We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Restaurant

Casa Restaurant
Nika i Meda Pucica 1, Dubrovnik, Croatia
+385-20-438710
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 280 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Price range: $13 - $65
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a lovely meal in this restaurant. The food was excellent, the wine was good, the service was friendly and the location is superb.

All I would say was that the cost, though not stupidly expensive, was higher than we paid for meals of a similarly high standard elsewhere. Dubrovnik has lots of very good restaurants, so this restaurant seems to be charging for the relaxed atmosphere and water's edge location (especially if you eat outside). This may not really a problem if you're looking for a special night out - it's just worth being aware of beforehand.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    55
    21
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Lunch at the water’s edge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A walk along the Lapad seaside promenade offers fantastic views over the Uvala Lapad Bay. In an excellent spot right along this scenic walkway we found the waterfront Restaurant Casa, part of the Boutique & Beach Hotel Villa Wolff. We stopped in for a light lunch (served from noon to 4 pm), and enjoyed the view and atmosphere so much we ended up having our main meal of the day here. Our salads were all very flavourful and crisp with fresh ingredients. The bread and pasta dishes were also delicious, with the Penne Zucchini recalled as a particular standout. Service was very prompt and courteous. All in all, a very good meal with outstanding atmosphere and view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You pay for the view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We walked past this restaurant everyday and decided as lovers of seafood that Casa looked our sort of place. Firstly the positive - the location is excellent, especially at sunset, most of the food tasted good - if not special.
Negatives - service was slow, very expensive compared to other restaurants in the area. The worse mussels I have ever had at restaurant - tiny with the 'beards' still attached.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Excellent food! Chef from Peru now living in Dubrovnik! Very exotic and artistic food!! I have eaten tuna steak in plum sauce...superb!!! Extremelly kind and pleasent service!! Great view!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Had a poor overpriced meal at this restaurant. This was the worst food and service we had all holiday. We were shown to our table and then ignored. Eventually they came for our order but we hadn't even been given menus. We had our starters a good hour after sitting down. They were ok but nothing special. My husband had mussels for a main course. They looked good as there was a huge bowl of them. They were in fact dreadful. A good percentage of the shells were empty and those that weren't were absolutely tiny. I have never seen such small mussels. The cooking liquid was tasty but he had to ask for a spoon which had not been provided. He had also had to ask for a bowl for his empty shells. He was hungry at the end of a meal which cost over £90 for the two of us. Very poor value and quality. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Restaurant also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Casa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.