We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really glad we found this one...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments and Rooms Benussi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Apartments and Rooms Benussi to your Saves list
Apartments and Rooms Benussi
Miha Klaica 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 400 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Really glad we found this one...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Our first time in Dubrovnik/Croatia, visiting for my 50th birthday, we found this one on the internet then checked it out on Trip Advisor. 15 excellent reviews convinced us that we should be onto a winner. Jadranka, our host, was also the only one of several people I e-mailed who replied, and we maintained a friendly correspondence between booking right up to arriving. Apartment was very clean and spacious for two people, we didn't make much use of the kitchenette as we were eating out mostly, but OK for stuff for breakfast. If being really picky we could have made use of a kettle and toaster but that really is a small point as it had no impact on our enjoyment of the stay. Jadranka was always available for advice but never imposed on us, and we had some lovely chats with her, especially over a glass or two of wine from the bottle she gave me for my birthday! A nice touch. Nice terrace at front of apartment to relax on if necessary, which is shared with adjoining apartment. By the time we left we felt that the best compliment we could pay Jadranka and Milan was that we felt like we had stayed with friends.
There are a lot of stone steps on the way up to the Benussi home from bus stops etc. which will keep you fit, but be aware if you have mobility issues. Can't be helped though.

Restaurant recommendations: Lady Pi-Pi just inside the city wall on the north side, and Spaghetteria Toni down one of the alleyways behind Stradun. Avoid Restaurant Domino, over-priced rubbish and seems to think it is better than it is.

Take a boat over to Lokrum Island for a calm time away from the bustle of the old town, also worth a boat ride along the coast to Cavtat, can be done cheaper on the bus, but nice to be out on the water as an alternative. If walking the city walls in the summer, go up at 8.00 when they open to avoid the crowds later, also it will be slightly cooler than the heat of the later day.

Loved Dubrovnik and would return to Apartments Benussi tomorrow if we could.

Room Tip: Apartment 1 was a decent size for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

my wife and just completed a five night stay in one of Benussi's Apartments. the accommodations were perfect for our needs. Jadranka was very helpful with suggestions of where to go, where to eat, and put us in touch with a great guide for a walking tour of old town. he only draw back was getting our luggage up the place from the Hilton where our taxi driver dropped us off. we would stay there again in a heartbeat and just pack lightly.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Just spent 6 fabulous days at Benussi apartment. The location couldn't be better; the only drawback is the stairs leading up to the house (especially if you are lugging luggages at night after a long flight). Being so close to the Hilton Hotel offers the advantage of ease of pickup for day trips to Mostar and Montenegro and others offered by travel agencies. The bathroom is newly renovated and is very nice. The room has a nice view of the sea which is quite refreshing in the mornings. As it was during the off season, there were no other guests in the apartments which made for quiet relaxing evenings after long day of sightseeing. I would definitely return here again in the future.

Stayed April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed with the Benussis for 7 nights and couldn't have had a more wonderful time.The location is perfect ,their home is beautiful and tastefully decorated.Our room (#2) was generous and well appointed with a great view..
Jadranka was charming, friendly and always helpful.Both she and Milan were wonderful hosts.We would love to return sometime.....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We just returned from 5 days in Croatia. We were based in Dubrovnik and enjoyed staying at the Benussi Apartments. I arranged for the apartment with 3 beds, a kitchen, and bath. It was clean,modern, fresh and extremely comfortable. The apartment is located just outside of the old city Pile gate, right behind the Hilton Hotel. Really-just outside, only about a 5 minute easy walk. The apartment is located in a quiet neighborhood and outside the bustle and loudness and crowds of the old city. There are stairs but there are stairs everywhere and it is a doable walk.

Jadranka was a marvelous hostess who kept us up to date before and during our booking. She met us with a smile, helped with luggage, showed us how to work the tv, air conditioner etc. She recommended fabulous local restaurants, what fruit was in seasons, where to shop and what beaches to visit. She was informative and helpful. She arranged taxis to and from the airport and made sure our visit was comfortable and enjoyable. We so enjoyed chatting with her and learning more about her beautiful country. It was a delight to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

I had never been to the Balkans before - but I will certainly be going again. It has an incredibly complex history - and present - and a fantastic atmosphere. There is a huge amount to see and do. It is fascinating and incredibly beautiful: harsh limestone mountains and islands covered in trees.
Before arriving, one of my daughters insisted on being able to lie in the sun every day. And she managed 12 out of 14. The other two we drove to the nearby countries of Montenegro and Bosnia. I wanted shade. And managed 14 out of 14.
Beaches near Dubrovnik are generally not sandy and water shoes would have been good. We didn't have any and should have bought some. But...would you use them again? The water, however, is really clean and clear.
If you forget to pack something, don't worry. Croatia is not the back of beyond.
We travelled in high season, when the centre of Dubrovnik can get very crowded with hour-trippers from cruise ships. Staying in the heart of the city might be trying. But staying just outside, is perfect.
The Benussi apartments are a five minute walk from from the old town centre, and Jadranka Benussi is as good a hostess as you could want. She is attentive - but not intrusive. And forget the Italian name - she's a Croat through and through!

Driving in Croatia is fine - though book car hire in advance if you can. Parking in Dubrovnik, however, is very difficult. Seek advice from Jadranka!
Although the very centre of the old town is flat - and very beautiful - Dubrovnik as a whole needs an ability of climb stairs. To start with, this overweight, unfit Brit felt like he was on a compulsory step aerobics course.

But overall, I couldn't recommend Benussi, Dubrovnik, Croatia and the Balkans highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few days, and we were absolutely pleased with the apartment and the service provided. The price was more than reasonable. Jadranka was extremely helpful and she provided us with a lot of information and tips about what to do and where to eat. The apartment was clean and tidy, well equiped, with air conditioning and free WIFI, gorgeous view, and the bathroom was huge, with a very large tub.
Location was perfect: Old Town, beach, supermarket, bus stop and good restaurants were reachable by a less-than-five minutes walk.
Next time I'm in the city, I will not bother in looking for some other place. This one was just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartments and Rooms Benussi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments and Rooms Benussi

Address: Miha Klaica 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 400 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our traditional built Dubrovnik stone house has been built at the beginning of the 19th century. It is located in a very nice area in the immediate vicinity of the historical City of Dubrovnik. A pleasant 5 minutes walk will take you to Old Town Dubrovnik, Being so close to Old Town Dubrovnik where most cultural and other happenings are organized, not to mention the numerous museums, exhibitions, monuments, restaurants, cafe bars and other interesting things you might enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Apartments and Rooms Benussi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments and Rooms Benussi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.