We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent amenities and decor, but lacking human touch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Save Saved
You added Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 70 hotels in Dubrovnik
Split, Croatia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent amenities and decor, but lacking human touch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

As every other big hotel, the Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik is full of opportunities for a guest to enjoy, different amenities, and excellent service quality. Although a bit downside is that you're just a number in a large facility like this one. What happened is that the reception gave us a room which wasn't ready yet, and the cleaning lady was still in our room. Also in the cafe the waiter was clumsy and unpleasant, serving us black coffee when we ordered with milk. Also very very expensive, but I guess that's just a 4 star Dubrovnik hotel pricing. All in all, lovely decorated and nicely located great views, beautiful terraces and good food, nice rooms, but in a large hotel you can never feel like you're appreciated and like the staff really knows you and cares for you like when you stay in a small, family-owned hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience of staying in Lacroma on line. We are sorry that despite all our best efforts we could not make your stay with us as comfortable as we would like it to be. We hope that the misunderstanding at the arrival to your room and the fact that Lacroma is a large hotel thus offering all the facilities you have kindly highlighted, did not prevent you from enjoying your stay in Dubrovnik.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    460
    263
    45
    10
    4
See reviews for
123
351
29
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tivat, Montenegro
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

New, comfortable, clean, airy hotel with positive, smiling and english speaking staff. Gorgeous breakfast buffet, warm indoor pool, two types of sauna. SPA experience was just unforgettable. And they let us chack-out later )) Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guests,
Sincere thanks on your great review. Thank you for complementing our facilities, services provided and most of all the competence of our staff. We hope we will have an opportunity of greeting you again in Lacroma in a not distant future.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia Suburbs
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Glass and concrete hotel, suitable for conventions and such, but not very well situated for those who would like to explore the walled town of Dubrovnik. That being said, the bus stop is right across the road and it takes 10-15 min to the gate of the old city. Bus schedule is very convenient - every 10 min. Rooms are clean, large with comfortable beds. Great breakfast buffet. All and all, it is not a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and have a meal at the brewery, located in the small shopping mall next to the h...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thanks you for your kind review and for complementing our services and food. Valamar Lacroma is located on Babin kuk peninsula as you kindly pointed out 10-15 minutes on the bus from the old city of Dubrovnik. It is most definitely not within walking distance to the city but that can also be an advantage since the old town can at times be overwhelmed by cruise guests whereas in Lacroma and other Valamar properties the guests can enjoy open spaces, long walks along the sea and fantastic sunsets. We hope that being a little further away from the old city did not make your stay with us any less enjoyable. Thank you again on great review and if you ever decide to visit Croatia again, maybe we can be of assistance? – Valamar has 23 hotels on the Croatian coast and we are sure we can find a great place for you to stay.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno, nv
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel had all the great amenities. The facility is close to the sea and a neat park and shopping area full of outdoor places to eat and cute stores. A beer was only $2.50. Soon Croatia will join the EU (June or July) and costs will go up, go now rather than later.

Room Tip: Bobin Kuk is a bit a way from old town, but a destination in itself. Get a room facing the sea. al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
Greetings from Lacroma and thank you for great review. Yes, indeed, Croatia is on the way to entering EU in July 2013. We hope that this would not reflect too much on the costs of living and that the services we provide would be just as competitive after July 2013 hence providing even more favourable conditions for our valued guests to visit Croatia and stay in Valamar properties. Thank you for choosing Lacroma and we are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My trip was on the beginning of November but still the weather was fine. It seems that in the summer the pool and beach would be wonderful. The hospitality was satisfactory just as the good service. You can arrive to the old town by taxi with €12-15 depends on something that I did not understand how. If the weather is fine, you should buy a boat trip to the three islands. By the way the wireless service was free and available from everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
Sincere greetings from Lacroma and thank you for your kind review and for recommending our hotel and complementing our services. If it is any consolation we are still ourselves working out the taxi fare and have not been able to come to any credible explanation. We were told that the taxi fare is varied according to the time needed to get into town. If the roads are busy then time spent in the taxi is longer and so is the fare. Makes sense, but we are still to test it a few times to be absolutely certain. Thank you for choosing Lacroma and we look forward to greeting you again.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent 4 days here in Sept and really enjoyed it. The breakfast buffet is fabulous! The dinner buffet is also good. The hotel overlooks the Adriatic with a gorgeous pool. It is a short bus ride away from the old town-- a welcome relief from the crowds. Bus # 6 goes by the hotel every few minutes. Every evening we enjoyed a glass of wine on the terrace bar. Even had dinner there one night. The staff speaks English well; they were very helpful

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for a great review and thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay in Lacroma on line. We are very happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are most grateful for your kind recommendations.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were staying at the Lacroma with a group which would make you think that this would be a toaster hotel. This an incredible physical plant with access to the Adriatic, a very large pool and wonderful rooms.
The breakfast is a buffet that must have six stations where you can find everything anyone would want for breakfast including things like custom made egg dishes and omelets.
Our room was inviting and comfortable.
A bus or taxi ride is required to get to the old town. Bus stop is close by.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivica S, General Manager at Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
“Truly a fabulous review!” Thank you sincerely. We hope you will be back for a longer stay with us on some other occasion. We will keep up the good work meanwhile and keep justifying high marks you have awarded us.

Yours sincerely
Ivica Sabljić
General Manager
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik

Address: Iva Dulcica 34, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel is located on the tranquil Babin Kuk peninsula, surrounded by pine tree forests and soothing white pebble beaches. Renowned for its fusion of nature and state of the art facilities, the hotel offers ultra modern rooms and suites, the largest MICE facilities in the area, memorable gastronomic experiences in its gourmet restaurant, a wine bar terrace with panoramic views of the Elaphiti Islands and an abundance of activities to let you create a perfectly balanced holiday in Croatia with an added touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.