We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Save Saved
You added Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A real jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just came back from Dubrovnik...and stayed here....every thing was great...my preferred opinion is the terrace...where I had my breakfast every morning....instead of eating in the dining room which was very noisy cause of the amount of people rushing for the food..
I also had dinner on the terrace watching the sun come down ..
Very close to the old town ...

Room Tip: We had a room facing the other building....next time I will ask for a room fa ing the sea...even if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
A real jewel of a review! Thank you sincerely and who knows you might come back for some more views at breakfast or sunset times?!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    500
    279
    48
    9
    5
See reviews for
136
391
30
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I went with my family with a tour group. The hotel was wonderful with a pool and a beach which is within walking distance. The rooms were clean and tidy. There was also a balcony in each room. Free wifi was available in most areas including the restaurants and in the rooms and the speed was good.
The buffet dinner and breakfast was great with a wide variety of food. But the only one downside is that food refill was not quick enough for the huge crowd, especially during the breakfast hours. You need to wait in queues for most of the hot plates.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you on a great review and on your complements regarding the facilities and services we offer to our valued guests. We are sorry that the restaurant was so busy at the time of your stay with us. It just happens from time to time that all tours leave in the morning at the same time and it is a bit of a challenge at breakfast. We hope you might be back to stay with us a little longer on another occasion when the restaurant is not so busy.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week's holiday at Valamar Lacroma Hotel. This is a very grand hotel. It is spacious and light, and surrounded by beautiful landscaped gardens. We had a room with a balcony which overlooked the gardens and the sea. A room with a sea view is amazing. The food is extremely good with a large choice of different foods at breakfast and dinner. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we cannot fault the hotel in any way, There are two lovely swimming pools, one outside and one in. Also spa facilities. There are plenty of sunbeds and free towels and a small bar by the pools which also has lovely snacks. There is a bar in the lobby from where can be seen amazing sunsets. There is a bus into the Old Town running every 15 minutes or so. The tickets are 15 kuna one way, but 12 kuna if purchased at the hotel.. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: For a quiet room avoid rooms above the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
Fabulous review! Thank you very much. Great to read of your experience of your recent stay with us. It makes all our staff very proud and glad they were able to make your stay a success. Thank you for recommending us and we hope you might be able to come back to Lacroma and Dubrovnik on some other occasion.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My family vacationed here several times over the past year (during the off season periods) and for every of those times, the hotel has earned top points on every single aspect of its services: cleanliness, hospitability, alertness, accommodating guest's needs, quality of the food.. Indoor pool and the surrounding areas is clean with plenty of towels, a terrific spa and saunas next door. Outdoor pool overlooks the Adriatic and we used this one as well. The hotel is located in Babin Kuk and has the public bus transportation stop in front of the hotel, making it really easy to use to get to the Old Town at a reasonable price (parking in the Old Town is overpriced!!). Furthermore, it is located in the center of what the Dubrovnik residents call "Little Stradun" which is a small shopping area with gift shops, boutiques and coffee shops, all located in a botanical garden surrounding the hotel. Rooms are spacious and offer a coffee/tea kettle as well. This hotel was great and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
Sincere thank you on your fantastic review! It is with greatest of pleasure and pride that we read such comments on our facilities, food, cleanliness, location and most of all hospitality of our staff. This is the core of our business – hospitality and it is great to have such appreciation from our guests, it makes all our efforts worthwhile . We are looking forward to your next visit. Let us know if we can be of any assistance. Do skorog vidjenja :-)
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel caters to both business and holiday travellers (I was among former). Staff friendly overall; very friendly and quick room service. Rooms not special but clean and spacious enough (ask for sea view). Nice swimming pool and terrace overlooking the sea. Main downside is the location: it takes a 10 minute taxi ride (EUR 7) into the old town or a one hour walk (not a particularly interesting one).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks on a great and informative review. Thank you very much for complementing our facilities and our staff. We are happy you have enjoyed the spectacular views on our terraces and we hope you might be back for some more?!
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is perched on a hill which provides a panoramic view of the Adriatic. The rooms are good sized, and well equipped befitting its status as a premier property. In room coffee/tea making facility is available. The restaurants serve good quality food and the breakfast buffet has a very good spread. The gym is small but has all the essential workstations for a good workout. Dubrovnik old city can be reached by bus number 6 and the fare is 12 Kuna. At the time of our stay, wifi was available but the signals were intermittently weak. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
Great review! Many thanks for choosing Lacroma for your recent stay in Dubrovnik and for sharing your experience on line. We are pleased you have enjoyed your time here and thank you for recommending us.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

It's a lovely hotel that serves bus loads of group tours and conferences. It's very modern and has nice amenities. The rooms are nicely appointed and the indoor pool basically saved us from the cold weather.

The staff however is not very helpful.
Examples, the check in staff doesn't tell you anything about the resort. Only when I prodded asked specifically about the neighboring hotel I had heard about did she pull out a map of the local hotels and explained how we can get there. Only later we learned that there is path behind our hotel that led to another hotel that led to a beach, shops etc.

Another example, our daughter was hungry at 6pm and we spoke to a waiter standing in front of a restaurant about a restaurant that we wanted to go to. He said they are open only at 7pm. My husband and I talked in front of him about how that's too bad and wished something was open earlier and turned to walk to the lobby to maybe have some snacks to hold our daughter. I then turned around and asked the waiter " by the way do you know of any other restaurants that might be open earlier" to which he replied "yes, this one(pointed to one he was standing in front of)"....I was dumbfounded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guests,
Sincere greetings from Lacroma and thank you very much for taking time to share your experiences of your recent stay with us on line. Thank you for your complements and thank you for the issues you have raised regarding our staff which will help us in detecting flows in our operation and improve on our services provided to our valued guests. The issues with reception we have taken up with our staff and management. As you can appreciate, it is sometimes more difficult particularly for our younger, less experienced colleagues to assess the guests’ needs. Sometimes, when they try to give more information, the guests want faster service and on other occasions like in your case they seem not to provide enough information when the guests really want it. We are sure they will from now on take more care in situations like these and will provide better information to our guests. As regards to your experience at the restaurant we can only say that it was unintentional misunderstanding on behalf of our staff. Our main restaurant opens and 7 pm and the A La Carte at 6pm Hence the misunderstanding for which we sincerely apologise.
Again, thank you very much for choosing Lacroma and we hope we will be your choice when you come again to Dubrovnik some other time.
Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Escapio, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Venere so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.