We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reputation on TA exceeds the quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kazbek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kazbek to your Saves list
Hotel Kazbek
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book DIRECT for BEST deal
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reputation on TA exceeds the quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Based on the superb reviews, my husband and I decided to choose Kazbek during our stay in Dubrovnik.
What a vaist of money.
Check in was a twenty minutes torture, although we were the only arriving guests in the hotel at that moment. The young recepcionist was not familiar with his PC, did not know how to proceed with required actions on his computer. After twenty minutes of waiting, we told him to give us our room key and to finalize the procedure without us. He started to shout on us and the complete atmosphere was terrible.
Later, at dinner, we had to wait 15 minutes for somobody to come and offer something to drink or eat. The fish was overcooked and the shells were old and had a very bed smell.
The hotel has no beach of its own, although when booking, we were told there was a private hotel beach for the hotel guests. On the spot of the place when we complained about this, they told us it was a missunderstanding. Disgrace.
Everthing else was of the average quality. There are better hotels in Dubrovnik, so go somewhere else and enjoy this beautifull city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Charlotte Ebi O,

Thank you for your review although it is not very good.
I am sorry your stay with us was a waste of money, but I believe we should also say our side of the story:
SHELLS: you mentioned they were old and had a bad smell, but we absolutely DON'T HAVE shells on our menu so there is no a chance you could order or eat them.
STAFF: our staff is our main asset and just like it is visible from other reviews, they are all very polite, professional and knowledgeable. We are all in the hospitality industry which highly depends on the human factor and some mistakes are possible, but we simply can not accept that any member of our staff shouted at our guests. Furthermore I personally spent hours and hours inspecting the surveillance cameras from our reception and I couldn't detect that any of check ins lasted as long as you mentioned and it also didn't show any unnatural gestures of our colleagues at the reception during communication with our guests.
BEACH: I guarantee that none of us ever said that we have a private beach because it is not in our interest to spread around the misleading information.

We thank you again for your opinion and we are very sorry about your dissatisfaction with your stay at the Kazbek hotel.

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    41
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
150
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Every thing was perfect, the location just outside the busy part of town, the service, the rooms, the food. Perfectly managed and wish we could stay longer. Great pool and lounge area and really nice people. Hope we can return one day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear PMRIZZO,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review. You have made us all very proud to be the members of the wonderful Kazbek team.
We do hope to see you again soon.

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fantastic hotel for a fantastic weekend in Dubrovnik.
Wonderful pool, room and facilities. Fantastic terrace, lots of soul in every area of the hotel. Very friendly staff. Will go back if I can! Great location, walking distance to loads of restaurant, short bus ride away from Old Town.

Room Tip: All rooms good as only 12 + 1 suite. Good, quiet location in Dubrovnik.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
And what a fantastic review! Dear 2Bigfeet, we were truly touched by your kind words and we thank you indeed for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor users.

The whole Kazbek team sincerely hopes to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,
Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

- oasis of calm in the city
- great pool & generally elegant location
- bus stop nearby has regular buses to the old town & they take less than 10 minutes
- can be a bit soulless: the restaurant & bar were empty in the evening when we were there
- breakfast is great
- terrace at the from has a lovely view over the marina
- the staff were a little hard to get hold of: the philosophy is apparently that they want to leave you in peace, so they have these buttons to press but none of them seemed to work, so every time we needed something as simple as water we had to search around the hotel trying to find somebody.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear rtw123456789,

WOW, what a great title of your review! Thank you so much for it and thank you as well for sharing your impressions with Tripadvisor users. We are indeed very pleased to hear so many positive details about your recent stay at the Kazbek hotel.
We deeply apologize if you felt our staff were a little hard to get hold of. Just like you stated in your review, in order to secure the maximum privacy for our guests, we have beepers on our pool area and terrace so that our guests can contact our staff in any moment. Normally they function flawlessly and we do test them on a regular basis so we are indeed very sorry if you experienced the problems with it. In any case we will monitor the functionality of the beepers even more carefully in order to provide the best possible service to our guests.
Thank you again for your comments and remarks and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just returned from a week's stay at the Hotel Kazbek. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there, the hotel is done beautifully, is in a nice quiet spot and as it is small feels very relaxing. The pool is beautiful and a lovely place to spend the day. The breakfasts were excellent and the staff helpful and friendly. It is a little distance from the old town itself but an easy walk or there are buses and taxis. There are also lots of nice restaurants nearby which are substantially better value than in the old town. Definitely highly recommend this hotel and hopefully we will make it back again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dar MPRK,

And we hope as well you will return soon for another great stay at the Kazbek.
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and warm regards from Dubrovnik.

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Kazbeck based on reviews on TripAdvisor. It was also our first visit to Crotia and we were not disappointed. The Kazbeck is a great boutique hotel with fantastic facilities and conveniently situated close to the Old City and surprisingly quiet beaches. The staff were more than helpful, the food was excellent. Our only complaint was that the pool far too hot at 96 degrees Fahrenheit particularly when it was the same at the air temperature!!! This hotel is definitely worth putting on your list of places to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Mike S,

And how wonderful is to hear that we managed to fulfill your expectations. Thank you so much, we are all indeed very happy that you had an amazing holiday at our Kazbek hotel.
Oh yes, it was really extremely hot on some days in June and although the heating at our pool was switched off it still felt quite warm. We apologize about it.
Thank you again for your excellent review and recommendations.

Regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This beautifully renovated structure has all the creature comforts, including a beautiful pool area. It is located out of the mainstream but close to buses that can take you to the old town or elsewhere. The advantage is that you are across the street from the harbor with views of the boats and cruise ships.

Perhaps the best feature of this hotel is the wonderful staff. Not only were they very helpful during our stay, but mailed us back to the US a few clothing items my wife left behind. I offered reimbursement for their trouble but they declined.

We ate one night in the lovely gourmet restaurant and the food was wonderful. The only surprise was how empty it was, but perhaps the pricing kept some away. But the food and service were a good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear lbearpal,

Thank you for your very kind review and for mentioning so many positive details about our hotel and especially about our staff. The reviews like yours are a real source of motivation for all of us.

With kind regards,

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kazbek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kazbek

Address: Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kazbek 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique setting with only 12 superior and deluxe bedrooms and 1 suite, the Kazbek Hotel is a 'home from home' for many discerning Dubrovnik visitors looking for a high degree of privacy and modern facilities in a historical ambience. The Kazbek is situated in Gruz bay only 10 min of drive from UNESCO protected Dubrovnik Old City. The former residence of 16th-century nobility now protected as a cultural monument is fully renovated to the highest standards and has regained its original beauty and function. Refined and graceful rooms all individually designed, perfectly combine classical style with 21st century amenities and comfort. Each single piece of furniture has been handmade to add to the historical experience. You will love breakfasting on the beautiful courtyard terrace, sunbathing and relaxing at the private pool area. The rich and varied gastronomic cultures of Croatia can be tasted at the restaurant, where only the freshest and locally produced ingredients are used. The Kazbek Hotel features 3 elegant dining and cocktail venues. The main restaurant has a courtyard terrace and a terrace overlooking the lively Gruz bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kazbek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazbek Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kazbek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.