We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay if your happy not to stay in the centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Ivan

Save Saved
You added Villa Ivan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Ivan
Cilipska 21a, Dubrovnik, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 391 Specialty lodging in Dubrovnik
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay if your happy not to stay in the centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Ivan was an excellent host, giving us free lifts when he was heading that direction and plenty of useful advice.
The villa is fairly basic, but perfectly comfortable with a shared kitchen if you want to make your own food and drinks. The balcony had fantastic views.
It is about 20min walk to Dubrovnik old town, there are some steep steps but it was perfectly manageable, maybe steer clear if you are infirm or lazy.
Thanks Ivan for a great stay!
My girlfriend and I stayed June 13 for 3 nights. Great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Ivan and Kate looked after us throughout our stay at Villa Ivan for the week in mid October. Ivan picked us up after arriving by bus to the main bus station, which is convenient great value (around 70 KN each). The room was clean and we had the view of Dubrovnik harbor, which was brilliant. It meant we could have breakfast outside on the balcony everyday. Ivan also told us the amenities nearby. The local bakery was 5 mins walk and there is a pizza shop, supermarket next door too. It's very convenient and you can walk to the the city walls in 25 mins. There is a bus station which was explained to us. Be warned there are many steps so its okay to walk downhill but we mostly took the bus on the way back. There is also free Wifi, computer and printer to use free of charge. Air con is available at an additional cost. Ivan also helped us rent a hire for 2 days when we went to Split with no hesitation. Just brilliant and such great value. Don't be expecting luxury, you get what you pay for. Many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Villa Ivan is one of the nicest accommodations we have ever been. It’s a lovely place to be thanks to the kindness and hospitality of Ivan and Kate. We had great time there so if you looking for the comfortable, quiet and amazingly great view you should choose that place. It’s very welcome and cosy house.
Regards,
Sylvia and Martin.

Room Tip: view from balcony is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

After spending a wonderful week at Villa Ivan I can only say that everything that has been said in other reviews is true. Ivan and Kate made us feel very welcome; the accommodation is clean and well maintained and, yes, the steps up to it are numerous and steep!
Our room was small but this was well compensated by the wonderful view, which we enjoyed whilst having breakfast on the balcony each morning or enjoying a glass of wine whilst watching the sun go down in the evening.
The challenge of climbing the steps or getting the bus back from the old city was definitely worth it, allowing an escape from the noise and the crowds thus enabling us to really relax and get a good night's sleep.
A well stocked supermarket, a 24 hour bakery close by and a well equipped kitchen also helped to make our stay at Villa Ivan so pleasantly easy.
Ivan and Kate put so much effort into making everyone's stay such a wonderful experience no wonder they are often fully booked up.
I thoroughly recommend Villa Ivan to anyone who is looking for well priced, good value accommodation run by two beautiful people

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This place is a little gem, and a perfect retreat from the busy, beautiful old town of Dubrovnik. Ivan picked us up from the station and took us to our clean room which had a beautiful balcony overlooking the harbour. We also had use of a kitchen which was an added bonus. There is free WIFI and numerous books and leaflets about the area. Ivan was a wealth of information about the area and couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Access to the room is via many steep steps, but when you get used to Dubrovnik, you realise that there are steps everywhere. The local pizza restaurant delivers takeaways which Ivan will order, if you don't fancy the steps. The walk into the old town is pleasant. The bus service is also good. Early one morning we walked up to the old Fort at the top of the chairlift - a lovely winding path, and enjoyed the Homefront War Museum. The views on the way are stunning. Walking on the old city walls is also wonderful. After an exhausting day, the peace and magical views from Ivan's balcony, were perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay in Dubrovnik. Ivan picked us up from the bus station (without charge) and helped us carry our bags into his place (no easy task considering the steepness of the staircase). We were exhausted from a long day of travel from the USA, so he graciously provided us with lemonade and strawberry ice cream when we sat down. He gave us a number of good restaurant and sightseeing recommendations, and carefully explained the bus schedule to us (it's a little weird because the buses only run in one direction). His place is about a 25 minute downhill walk to the Old Town, far enough away that we were removed from the noise and the majority of tourists, but still close enough to walk (we took the bus back to his place; it drops you off a block away). The room was clean with a private bathroom (plenty of hot water), and he changed the towels and sheets while we were there. He & his wife Kate offered their help on numerous occasions, and the price was more than reasonable. And the view from their terrace is breathtaking!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Can't praise Ivan enough. Both he and his wife were hugely helpful and the room was fantastic for the price. Private bathroom & balcony (with a stunning view) meant it was more like a hotel for hostel dorm prices.

The only downside was the extremely steep hill you will have to climb to reach the apartment, so if you're not in tip top shape, it might be worth considering an alternative. That said, Ivan was great in helping with the buses back up from the old city (even if the buses weren't always as reliable as he was!).

If you're looking for a good value stay in Dubrovnik, I doubt you will top this.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room with a view. It's not to be missed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Ivan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ivan

Address: Cilipska 21a, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 391 Specialty lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find it on Hostelworld.com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Ivan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Ivan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.