We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sesame Tavern

The Sesame Tavern
Dante Alighieria b.b., Dubrovnik, Croatia
+385 20 412 910
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 280 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fine lunch and dining restaurant and coffee bar. Fresh local ingredients. Cordon Bleu chef/owner.
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“romantic dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our last night in Croatia and we were very sad. We showed up here without reservations but after only a short wait were seated at an upstairs table adjacent to the veranda wall where the moon was shining down on us. The food was very good, and it was nice to see some variety in the vegetables. A little more expensive than some of the other places we ate in town, and a little bit of noise from the road, but otherwise a great dinner. Easy walk from Old Town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    77
    31
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“High quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

One of the best restaurants in Dubrovnik for sure.
A bit higher prices then in rest of the restaurants, but the price goes along with the quality.
Often eat there and will continue to do so!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food in nice atmosphere outside pile gate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The restaurant didn't open until 6 pm for dinner. The upstairs balcony dining was romantic and the food was very good. The monkfish was excellent and the filet mignon was perfectly cooked to order. Very good service once we were seated for dinner. Just exit Pile gate and keep walking on the Main Street and you will run into it on left side of street.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Finally a good reastaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went to Dubrovnik from Slano on last night of a week holiday and came across the Sesame. Booked a table and requested one in the open and then went for a short walk to tak ein some of the views. On return we got the table requested and had a marvellous meal .... it was a little more expensive that others we had been too, but the food was tasty and goo wine recommendation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It could have been excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Don't get me wrong the food was excellent. It is good to get local knowledge and early in the day the woman who ran the laundromat in Dubrovnik got chatting to us. We asked her about good local restaurants. She gave us good information on three, including the Sesame Tovjerna. What got us interested was when she described the fig, prosciutto, rocket, parmesan salad with a honey dressing. We found the place (near the old town) and sat down for an enjoyable meal. We ordered the salad (to share), wild fish fillet and slow-cooked lamb. A gratus goats' cheese and spinach tart was served which was delicious. The salad far exceeded our expectations which were high in the first place. The fish, served with seasonal vegetables, was excellent and so was the slow-cooked lamb which melted in the mouth. We washed this down with a really nice Meneghetti Malvazija. Total bill was a little on the high side (575 kr) but the food was of excellent quality. The annoying thing about the evening was the sycophantic behaviour of the headwaiter towards an American family at a nearby table at the expense of paying attention to other patrons of the restaurant. Other than that, it could have been excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sesame Tavern also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to The Sesame Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sesame Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.