We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tripadvisor is not always right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The MirO Studio Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The MirO Studio Apartments to your Saves list
The MirO Studio Apartments
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Svetoga Durda 16, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
-10% for direct booking
Ranked #7 of 155 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
San Ramon, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor is not always right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Miro Studio apartments. It was acceptable, not great or even good. We booked here based on others' Tripadvisor reviews (which are usually reliably accurate) and were disappointed. The first issue is room choice. The hotel makes it clear that room assignments are based on availability and not guaranteed. You get what they have when you get there. This egalitarian approach sounds nice until you do not get the top floor ocean view room. We did not get that room - we got one of the 6 or 8 other rooms. It seems most of the Tripadvisor reviews were from people who got the best room. I am sure they had great stays. We ended up in a mid-floor normal room. It was dark, a bit dank and worn out. The bathroom had an awful sewer smell at night coming from its drain. There was nothing terrible about our room and our stay, and the staff was mostly helpful, but there is nothing great or fantastic about this hotel other than its very good location right near the Pile Gate. Look around Dubrovnik for other accommodations - we saw plenty of Sobes advertised within the old city that surely cost about as much as Miro Studio apartments.

Room Tip: No matter what you do, there is no guarantee of the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butterflyservices, Manager at The MirO Studio Apartments, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Mr Sjkatlaw,

First of all thank you very much for your time writing your impressions about your stay at MirO studio Apartments.

We are very sorry to know that we have not been able to achieve your expectations and mostly based because we could not accommodate you in a sea view unit that you requested. There are 7 units in total with only one unit that has a sea view. The 7 units are all similar in term of space, amenities and décor as the pictures and video show.There is no extra charge for the sea view unit and when we get a specific request we always do our best according availabilities. We never confirm it and if guests make a reservation only for the sea view, we are honest and prefer not to accept the reservation as having guests disappointed once here. We wish we could accommodate every single traveller who requests the sea view.

All reviews on TA and other partner’s websites are based on personal traveller’s experience. Some guests do enjoy the lowest floor as there are few stairs which is also a benefit when you know that Dubrovnik is hilly and with lots of stairs. Most of our guests enjoy the location, the facilities, the daily maid service and our hospitality.

You have mentioned that some aspects of the studio needed attention regarding the drain/maintenance; we hope you have contacted us during your stay to transmit them your impressions as it is at this moment when we can take the proper measures. As every winter, refreshement painting/teppish changes etc is planned to keep on the level of standard.

Once again thank you very much for your time.

In spite of your review we really hope to have the chance to welcome you again at MirO Studio Apartments and that we will make sure you have a great time.

Kindest regards,
Isabelle and Viktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
141
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The apartment was first class in every way. It was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Best of all, it was 1 minute walk to the old city walls. Our view from room 6 was lovely but we had a look in one of the ground floor apartments and, if anything, it was even nicer than ours. Vicktor was most helpful in every way, guiding us to great restaurants and informing us of the best places to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilsyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a great stay in the apartment - room no 5. Unfortunately the room doesn't have the sea view but with the window open the sound of waves crashing nearby is very relaxing. The main plus point is the excellent location very close to the main bus stop, tourist information office, cafes, mini supermarket and ideal for quick access to the walled city. You get all the benefits without the crowds and noise within the city walls. The apartment is spotlessly clean with all the facilities you need and Vicktor is very approachable if you need assistance. The only very minor picky criticism is that the cheap bathroom towels are thin and a bit ragged. Also the hairdryer is one of those tiny travel type and not much use if you have long hair and in a hurry. But aside from these insignificant issues, I cannot recommend the apartment highly enough.

