We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dubrovnik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Hotel Dubrovnik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Setaliste kralja Zvonimira 16, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average hotel in good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We were part of a group of 15 occupying 8 rooms.
This was our base for a 3 night city break to Dubrovnik. We only used the hotel for bed and breakfast and we all did our own thing in terms of sightseeing/lunch etc during the day, coming together at the bar each night at 7pm before heading off as a group for evening meal.
Lapad is an ideal area to stay when visiting Dubrovnik as it is served by a frequent and relatively cheap bus service. Bus stop only five minute walk from hotel (bus No 6 to Old Town, 15 Kunas if paying bus driver but 12 Kunas if ticket is bought at kiosk at bus stop). Handy tip for getting bus back to Lapad (buses followed a one-way system through Dubrovnik), - bus tends to fill up very quickly with passengers at the Pile Gate bus stop right outside Old Town and subsequently seats are at a premium. We walked back to the penultimate bus stop before Old Town and got on there so we were guaranteed a seat. However this does entail a climb up a long and steep stairway to reach this bus stop!
Back to the Hotel...The rooms allocated to our group varied in size but were all adequate with varied facilities. Our room was average size at the side of the hotel with window/door out on to a large shared balcony with tables and chairs. Wardrobe space was good and the fridge was handy for storing our bottled water. Beds were comfortable and air conditioning was very good.
Power shower was good but the triangular corner shower cubicle was quite small. We found our room to be clean enough but in need of some minor attention (eg. one of the bedside wall lights did not have a shade and towels were a bit threadbare and a bath/floor mat did not appear until our last day). We would agree with the previous reviewer's comments regarding the breakfast but his didn't spoil our stay. There was no safe in the room but for a small daily charge we were given a key to our own safety deposit box in reception.
Eating out in Lapad and Dubrovnik Old Town was one of the highlights of our trip. On the first night our group took the bus into Dubrovnik and ate at the "Taj Mahal" restaurant in the Old Town which served authentic Croatian dishes. No problem with getting bus home afterwards as last bus to Lapad was at 1.30am! On the second night we ate just up the road from the hotel at the "Lapad Restaurant" food was excellent and local house wine good. On our last night we ate at the "More" Hotel restaurant (10-15 minute walk from hotel), where there was an excellent choice of dishes, especially fish dishes and the location right on the edge of the rocky sea shore added to the enjoyment of the experience.
Finally, we found staff to be friendly and helpful, especially the receptionists and everyone we encountered in on our trip spoke good English and even had little trouble understanding our Scottish Borders accents!
Finally, finally, we have to mention that service at the bar, each evening, especially on our last night, by both waiting staff and management, was excellent considering we ate all our evening meals elsewhere!
We would definitely recommend the Hotel Dubrovnik for a suitable base for a short city break whether travelling as a group or just as a couple.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    20
    27
    21
    31
See reviews for
16
57
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Located just outside of the old town in Lapad half way along the strip in a lovely picturesque setting. Less than 5 minutes walk to the beach and the bus stop for the number 6 into town. Around 20 restaurants and bars to choose from near the hotel and the Lapad Grill Restaurant was my favorite.

The room was a good size with a large balcony. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, fridge, comfortable beds and excellent air conditioning and power shower.

The staff were friendly. I did not use the restaurant because of previous reviewers comments. It was spacious with a large outdoor seating area. The hotel did not have a lift.

The issues I have are these -

1. Housekeeping was not great. The beds were made up and bedding changed during the week I stayed but used glasses were not washed. The shower doors had not been cleaned for sometime and the shower and wash basin soap containers were empty and never refilled.

2. The breakfast was not great either. The coffee was not filter and was undrinkable. There was no black tea. The juices were fine. Hot food was placed in a cold unheated container and the salt and pepper containers were greasy and not washed from one day to the next.

That said I enjoyed by stay. Would pay a bit more next time and stay one of the other hotels offering more facilities such as Hotel Zagreb or the Grand Park Hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor overlooking the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We ate here one evening, and this is the only negative review in 14 days of eating out.

We should have got the alarm when staff tried to insist we sat at a table for two when we had chosen a table for four with better lighting.

The prices on the menu outside look about average, but its only when seated you realise that you have to pay for anything other than the main food item, the only resturant we visited to do this.

The wine was the dearest house wine we had, and almost undrinkable.

My food was just ok, but terrible fries, my partner did not eat her beef stroganoff because of gristle and tough meat.

Final insult was a "table setting charge" of 18 kunas each.

The place is a rip off, avoid at all costs and use some of the better resturants on this strip.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We only had a meal here, which was just about acceptable, the plates were dirty, and greasy condiments were a turn off. I'm just glad we were not staying here, I can't imagine what the rooms are like! I can't think of one good thing to say about the place. It was expensive too. Best avoided, there are many better places to eat near by.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Two stars only because of nice staff. Breakfast was exceptionally bad (poor quality, filthy plates and cups, dirty kitchen), rooms were filthy (cockroaches in the room, poor hygiene level), overpriced restaurant menu.. To name the least. Staff was friendly, I'll give them that. Decor was from early 90's.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Brilliant location, lovely, friendly, helpful staff. Basic room- generally clean, but in need of a refurb throughout and no lift. Breakfast was straightforward continental fare- lovely bread, jams, fruit, eggs, salad, cheese and ham- a few people commented that plates weren't always replenished and coffee was often lukewarm and bitter and I agree. Fruit juice was more like squash- sausages and bacon looked greasy. The restaurant was one of the least enticing on the strip- we had a simple lunch of grilled chicken and a burger, but we wouldn't pay for anything more exotic when there were several nearby with a more modern atmosphere and more interesting menu. A little disappointing for a wedding anniversary but probably okay for a family, if relatively pricey.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies although we were led to believe they did- we had 'balcony doors'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The staff were incredibly helpful, courteous, and professional. The location is just a short walk down a pedestrian promenade to the beach. The promenade is lined with nice restaurants & cafes. I loved this place! Location, food and service were great. The beach is 100 meters away. It has the possibility to book excursion trips with ship at the reception. I suggest everyone to take the three island cruise trip. When I return to visit Dubrovnik, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik

Address: Setaliste kralja Zvonimira 16, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dubrovnik 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.