We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, bad service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Save Saved
You added Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Samobor, Croatia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice room, bad service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My first impression of the hotel was excellent. Check-in was fast and accurate, but after that everything started to ruin my first impression. After check in i was escorted to the elevator by the bell boy which was a 55 year old guy by my estimation. Nothing against his age but his body language was like"i hate this and i don't wanna do this but my boss is here so i'm doing it". After that i came to my floor and had some problem of finding the room. When i found it i was pleased with the room. It was big and clean with all necessary things. Bed was excellent one of the best i slept on, but pillows were horrible. I put 4 of them under my head but they were so soft that i had a feeling i have none.
Service in the bar and restaurant is bad. In lobby bar i drank around 10 whiskeys and every time i ordered with one ice cube and i get glass full of ice. Than i asked what wine they have but the waiter didn't know so i asked for wine list but she brought her colleague instead. Well he knew only two wines on the list so i took one of those two cuz i was pissed already. Also they were very slow and looked uninterested for their job with the body language of i hate this.

Breakfast is very nive with wide choice. But again the enthusiasm goes down when a waiter comes to u with a look of a zombie and i hate this stance and ask u: u want some coffee sounding like he is on death row.

All of these ppl are 45+. Maybe this is a thing of seasonality but if not then this hotel have big problems with this. Nothing against their age but i would like to see a smile or some ethusiasm in what are they doing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay in Lacroma on line. We are sincerely sorry you did not altogether enjoy your stay with us. Yes, indeed in the winter months our permanent employees some of whom are working during the summer in our other four properties on Babin kuk come and work in Lacroma. Apologies if they did not show appropriate enthusiasm and left an impression that they were not interested in the guests or their needs and we have already taken actions to relay the message and emphasise to all our employees how important it is to always maintain the level of service we expect for our valued guests.
We are sorry you did not like the pillows and we hope that you took advantage of choice of one of the three alternative pillows which we have on our pillow menu in all the rooms. Our apologies once again for any lack of service offered to you during your recent stay in Lacroma. We hope to be able to improve on all of the aspects you have mentioned on your next stay with us.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    460
    262
    45
    9
    4
See reviews for
122
351
29
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I came in beggining of November. In my room was so cold that I almost wanted to cry. Last day I slept in socks.
Room was ok, pretty large bedroom but with no view. Later someone told me that just 30% of rooms have sea view.
Stuff are too slow, we had to wait for waiter for 20 minutes and the receptionist was the winner! I wanted to pay my bill about 11:30 pm, because my plane was really early in the morning. And he said I cannot pay my bill, because his computer is closed. Hm, I asked what should I do? And he answered, I don't know, it is not my problem!
Breakfast was good, despite poor choice of juices, not natural, too sweet. Also in the restaurant, my friend asked for a fork and knife, and waiter told her to sit somewhere where are fork and knife, despite she wanted to sit with her friends.
Maybe stuff is different in the summer, but now I am not satisfied with almost noone.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are sincerely sorry you have not enjoyed your stay in Lacroma to the full. We apologise for any inappropriate services provided to you and we thank you for your kind words regarding the food. As for the room structure in Lacroma we have several options our guests can choose from. Some prefer to book standard rooms, some rooms with balcony, some with sea view and some our suites. All the rooms are furnished in the same way the difference is only in location, view and size. At the time you were staying in Lacroma the weather in Dubrovnik was exceptionally warm. Daily temperatures were running up to 24 degrees and most of the guests were requesting air conditioning in their rooms. As you can appreciate, it is impossible to heat and cool the rooms at the same time, but the AC control panel in the room enables our guests to switch the AC off if the temperature runs too low. We are sincerely sorry we were not able to discuss these matters with you during your stay since we believe we could have resolved most of them to your satisfaction.
Once again, our sincere apologies and we hope that we will have a chance of greeting you again in Lacroma when you will enjoy your stay with us.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Valamar Lacroma was a very spacious hotel, large bedroom with excellent views from your room spanning over the property onto the Adriatic.
If you are looking for a resort / relaxing experience in Dubrovnik the Valamar Lacroma is in a more secluded area with every amenity and facility to provide a relaxing experience. About a 5 minute walk away there are some nice cafe's that serve excellent coffee and wi fi if people watching is the preference, however if partying and experiencing Old Town is the preference this hotel is approximately 5 - 10 minute drive, and a 45 min to 1 hour walk.

