We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moretic Zaton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Moretic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Moretic to your Saves list
Villa Moretic
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Mohovo 16 | Zaton, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 156 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Bydgoszcz, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Moretic Zaton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just returned from Croatian Zaton, where we stayed at Villa and Apartments Moretic.
Owners of villa & apartments turned to be very hospitable, collected us from Dubrovnik Airport, took care about our comfort and relax. We were served home made products and local fruit. Villa and Apartments are located approx. 12 km north of Dubrovnik, overviewing Zaton Bay. We spent most of time on Wielki Zali Beach - 4km north. Adriatic Sea appeared to be very clean. I recomend daily excursion to Montenegro Herzog Novi (60km south/ 1,5hour driving, passsports needed for border crossing and green car insurance of a car). Bosnian resort Neum - waste of time. As to Dubrovnik - better go there after 5pm/ in the evening where most sea cruisers are heading for next destinations, thus avoiding crowds of tourists

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Steinkjer, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Went here with my family, mum, dad, girlfriend, daughter, sister and brother in law. The best holiday ever with the family. Grocery store within a couple of hundred meters from the villa. Nice quiet restaurants nearby and just a 15 min drive from Dubrovnik and everything that comes with that great city. The host was great and very helpful, and the facilities were perfect for dining in and having a day by the jacuzzi. Thanks :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was our first visit to Croatia and we thank our lucky stars we booked to stay at Villa Moretic. The hosts were very friendly, and helpful, they collected us from the airport, offered us lifts into Dubrovnik and booked tickets for our excursions. The apartments are comfortable and clean and our view of the bay from the 'Rose' room balcony was super. There is an outdoor cooking area with Jacuzzi and a brick built BBQ, a seating area and an area for relaxation. Zaton is peaceful and picturesque, the sea is crystal clear, safe for swimming and the food in the local restaurant was excellent. Local transport runs on time both by bus and ferry boat and the prices are reasonable. There are plenty of excursions available if you like sight seeing and Dubrovnik Old City has a charm all of its own. Zaton is 7km from Dubrovnik, close enough to visit easily but far enough away to escape the tourism hussle and bussle. An ideal location with excellent hosts, great rooms and super views made our holiday 'Perfect', we would definately visit again and would recommend Villa Moretic as a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malagas
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed here and we have found the friendliest hosts, comfortable accommodation and views to die for, all at very reasonable prices. We have also found that the hosts do not rest on their laurels and have made vast improvements over the past few years. A truly great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

I have recently stayed at the Villa Moretic Apartments on Zaton Bay in Dubrovnik for two weeks. This is the first time my new husband and I have ever rented an apartment as opposed to a hotel. I would consider both of us at this point quite well versed travellers.

We chose the largest apartment, the luxury suite. There are two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen, a living room, and a dining room. There is a terrace opening up from the master bedroom overlooking the picturesque Zaton Bay, and a sheltered patio set directly behind the apartment. There is also a clothes washer in one of the bathrooms. As compared to the general standards in North America, (we are from Toronto), the standard of cleanliness within the apartment is very good.

My spouse and I are avid cookers, and the kitchen was relatively well equipped. I am thankful that I brought my own knife set, and dried spices to aid us, as many of them were not available at the supermarket. Cooking utensils and tableware are sufficient. There is a four burner gas stove with an oven that has convection settings.

There is a small supermarket that sells mostly everything you need just about a two minute walk down the street. They were open 6 days a week until 9 pm. Produce, meat, bread, wine, alchohol and toiletries are available.

The Apartment is a 15 minute drive away from Dubrovnik's Old City. There are a few quiet beaches and restaurants very close, that are away from the hussle of downtown.
The villa owner, Irena was very helpful in advising us to save money and travel wisely.

Upon arrivng the first day, both my husband and I fell asleep (after 12+ hours of travelling) and did not wake up until late in the evening. We asked the Moretics if there was any way to get food at this time of night, and before sending us out to a restaurant they provided us with enough goodies to make a dinner and dessert, free of charge. I was definitely not expecting that.

Irena was kind enough to lend us her GPS when we didn't have one, and treated us like we were her family. They even invited us for a family fish dinner when we were unable to purchase fresh fish because of rainy weather. The Moretics reside on the main flat of the house. You may hear the sound of little children going about their daily antics, but it was not disturbing at all to us. Both children are really quite endearing.

There is Wi-Fi, and satellite TV, but only a few Croatian channels. Who watches tv on vacation anyways? Irena also coerced her handsome younger brother to escort us to places around town and on a few day trips. They designed road trips so they would be easy and fulfilling. For FREE. It truely sealed the deal on experiencing Croatia in a way that most tourists never will, from the perspective of locals.

The city of Dubrovnik has an appeal like no other. There is no Hip Hop or Rock music on the radio, just EZ Oldies. There is NO fast food, just fine wine, fresh cheese, and smoked Dalmatien ham. There is a very small local population, and yes, everyone really knows everyone else.

My husband and I are only 24. I run my own bridal salon, and my husband is nearly finished his PhD. We are an interacial couple that planned two weddings in one weekend with over 350 guests at each, while still working on our careers in the largest city in Canada. We desperately needed a sense of deep relaxation and relief that even I thought would be impossible to find.

But we found it, in Croatia. Dubrovnik, Irena, the Moretics, their family, and the apartment, delivered it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Moretic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Moretic

Address: Mohovo 16 | Zaton, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Moretic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Moretic is beautiful stone house in very private location above the pretty village, quiet bay of Zaton, offering magnificent view on crystal sea and lovely bay of Zaton. Villa offers you three apartments of different sizes ( 10 sleeps in total), but the property can easily be rented as a whole unit. The spacious interiors are pleasant, equipped with furniture and the idyllic location adds to the overall feeling of tranquility of the villa. Two apartment has its own terrace with table and chairs so you can enjoy summer evenings with truly spectacular view on Zaton Bay,and behind villa is our Longue pool terrace,also perfect if you are in a larger group but want a bit more privacy. The Longue pool terrace it's sunbathing terrace dominate the villa's outdoors and will certainly be a place you will spend a lots of your holidays should you choose to stay here! Laying on a sun lounger or bubbling away in the Jacuzzi area - you cannot fail to relax here... Summer kitchen with dining area and stone BBQ with equipment is neatly set next to the pool. The villa is also only 10 minutes drive from the ancient walled city of Dubrovnik so if you get bored of lounging around the pool or bathing in the sea and having BBQ then you can sight see, shop or eat in the stunning Old Town or take a trip to one of the nearby islands. Zaton bay is located approximately 8 km north-west from Dubrovnik and it is an ideal place for a pleasant holiday, from where you can easily reach the city and discover its architectural jewels. Many wealthy families from Dubrovnik used to have their villas here. This area offers nice beaches well protected from the winds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Villa Moretic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Moretic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.