crowds become too much get yourself to the island of Lokrum for some pleasant walks and views. Also get yourself up to Fort Lovrijenac, great views and not may tourists bother to visit. Also get yourself to war photo Ltd for something alternative.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
94
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

All the reviews are true - this place is fanatstic. Its spotless and the hospitatlity of Ante (the owner) was amazing. He spent time showing us where to go and provided recommendations of local restaurants and sights. He even took us to the top of the mountain in his own time! He was very knowledgeable about the area and the country's history and was passionate about making everyone's stay memorable and comfortable. Its not 5* luxury, but if you are after a very friendly place, in a great, safe location with amazing views - which is spolotlesly clean, this is definately the place to stay!

If you are travelling to the guesthouse from the ferry or bus terminal be advised that despite it being a close walk, there are many stairs to climb due to the hilly topography. Ante however offers a free pickup service from this location, so don't get caught like we did!

Thanks again to Ante, we'll certainly be back!

Tim & Vanessa

Room Tip: Book in advance - it gets very busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Great service from booking. Nothing is too much trouble. Perfect location to appreciate normal way of life away from the tourist central old town. Great value with Ante being the perfect host which includes a free tour to the war museum.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

This is a lovely place. My double room has its own balcony with 270* harbour views. Everything - kitchen, dining, sitting area is modern and spotless. Flowers and bowls of mandarins from his tree. Excellent internet and Wifi.
Plenty of handy shops. The Old town is a very short bus ride away and there are frequent buses.
Ante the host will collect you from bus station or wherever, he also drove us to a couple of interesting places for only petrol money, and insisted on accompanying me to the doctors when I had a bad cold. I came for 2 days- stayed 2 weeks.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Numerous
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

The reviews about this place are dead on! Ante was great, very helpful and friendly. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. Ante was there whenever I needed something. The price was perfect and I would certainly stay here again. Big fridge and kitchen to share with other travelers, great WiFi Internet.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floating
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

We showed up at Guesthouse S&L planning on staying a few days, but quickly realized what a great place, great deal, great innkeeper and great idea it would be to extend our time. Ante is everything and more when it comes to kindness and customer service. He and his family made us feel comfortable and welcomed and did so much for us and other guests that was unnecessary and unexpected that this has been our best stay (we have been to 40+ countries) anywhere.

The guesthouse has a single room, double rooms and even a private apartment, all are spotless, the kitchen is just like home, and throughout the place are modern ammenities like fast WiFi, flat screen TV, modern showers, even a bidet. Ante puts fresh fruit and flowers and plants out and really takes pride in his work. He is always there when you need him but great at giving your your privacy, and he has a wealth of information about Dubrovnik, its history and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 7 nights in early November. Right from the start the owner Ante was so helpful and accommodating. He picked us up from the ferry terminal at 7am at no cost and also drove us to the bus station when we left. This place is absolutely spotless, you won't find cleaner, there's a reason he's won awards for cleanliness. The rooms are lovely with everything you need for a great stay. The common areas and balcony/terraces are lovely and the whole property has free wifi. The property is a little way from the old city but there's plenty of buses nearby. Ante took us on a private tour up to the fort which was very interesting, especially for my military history buff boyfriend. We booked this place based solely on the reviews on Ante and we were not disappointed, he couldn't have done enough for us. We loved our stay here and loved Dubrovnik and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this guesthouse. Very cheap too.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to S&L Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S&L Guesthouse

Address: Antune Gustava Matosa 26, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like to visit princess of Adriatic coast -DUBROVNIK- and if you are looking for a quite , safe spot what value for your money than choose our clean , safe and friendly home.Within few minutes walk from ferry or main bus station ,Guesthouse S&L is practicly located in the middle of the city.We are not huge noisy property but quite homelike comfortable guesthouse . Every room has it own key.The guesthouse has two terraces and balcony from where you have perfect view at sea and Elafiti Islands.There is nice garden all around the house with a lot of flowers and fruits.Everybody can use the kitchen wihich is very well equiped. INTERNET (no password),SAT TV,AIRCONDITIONS -FREE .Our Standard double bed private ensuite is a apartment with separate entrance and it has room,kitchen, bathroom and wide terrace with garden in front.There are A/C and SAT TV in the apartment.Another double bed private ensuite has kitchen in comunity.It is spacious kitchen very well equiped.It also hes nice view at sea and marina.Turist and exscursion boats are in distance of 150 m so if you like to see Elafiti Islands or Natiolal Park Mljet it is very easy.There is bus stop near the house.It is 4 min by bus to the old town and beaches or twenty min walk.We would be very pleased to have you visiting us.Distances:bus stop 50mnearest shop 20mnearest restaurant 70msea 150mtourist boats 150mtourist info 300mbanks 200mseveral supermarkets 300mferry port 400mmain bus station 600mold town 1,5 kmbeaches 1,5 kmOut of charge :INTERNETPICK UP SERVICE FROM FERRY OR MAIN BUS STATIONcity maps and all posible infolocal phone callstowels and bed linenair conditionrefrigeratorall taxes included in priceWe charge :pick up from or to the airportlaundry servicePlease note that we only accept payment in cash on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your S&L Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s And l Guesthouse
s&l Guesthouse Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S&L Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.