Overall value for money, services offered and the views it is a beautiful hotel that i would recommend staying in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guests,
Greetings from Lacroma and Dubrovnik. Thank you on your review and for recommending Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik hotel on line. We are very happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that if you ever come and visit Dubrovnik again you will honour us by staying with us again.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We checked in after about 12 hours of travel, so were very relieved and excited to see where we would stay the night. Decent sized room, breakfast was great, and all the staff were very helpful. Facilities at the hotel are numerous but we unfortunately didn't have time to use them. A 4 star hotel at a great rate, would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guests,
Sincere thanks on your great review. Yes, we can imagine how long a day can be when you travel for 12 hours and we are thrilled you have found Larcoma a pleasant surprise! Thank you for complementing our facilities, our food and most of all our staff. Since on this occasion you did not have enough time to use all of the facilities we have on offer to our valued guests, we most certainly look forward to greeting you again on some other occasion when you can enjoy the facilities to the full! Until such time, we remain,

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Value to money. Nice hotel. It is rated 4 star but for me it is 5-star. Not far from the beach. Staffs are friendly and helpful. The food is excellent. The breakfast is good with lots of variety. The restaurant serves good food and wine. Way much better than in France but you pay way much less in Dubrovnik. Must go again.

Room Tip: Get a roon facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for a great review! Great to hear you have enjoyed your stay and that you would like to come back. We would certainly be looking forward to your return and if we can be of any help please let us know. Thank you again for recommending Lacroma.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here in July 2012 for 2 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. We had been staying in the Lapad hotel but as we booked last minute we could only get the lapad hotel for part of our stay (we had previously stayed in the lapad hotel last year and enjoyed our stay so we decided to come back.) On leaving the lapad hotel which we enjoyed we didn't know what to expect from the valamar lacroma but we were delighted with our choice. We arrived early and our room was ready. We went straight to the swimming pool and we both enjoyed the swimming pool. Plenty of sun loungers for everyone and the swimming pool itself is a good size, clean and the views are amazing. The breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice. The location was a bit further out from the old town than the lapad hotel but the bus stops right outside the lacroma and as it's the first stop you are guaranteed a seat. Also there is a nice walk from the lacroma along the sea front to lapad where there are plenty of restaurants and shops.We hope to return to Dubrovnik again as we love the city and would find it difficult to decide which hotel to chose as both were excellent.

Room Tip: We got a room with a sea view and it was fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guests,
Greetings from Lacroma and thank you on an “amazing” review! We are thrilled you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for complementing and recommending our establishment and the service we provide. Yes, it would be a tough call on your next visit to decide where to stay! It will be our pleasure to assist you with any travel and accommodation arrangements, so please feel free to contact us at any time.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

As every other big hotel, the Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik is full of opportunities for a guest to enjoy, different amenities, and excellent service quality. Although a bit downside is that you're just a number in a large facility like this one. What happened is that the reception gave us a room which wasn't ready yet, and the cleaning lady was still in our room. Also in the cafe the waiter was clumsy and unpleasant, serving us black coffee when we ordered with milk. Also very very expensive, but I guess that's just a 4 star Dubrovnik hotel pricing. All in all, lovely decorated and nicely located great views, beautiful terraces and good food, nice rooms, but in a large hotel you can never feel like you're appreciated and like the staff really knows you and cares for you like when you stay in a small, family-owned hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience of staying in Lacroma on line. We are sorry that despite all our best efforts we could not make your stay with us as comfortable as we would like it to be. We hope that the misunderstanding at the arrival to your room and the fact that Lacroma is a large hotel thus offering all the facilities you have kindly highlighted, did not prevent you from enjoying your stay in Dubrovnik.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.