We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kazbek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Kazbek to your Saves list
Hotel Kazbek
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights . A perfect holiday. The only downside was that few guests took advantage of the excellent restaurant so there was a lack of atmosphere for the evening meal.. I was concerned I would not be able to swim in the sea but found an excellent location within easy walking distance

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear George G,

Thank you for staying with us at the Kazbek and for your kind review.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards from the Kazbek team,

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    41
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
145
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a great location across a small road from the harbor. It was easy access to/fro old Dubrovnik, we used the bus system which was very convenient. Our room was quite large and had a view of the harbor. The breakfasts were wonderful with so many options. A special "shout out" to Deni, one of the front desk managers, for her great recommendations, knowledge and arranging a private boat rental with skipper for the day which we enjoyed immensely. We highly recommend Kazbek and will definitely return!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear MeadowLG,

We are so glad that your choice was an excellent one.
Thank you indeed for your most complimentary review and for the special "shout out" for our colleague Deni. She was thrilled to see her name here!

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We loved our stay at this hotel, the rooms were large, quite and comfortable, the staff are very helpful with out being over the top. The location of the hotel is well placed overlooking the the Bay of Gruz, and just $10 - $15 dollar cab ride to the old city, which is great as the hotel provides a loverly oasis from the hectic pace of old Dubrovnik. We had both breakfast and dinner at the hotel and found the meals to be top class, an easy recommendation.

Room Tip: If you are really tall (greater than 6 ft) rooms on the 2 floor have slightly low ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear John B,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It makes us all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I spent a total 7 nights here. I orignally wanted to stay in their sister apartment in old town but it was sold out. So the management recommended us to stay at Hotel Kazbek instead. I was concerned with the location but I was so glad to choose to stay here. It is a short bus ride to old town, we went there for couple nights and came back at around 10pm. No issue at all and feel very safe. The restaurants nearby are nice and we think they are better than the restaurants in the old town.

The service is great in this hotel. They provided you a menu for the breakfast rather than a buffet and the food is excellent. The front desk gave us great suggestion for tours, helped us to rent a car and answered any questions we had. The pool is beautiful and not too busy since they only have 12 rooms in this hotel.

I want to give a special shout out to Jenny at reception. She was fantantisc, patience and full of knowldege. She gave us a lot of good information. My husband I love to talk to her and learned about the Croatian history and culture. I think Kazbek Hotel is very lucky to have an employee like her.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear jmpc2010,

And we are so glad you stayed with us. Thank you for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor users and for your compliments for Jenny. That's so true - we are so lucky to have her in our team.

Warm regards from all of us at the Kazbek.

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was my 2nd holiday as a widow travelling with my 14 year old son. Having spent a week in a much larger hotel earlier in the year I chose Kazbek based on the good reviews and because it was much smaller.
I must admit to having reservations that it would be populated by older couples or honeymoon couples without kids but was pleasantly surprised to find that there was a good mix whilst I was there.
I liked the fact that it is very understated elegance not showy or glitzy and the hotel, grounds and all the rooms/bathrooms/public areas are immaculate.
The staff were all wonderful and by day 3 they remembered our breakfast order which, sad to say, never changed!
Each day by the time we'd finished breakfast the room service staff had been in to make up the beds and changed the towels and we never saw them until the final day - a bit like the borrowers!
I have only one small area which I feel could be improved/addressed and that is there are 3 bars in the hotel but the only one manned whilst we were there was the main restaurant bar. There is a beautiful upstairs terrace where I liked to sit at night with a glass or two of wine and I felt a little awkward pressing a buzzer for service plus it would be nice to create a focal area for guests - maybe this would not be popular with all guests but I felt a little lonely a would have welcomed a little adult conversation with fellow guests or staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear AlisonCheshireUK,

Thank you so much for your kind review - it is truly appreciated.

We all particularly loved how you described us: "...understated elegance not showy or glitzy..." Thank you indeed, we all agreed that you described us perfectly.

We noted as well your opinion about our upper terrace and we will certainly take it into consideration.

Thank you again for rewarding us with 5 stars and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


With kind regards,

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I just spent 5 nights at the Hotel Kazbek in Dubrovnik. It was perfect in every way.....very friendly and helpful staff, a large well appointed room, and excellent dining. We have no complaints and only praise. The building was once a palatial villa, fronting thr harbor, so the hotel is small and very charming.
During our visit, the staff made helpful suggestions, arranged several excursions and outings for us, made dining reservations, even hand carried our laundry to the cleaners to insure that it would be done and returned prior to our departure! In all, a very delightful stay and a hotel we would recommend without reservation.
Breakfast is served al fresco, as is dinner, weather permitting, cocktails on an upper terrace with a great view of the harbor. Dubrovnik is crowded with tourists, but this hotel is an oasis of calm. At first we thought its location, 3 km from the old city, would be a disadvantage, but it is a blessing and access to Old Town is easy by taxi or bus.
Hotel Kazbek is rated a 5 star hotel and lives up to this rating in every regard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Lavinia B,

Thank you for your most complimentary review. We love what we do and are truly motivated when lovely guests like yourself write such nice things about us.
Your mention of our location is specially appreciated. It really looks that being located just a little bit outside the Old City is blessing as you said, not disadvantage at all. Thank you indeed again for mentioning it.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Warm regards,

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just come back from a truely delightful stay at the Kazbek. The hotel is small (only 12 rooms), but of a very good, five star standard. Secluded pool and sunbathing area was well used but not at all crowded. The bedrooms and public areas all decorated and presented to an excellent level. The restaurant provided very good quality food. Only criticism - staff were all very attentive, helpful and friendly, however service levels generally in respect of responsiveness in Dubrovnik could be improved. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Hazel S,

Many thanks to you for staying with us at the Kazbek hotel and for your very good review. It makes us all so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us.
Hope you will return soon for another great holiday.

Regards,

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kazbek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kazbek

Address: Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kazbek 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kazbek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazbek Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kazbek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.