Room Tip: There's no need to book a taxi from the airport as the shuttle bus drops you off just round the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We loved staying within the old city walls of Dubrovnik at la Dolce Vita apartment.
Every morning there was a small market in the little square in front of the apartment that we used to buy fresh cheeses and fruit for breakfast. The apartment itself is extremely comfortable and light with every facility you need. The noise at night from the cafes below wasn't a big deal for us, and was finished by late evening. I agree with a previous review said says it is a small trade off for staying in the old town. The hosts Viktor and Isabelle went out of their way to help us and suggest great day trips to islands close by.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Every aspect of MirO studio apartments is superb. The central location is ideal for sightseeing and near to amenities yet still very quiet and peaceful. The rooms are well furnished with cooking, tv, DVD and in room wi-fi facilities making it a perfect base from home. We made prior arrangements with the owners, Isabelle and Viktor, for a driver to collect us from the airport. This was arranged making transfers easy particularly as we were travelling with a young child. Viktor was also able to recommend us on various sites and restaurants to visit. I would highly recommend MirO studio apartments to anybody considering a visit to Dubrovnik.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have spent a couple of days in October 2013 in the apartment located on the 2nd floor. Victor, who manages the apartment, was a very good, friendly and helpful host. The apartment itself was of a very high standard (the highest we have seen during our 10 day trip through Croatia). The entire place has recently been renovated, everything works well and is in a very good condition.

Beds are very comfortable, bathrooms are top notch, the kitchen works well, many kitchen items are provided. Besides air condition and free WiFi, there is also TV + cable and a computer that an be used by guests. Also, they provided a washing machine and dryer, which was very helpful to us. To sum up: A charming apartment, that is perfectly located to explore the city's old town! Many restaurants and bars only a couple of meters away!

We would totally stay in this apartment again, although we would (and every other future visitor should) bare in mind: The good thing about the location is the proximity to everything you might want to visit in the old town. The trade off: It is quite noisy! Restaurants are open up to late at night and after the last guest has gone, they lock up all tables and seats on the patio. Same thing in the morning when they restart their business very early as they also serve breakfeast. In addition, there are dozens of guided tours that pass in front of the building as early as 8 o'clock in the morning, some groups have guides with microphone and speakers that you can even hear when all windows are closed. Last but not least, the nearby church rings its bells several times a day and also very early in the morning. All this did bother us only slightly, but if you are a light sleeper or plan to quietly sleep in, you might want to consider staying somewhere else - in this case outside the old town as this is not a particular problem of MirO Apartments but any accomodation in the old town. We have only been there in October, so almost at the end of the off-seasons. This is why we would guess that it's even worse in summer, when the number of tourist will be at least triple.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Most people state that the apartments are just outside of the Pile Gate, but they also have an apartment within the Old City overlooking a busy square which is where we stayed. I was initially upset that we were mislead since all the maps and reviews and pics are of a sea view outside of the city, but the apartment we stayed worked out well. Victor arranged for a driver to pick us up late at the airport for less than a cab and met us at the gate to the Old Town to walk us to the apartment since it's car free. The apartments are all newly remodeled in Ikea so they look nice and modern. The room is over a very loud busy square, but when the windows are shut it's very quiet. Victor went over everything we needed and then some in the apartment before he left which was appreciated. My biggest complaint was the showers. The master had no shower curtain and faced directly out of the tub so you had to hold the nozzle and sit down in the tub or spray water all over the bathroom. The other shower had a door, but it leaked badly and sprayed over the top when not held in place. The other hiccup we had was that we arranged to have the driver take us to the airport when we left and Victor was going to meet us beforehand. After 20 min of waiting luckily we checked our email and saw that he couldn't meet us, but the driver would be at the gate. After walking around and waiting for the driver outside another 20 min we had to take a taxi as it was getting very close to us missing our flight. All things aside, I would definitely recommend these apartments and stay here if I came back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The MirO Studio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MirO Studio Apartments

Address: Svetoga Durda 16, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The MirO Studio Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MirO Studio Apartment is comprised of 7 seven stylish, newly renovated and furnished modern studio apartments with the daily maid service. Each studio is outfitted with all mod-cons (including free wi-fi internet, entertainment system, AC, equipped kitchen, and heated bathroom floors). The apartments are located 20 meters from the sea in a residential neighborhood right next to the main entrance to Old Town Dubrovnik ('Pile Gate'). Each apartment has a great city view. Please note, only Apartment #6 has a sea views but is often fully booked. All major tourist attractions, restaurants, bars, and typical cafes nearby. MirO studio apartements are well suited for both single travelers and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The MirO Studio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Miro Studio Apartments Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The MirO Studio Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.