We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dubrovnik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dubrovnik to your Saves list
Hotel Dubrovnik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Setaliste kralja Zvonimira 16, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

15 family members went to Croatia for a once in a lifetime memory. We used a travel agent to make sure we would have no problems. We did great in our first location (Opatija). Then after arriving in Dubrovnik and checking in to the Hotel Dubrovnik the whole vacation went sour. This place is absolutely one of the worst hotels all 15 of us have ever stayed in. The locals explained that it was secretly sold by some shady people who are running to the ground. Inspections in this country barely get redone which is why it still has a 3 star rating. My sisters room had 3 huge water bugs. Not surprising since your shower (which only a thin female can fit her shoulders in and successfully close the door) leaks onto the wall in your hallway. If you touch the wall it feels like pudding. The same dirt that was on the carpet when we checked in was still there after 4 days of housekeeping. The bathroom towels have holes in them and are grey in color and they only have one size which is what we would consider a hand towel. They have no fitted sheets and the flat sheet they use to cover the mattress is too small so you basically sleep on an uncovered mattress - gross. My other sisters closet door fell off when she tried to open it and in 4 days no one fixed it. Out of 6 rooms only 3 of the airconditioners worked. My husband had to repair the other ones. But at about 3 in the morning they shut down the main unit because they claim it is too noisey for the guests on the 3rd floor!!! This place is a DUMP!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    20
    27
    21
    31
See reviews for
16
57
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights. We got a double room. When we arrived we were taken to a a room with two twin beds and two twin frames. It was very uncomfortable. We thought we would be getting a standard double sized bed not two separate beds. The room was small and made even smaller with too much bulky furnishings. The shower was tiny and had no place to put your shower products. The breakfast was disgusting and cheap. The juices tasted watered down and the food was brought out only in very small portions to the breakfast buffet. There are very few choices and everything is not very good. I would not stay here again. I feel bad for the people that work here. I imagine the owner is as cheap as his hotel. He seems to want to cut costs and cut corners by jepordising quality service.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Ordered the spaghetti bolognese and chips. Terrible service were seated and left for 10 mins. Ordered, got our drinks,following this we got the bread and usual pile of tuna not so nice! 30 mins passed before the spaggetti arrived on a small plate kiddy size portions and cold probably just out off the microwave?? Eventually got the attention of a waiter for bill. 18 kuna each cover charge outrageous!! Nothing worse than bad food and being ripped off!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We had lunch in the restaurant attached to this hotel, which with first impressions looked good. We were quickly served but the waiter was rude and miserable. We ordered salads and a burger. They brought us the usual tuna spread and bread whilst we waited for our lunch. When it arrived we were so disappointed. The salads which we were informed were a main meal were more like a side salad that had been left out in the sun and the burger was a thin slice of meat between two slices of bread. we asked if it came with chips and the grumpy waiter said it did. When the bill came we were charged extra for the chips and given a huge cover charge to pay as well. We asked if the cover charge was for the tuna spread and he said no, we then asked is it a tip, the waiter said no. By now we are very confused as servcie charge is optional in the UK. We didnt want to pay as the food was awful, along with the service. We were told we had to, so we did. It was also the biggest cover charge we paid the entire time we were in croatia!
Stay clear of this resturant - even though it looks nice from the outside!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is not a hotel for a one night stop. Located close to the beach in lapas with no direct road access, (the hotel car park is about 800 yards around the block.) it is a typical week plus holiday hotel. We arrived after a days car travel and with 2 suitcases (20kg each) and hand luggage to find we were on the top floor (attic status) and had to carry all (no lift) up three flights including a narrow winding staicase, over the roof, down steps to a miniscule room. Not only was it small but it also had an extra temporary bed (only me plus the boss) taking up valuable space. The bathroom was very cramped with little sheving and no towel rails.
Not withstanding this, the staff were outstanding. As a reidentwe seemed to have priveledge status in the restaurant and bar(table reservations). I noticed that other guests were similarly treated ( good view of Euro Cup footy on TV).
The restaurant was always more full than surrounding ones, a tribute to the food and staff. It is questionable wether the omnipresence and 'micro management' of the owner is necessary as his busy staff are extremely helpful and cheerful; especially Ivana (reception) and Zoran (bar/restaurant)
The amphitheratre created by the topography and buildings results in it being very noisy outside nat night. ( there was some sort of activity in the street night long) and so we could not leave the balcony door open to enjoy fresh air.
There were no tea/coffee nmaking facilities in the room- Our experience for the whole trip was ' the electric kettle has not yet reached Croatia!'

