We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Pupo

Konoba Pupo
Miha Pracata 8, 20000 Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik, Croatia
20 323 555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 273 restaurants in Dubrovnik
Cuisines: Southwestern, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Notice: Konoba "PUPO" is located in the centre of the Old Town, inside the city walls. Miha Pracata 8
Langtoft, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Went there on the strength of the reviews from Trip Advisor and have to say we were not disappointed. Excellent service coupled with great food in a lovely setting all at a value for money price, what more can you ask for? We ate there twice and would have eaten a 3rd time but they had just served a large party which would have meant an hour's wait. Rather than just sit us down and take our money, (something many places I have been in over the years would have done) to our surprise the waiter then walked us through the streets to a restaurant that he recommended so we would go somewhere "almost as good as his restaurant". The ultimate in service in our opinion.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    148
    67
    20
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This tiny place doesn't look like much from the outside, and I almost didn't stop here because from the menu it looked like typical 'tourist' fare. However my husband and I ate lunch here and we were very pleasantly surprised with this place. We sat outside in the street, which was nice. My husband tried to order some fried calamari, but the server basically refused to let him place the order advising us that there were lots of other restaurants that served that stuff. We were glad that he set us straight. He suggested a pasta dish with seafood that was outstanding. He also suggested a dish with calamari, fish and potatoes. This was also great. We had some of their house white which was good. Highly recommend this place, and take your server's recommendations!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice Eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Konoba Pupa is a little restaurant in one of the side streets of the old town with a waiter who prefers Australian Rules Football to the REAL football, however he was forgiven. We had squid stew (on his recommendation) and Scampi and Shrimp Tagliatelle. Both very tasty and filling with some nice wine. Prices very reasonable. Would have to say it lived up to its tripadvisor rating.

[The way I approach rating restaurants for tripadvisor is to say: Is this good value for money and was the food in line with these expectations? So this way I can score a $40 restaurant with a 5 or a $200 restaurant that served perhaps better food with a 3 because it did not meet price and value expectations.]

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“LIVED UP TO ITS GOOD REVIEWS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Ate there on strength of tripadvisor reviews and place lived up to the good ones. Waiter was friendly with a surprising grasp of Irish having traveled and drunk in all thirty two counties. Typical alley restaurant but service was slick, prices reasonable and food excellent. We both enjoyed our meals - starters soup/ dalmation ham - steak / chicken - Tomato soup was excellent, ham was tasty but a bit boring but seems to be a national dish and I wanted to try it, did not have it again all holiday - steak was awesome as was the chicken - all in all a excellent dinner and certainly not a tourist trap - well worth a visit if only for the steak.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I enjoyed my scampi cooked in tomato and herbs and served with tagitelle and topped with three large whole scampi, it was very tasty. My husband had the fish of the day and that was also tasty. We found all restaurants in Dubrovnik to be pricey compared to what we pay at home but we knew this before we came and I really wanted to try the local restaurants and taste wise we were not disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Pupo also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Konoba Pupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Pupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.