We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice modern hotel in quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Very nice modern hotel in quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The Valamar is off the beaten path just a 15 minute (12 KN - about $2) bus ride on Bus 6 to the old town - the bus stop is 100 yards from the hotel and discounted tickets can be bought at the hotel to save on the fare charged on the bus. The hotel lobby is large with lots of seating and very good WiFi access. The adjacent bar lounge offers light snacks and evening entertainment which was very good. Outside the lounge is a large patio area with great views of the Adriatic and the very nice pool and hot tub areas, which also share those views - the pool water temperature was on the cool side. Our fifth floor was large and comfortable and, being the top floor, had cathedral ceilings to make the room feel even larger. It was a modern decor, clean, quiet and had intermittent WiFi access. English TV, as is common in these areas, is limited. A very large room with a large buffet breakfast starting at 7AM is on the ground floor. The offerings were very diverse and very good. Service is also very good; while some of the staff required simple English for communication this was not a problem. Many buses depart early in the morning creating a "rush" and service for omelets, fried or poached eggs, etc. can be slow so plan accordingly or delay breakfast until 8AM. A five minute walk downhill finds a pizzeria and a couple of other restaurants offering good food at very reasonable prices. An additional 10 minutes of walking further downhill offers much larger choices in a neighborhood frequented by locals. If the uphill walk back is too much take bus #6 - it runs every 10 minutes.

We spent four nights there and would not hesitate to return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you on your kind words and recommendations. Most of all we are happy you have found our staff happy and our facilities to your liking. Yes, the sunsets on the terrace are a special experience and we hope you might be able to come back for some more on another occasion? Until then a warm greeting from Lacroma team1
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    296
    54
    9
    6
See reviews for
146
416
32
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Granby, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had read a wide range of reviews on this hotel. We found it very comfortable, with an astounding view of the Adriatic Sea. Friendly staff. Delicious food. We were part of a tour group so most of our food was buffet. We did order from the bar menu, one evening- sitting outside and enjoying the beautiful sunset from their terrace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you on your kind words and recommendations. Most of all we are happy you have found our staff happy and our facilities to your liking. Yes, the sunsets on the terrace are a special experience and we hope you might be able to come back for some more on another occasion? Until then a warm greeting from Lacroma team1
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a very large hotel but even though it was very busy, it didn't seem too crowded and the rooms themselves were very quiet. I had requested a sea-view room prior to arriving, but this didn't materialise, although we did have a room on the top floor which I had also requested. The view wasn't exciting - overlooking another block of rooms, but it wasn't unpleasant. The room was spotlessly clean and well equiped, with even a full sized ironing board and iron and a free safe, plus tea and coffee making facilities, although supplies weren't replenished during our stay, but we asked the maids for more sachets and there was no problem.

The food was lovely with a good choice of hot and cold food and the service was good. Even though the restaurant was often quite crowded, there were always plenty of tables, although it could be rather noisy.

The outdoor area of the hotel was lovely with plenty of seating, and there were also plenty of seating areas inside the lobby and bar area. The outdoor pool is quite large but it was a tad too cold for me to try, so we went in the indoor ppol which was really good and quite warm.

The hotel is about a 15 minute bus ride into Dubrovnik which was a very easy journey to make and it is possible to take a decent walk along the coast during the day time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guests
Sincere thank you on a fabulous review and your recommendations for Lacroma. We are very happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and we have reminded our housekeeping staff to make sure they replenish the tea and coffee supplies in the rooms. Yes, the outdoor pool in shoulder season can get pretty chilly if the north wind Bura blows for a few days. It is not heated and hence we keep the temperature of the indoor pool warm for our guests. Thank you for choosing Lacroma and we look forward to seeing you again – who knows?!
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Fantastic four star Hotel, room is very comfortable and the hotel has massive space to walk about, it is within distance to the New and Old Town (10 Minutes each way by bus or car).
Excellent service all round for food & Drinks throughout the day and evening.
Swimming pools both inside and outside are very well looked after, including bar with hot food available throughout day time.
Only downsize is that sleeping with one pillow is not good, so make sure enough pillows are there for comfortable for sleeping arrangements.

Room Tip: Choose one with viewing of swimming pool and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guests
Warmest of greetings and sincere thank you on your review. We are thrilled you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have recommended our property and our services. Yes, we have feather pillows which some guests have told us are absolutely heavenly to sleep on and for all those who prefer alternatives we have a pillow menu of another three varieties so that all our guests can make sure they have a perfect nights’s sleep.
We hope you might be able to come back and stay with us again and we look forward to greeting you in Lacroma.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

It's not small, so expect some crowd on the breakfast. But it's great one. Clean, beautifull view. Service was so excellent. All of them with a smile on their face. Pillows and beds are awesome. I might be spoiled when it comes to beds, but those were great.

Room Tip: Try to get the one with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guests
Great review thank you very much! Indeed Lacroma is not a small property but the guests can enjoy the spaces available and all the facilities a large property can offer. We hope you will visit us again for some more great sleep on your favourite pillows.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna, philippines
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I slept well in this very nice hotel. Forgot to bring my swimsuit- but indoor and outdoor pool very inviting... Hotel steps away from bus stop to go to Walled City of Dubrovnik. Small marts/ souvenir shop and restaurants near hotel... Only downside is the hotel restaurant's poor exhaust system. But Food very good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guests
Greetings from Lacroma. Thank you very much for your great "wow" review, we are delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and we hope to maybe see you again?!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Travel to Dubrovnik as part of a two centre touring holiday with Riviera Travel. We had been updated a few days before we travelled from the 3* Valamar Argosy to the 4*Lacroma and were delighted with the new hotel. The rooms were clean and modern. The only drawback was the view from the window was across the car park and on eye level with the other guests so leaving the curtains open was not really an option. The staff were very courteous and helpful.
The buffet meals were excellent, with show cooking, we did not try the a la carte restaurant.
The hotel is in a lovely 'park' and gardens that lead to the other two sister hotels and down to the beaches. It is only a 15 minute ride to Dubrovnik centre = Pile Gate, and a good walk round the head land back to the hotel. We will be going again, definitely

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pools, or a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guests
Wonderful review, thank you sincerely! We are thrilled you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to greet you again in Lacroma on another occasion.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Number of rooms: 401
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Escapio, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.