We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant base for Dubrovnik” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fresh* Sheets Hostel Dubrovnik Old Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fresh* Sheets Hostel Dubrovnik Old Town to your Saves list
Fresh* Sheets Hostel Dubrovnik Old Town
Svetog Simuna 15, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 421 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant base for Dubrovnik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hostel is about as good as you can get. Clean, cheap, perfect location, breakfast, beer and helpful staff. I would definitely stay again, I can't knock it in the slightest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    25
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
14
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The hostel is small (maybe 2 dorm rooms of 8 beds and a top floor with 4 twin beds and a private room with a double bed). The hostel was a bit tricky to find the first time but easy after you get a feel for the city layout. There are only a couple of hostels inside the walled city so definitely your best option. Beware tons of steps everywhere, so maybe re-think staying if you will have lots of heavy luggage.

The hostel was full the whole time. We were there 3 nights in the top room. The staff proactively moved us into the same room after a cancellation (we had to originally book one of us in a separate 8 bed for the first night). Fans everywhere and open windows for great ventilation. Breakfast was simple (bread, nutella, jams, cream cheese, corn flakes, museli, milk and coffee/tea). One morning the owner brought in yummy french toast type breads she had made.

The hostel organized daily (or every other day) activities. We signed up for a day trip (10-4) out to Lokrum Island right off the coast. However as we set out, high winds cancelled the ferries over, so our guide, Fraser, made an offer to change plans. Instead of a ferry ticket, he took us to a local exhibition of photos taken during the war in Croatia and surrounding countries. Very deep stuff but a great insight into some of the local cultural things to do. Then he took us to some sights around the city to show us the effects of the war on the town from the shelling. Afterwards took us to a beach with a bay that was more sheltered from the wind so we could swim. Great fun. He even offered to take a group the next day for the originally scheduled Lokrum trip if the ferry was running, which it was and we went again. Great swimming and cultural stuff to see. Definitely worth doing any of the trips/tours they offer. Basically, anything they set up, I recommend you jump on the opportunity.

The staff was great. There was happy hours with reasonably priced beers for purchase. And the staff had excellent suggestions for things to do around town. Definitely the highlight of our trip. If you can't get a bed here, still contact them. There were lots of other people staying in apartments around the city that they helped set up.

Room Tip: Ask for the heaven room or top floor/4 bed. No bunk beds in this room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed for four nights in May and June. As hostels go, this is superb. Not overly expensive, clean, comfortable, towels provided, lockers, plenty of hot water, free computer and internet use, breakfast provided, they serve beer, very friendly staff... and the location is simply sublime, 30 seconds staggering time from Buza.

Would go back in a shot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Dubrovnik is by far one of my favorite cities I have visited so far on my travels around Europe and part of that reason is because of this amazing hostel!!! Amazing people in an amazing location!!! We stayed in the 4 person dorm room on the top floor and it was absolutely perfect!! comfy beds with an incredible view. Homemade breakfast every morning with fresh fruit and some of the most amazing Bars all in the area.. There is a bar called Buza Bar which you enter through a hole in the city wall and the views are amazing. You can also jump off the rocks into the ocean.. We also took some day tours and some amazing places to see in this area!! You won't be sorry if you stay here I promise!

Room Tip: Stay in the 4 person dorm on the top floor.. great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Knowing this hostel was in the Old Town, I expected a trek involving stairs and narrow streets. That was all forgotten upon our welcome to the hostel from our friendly Canadian host. A comfortable atmosphere was provided and with free wifi and plenty I hot water, I was all set. I should mention that the co-owner was also on hand to give great advice on where to go for sightseeing and.. she cooks breakfast each day! I had never seen that with a hostel before and I completely advocate the award they received in the mail during my visit for 2nd best seasonal hostel in the world (hostelworld.com)
And happy hour too?! :)
The sheets were also very fresh! :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Good:
Friendly staff with good knowledge of the city, able to give you great tips.
Happy hour.
Breakfast with fruits.
Large lockers.
Excellent location within the old town.

Not so good:
They did not accept credit cards despite saying otherwise on websites.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Jon found me biking the streets and took me in! I was greeted by friendly staff and guests. Great location though not bike accessible. A cold beer was just what I needed after a long ride and that's what I got.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fresh* Sheets Hostel Dubrovnik Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresh* Sheets Hostel Dubrovnik Old Town

Address: Svetog Simuna 15, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 421 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh* Sheets is a small hostel located in the heart of the historical walled old town of Dubrovnik. It's one of the only hostels that offers you the unique experience of living inside an UNESCO World Heritage Site. Recommended by Lonely Planet, Rough Guide, In Your Pocket, and Rick Steve's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Fresh* Sheets Hostel Dubrovnik Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fresh* Sheets Hostel Dubrovnik Old Town Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresh* Sheets Hostel Dubrovnik Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.