Room Tip: check your room location when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The one thing I will remember from an otherwise wonderful vacation at Dubrovnik is that I would set the alarm clock every night to get something approaching breakfast in this place next morning. Being required to pay the whole stay in advance should have set the alarm bells off. I had added one week of Dubrovnik to 1.5 weeks of business trips... and needed the second bed of my single-occupancy double room for my rather large suitcase. No other space in the room for it. Being in there with two people - and two suitcases - would have been a challenge. You also need a special kind of mind to put the electrical junction box for the bathroom fan into the shower. Yep, we're talking inside the shower cabin here, and on the surface of the tiles, not buried or recessed and not even in front of the hole in the tiles through which the cable is fed... and which had remained unsealed. The room was clean, relatively tidy, but a cheap outfit desparately trying to look good. All the furniture and fittings in the room and bathroom were old and/or worn or torn. Room service was limited to putting the bedspread back onto the blanket. The bed was not properly made... and the blobs of toothpaste intentionally left in the sink out of sheer meanness on day 3, stayed put until I left.

Breakfast was a disaster. The veggies looked like the sorry remains of yesterday's salad bar, and when you weren't among the first to arrive, you could count on the buffet not to offer any bread anymore - although when there was, bread was good. Breakfast mainly consisted of the ready-pack portions of jam, pie or chocolate cream of the neighboring supermarket, and the café-style industrial percolator would send mostly muck into your cup when you weren't among the first at the tap... which was a good thing, since then at some point one of the staff would make you a very good coffee from the espresso maker of the restaurant this place also operates.

And this is the real problem of the place. There's nothing actually bad or disgusting - except possibly the breakfast. But this place is not a hotel. It is a restaurant that rents out a number of rooms. As Dubrovnik hotels go, it's relatively decent value for money. But beyond the room as a place to stay the night, there is nothing, no guest services - excepting tons of brochures they will happily hand out -, no possibility to do anything during the day except heading for Dubrovnik's wonderful old city or Lapad beach, depending on your taste. The place is conveniently located to the beach and the bus stop from which a bus will take you to the old city every 10 minutes. But that's it. The location is good. The room I was in is decent, although too small for a decent double. But the place does not have international hotel standard. It rather is something for backpackers looking for a hostel. As hostels go, it has deserved its three stars, or even four. But then it's no longer decent value for money. As a hotel in the international tourism environment Dubrovnik claims to be a part of, it's two stars only, and with much good-will. Stay the night without high expectations, yes. Stay for a relaxing holiday in a place with that little extra that makes your stay memorable, no.

Room Tip: Looks like there are even smaller rooms than mine on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Myself and my two friends decided to have a week’s holiday in Croatia about 3 weeks ago. We booked Dubrovnik for the trip on Expedia and picked the Hotel Dubrovnik which seemed ok, and was well received on Trip Advisor, so we were happy to book it.

We arrived via car about 2pm and were told our room was ready. We mentioned that we had a car, and they suggested where to park it, which was near to the hotel “Free of Charge”, which was good of them, as we had heard parking can be quite expensive.

The initial room they gave us was 401, on the fourth floor right at the top of the hotel, which was a large two bedroom and one bathroom, with a sink and toilet for the other room. The room was fine and clean. After we spent the first night in this room, we retuned back on the 2nd day, to be told that we would have to be moved to a different room, as our original room was flooded with water. We were moved to the first floor to Room 101, which was ok, but didn’t have a separate bedroom, but a better bathroom, and a few more channels on a bigger TV. The only English Channel was the World News, but we weren’t bothered really.

We went to retrieve our belongings from the original flooded room, only to find that it wasn’t really flooded, but they had taken a mattress out in the 2nd bedroom. We then asked why they thought the room was flooded and they said it was because I had left a window open. Unperturbed we spent the rest of the week in the Room 101, which was fine.

The Breakfast was average, but the standard breakfast coffee was lousy and stewed. If you ask for another proper coffee, they will make you one, so that’s ok also. We were told the staff work 7 days a week in the summer months, but they were always friendly and we got nicknamed the “Window Boys” because of the flooded original room. The hotel itself is located quite close to the harbour along a strip going down to a shale beach on the Zagreb peninsula in Dubrovnik. Along the strip are lots of bars and Restaurants, but in May they were not very full, so it’s best to go to the Old Town for a night out.

We visited Mostar in Bosnia, which was good, with the old bridge rebuilt. The food was quite bland in Croatia, but we did not eat lunch at the hotel, but some people we met said in was quite good. On the last night we stayed in the hotel to watch the Bayern Munich v Chelsea final and the Manager on duty did supply a few free drinks, and was well up for the banter.

To sum up the Hotel is absolutely fine, with great hard working staff, who make you feel welcome, even three guys together. So well done to the Dubrovnik Hotel, a most enjoyable 7 nights stay, see my attached photo’s, if Trip Advisor publish them, as I have had trouble with them on my last two reviews.

Regards

Mark

Room Tip: Lower floors with balcony, I would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik

Address: Setaliste kralja Zvonimira 16, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dubrovnik 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dubrovnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.