We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-class hotel and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kazbek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kazbek to your Saves list
Hotel Kazbek
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“First-class hotel and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent five nights in Dubrovnik in May 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We chose the Hotel Kazbek based in Trip Advisor comments are were not disappointed. Arrived later than expected due to flight delays and warmly welcomed. Our room was on the second floor, spacious and well appointed with nice touches to make the most of the historic building. Breakfast was extensive and served on the terrace on warm days. The hotel is a 40-minute walk to the Old City or a 10-minuted bus trip. We loved Dubrovnik and its people, so friendly and helpful. Touring the walls is a must-do, and we made a boat trip to Lokrum island (not too interesting) and bus/boat trip to Cavtat, a lovely small town. We used the pool after our day days. Ate dinner one evening in the hotel which was well prepared and served. Got good advice at the front desk on restaurants for other evenings (as well as on transportation). Overall, a fine hotel that makes an ideal base for seeing this lovely city and area.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have smaller windows than the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear wanderingman09,

We are happy to hear that we managed to fulfill your expectations based on other Tripadvisor comments.
Thank you indeed for sharing your experience and mentioning so many positive details about our hotel and our region.

I sincerely hope that you will return to the Kazbek hotel and we all very much look forward to welcome you back.

Warm regards from the whole Kazbek team,

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    41
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
147
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a delightful small hotel providing privacy and a peaceful environment. The staff are charming and helpful. It is spotlessly clean and well appointed. The breakfasts are delicious. Dubrovnik is a very popular and busy town and this hotel provides a welcome retreat. The only reason that I have not given it full marks is that we made the mistake of assuming a "superior room" would be just that. However we were on the attic floor and had only a tiny window which one could not see out of without getting on the steps provided! If we craned our necks we could see the tree tops. It did feel a bit like a prison! One does not go all the way to the Adriatic to be in a room like that. So beware of booking the top floor. Fortunately the weather was on the whole good and the pool and pool area delightful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Joy070,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write a review following your experience.
We were pleased to read that you were happy with you stay and thank you for your lovely comments with regards to our staff, cleanliness, breakfast, pool. That's so true - Dubrovnik, especially its Old Town can be very busy these days so we love to hear from our guests that our Kazbek hotel provides privacy and a peaceful environment.

I must admit we were all pretty shocked with your comments about our second floor rooms. I believe they were not to your taste, but I ensure you and all our potential guests that our second floor rooms are as spacious as those on the first floor. The amenities and style are also of the same standard. Most of our guests would agree that they are specially cozy and romantic due to sloping ceiling and wooden beams. Furthermore most of these rooms have spacious bathrooms with both, bath and shower.
Knowing that our building dates back to 16th century and that is protected as a zero category monument, it is not to expect that, just like modern style and recently built hotels on the Adriatic, will offer spectacular views. We don't promote our little hotel this way, we prefer to stress out the level of privacy we provide, intimacy, comfort, modern facilities, personalized service and just like you said above - a peaceful environment. We believe these are our great advantages and we are so grateful that our guests recognize it.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kazbek in the near future.

Warm regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe Southampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My daughter and I had a perfect four day break here. Where to start? Wonderful breakfasts, comfortable room, delightful swimming pool, a ideal location and such helpful, friendly staff. We enjoyed being out of the town in this peaceful and picturesque spot. The breakfast area in the old court yard is really idyllic, with a lovely view of the water through the old gateway. We used to walk into the old town each day - 2.2 miles each way, which we found just fine (need trainers).
Many thanks to the staff for a great holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear RosienB,

Many thanks to you for being our guests and for your fabulous review. It makes us all so happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Hope you will return soon for another great holiday.

Regards,

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here. What a great choice!

The overall cleanliness is exceptional. The rooms are great with all the things you expect from a 5 star hotel - and some. The pool area is very quiet and relaxing with the pool itself being delightful.

The breakfast is extensive and fresh.

Not all of the bar areas are staffed so on ocassion you do have to wait to have a drinks order taken but it does mean you are not disturbed unless you want to be.

It is located a bus ride or 40 minute walk from the old town but this is what we wanted in order to get away from the cruise ship crowds.

We are really pleased we went with previous trip advsior reviews and chose here for our honeymoon - we feel this is the best hotel in which we have stayed. Many thanks to the team at Kazbek - we look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear CH1982,

Congratulations on your wedding and thank you indeed for choosing to stay at Kazbek for your honeymoon and for your outstanding rating.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again. Maybe for your first wedding anniversary?


Warm regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a delightful hotel! Superb staff, all of whom contributed to making our stay a very happy one.
Lovely location once you step across the threshhold...there is an immediate feeling of tranquility.
Only a short bus ride from the town.
The food in the restaurant was beautifully presented and tasted great!
We wish you every success, you deserve it and we hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear WarwickLeamingtonian,

WOW! I can't stop reading your review.
Thank you so much for your support and we hope you will choose to return soon and enjoy another great stay.

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Hotel Kazbek was the first hotel we stayed in on a two week trip to Central/Eastern Europe. It was one of the nicest, especially for the reasonable price in a five star hotel. The staff was extremely helpful, and the room was lovely. The location is excellent- in a quiet part of town, with restaurants nearby and walking distance to the old city. Make sure you have breakfast, as it was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear A M,

Thank you for your most complimentary review.
We are pleased to hear that you had the nice start of your 2 week CentralEastern Europe trip here in Kazbek. Hope the rest of your tour was enjoyable as well.

Kind regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We recently completed a 2 week trip focused on the Adriatic countries. This was my absolute favorite hotel of the trip. The location was on the water, but away from the old town. The view from the 2nd floor terrace area was fantastic. Breakfast was the best we had anywhere. Outside tables, with waiter service and order anything you wanted.....all included in the price. One of the days, the hotel arranged a private boat rental for us that picked us up at the hotel and dropped us in the old town after a 3 hour tour of several islands. I'm not sure I would call it a castle (maybe a palace), but it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Jack D,

Thank you very much indeed for such positive review after your recent stay at our Kazbek hotel.
How wonderful to hear that we were the favorite hotel of your 2 weeks Adriatic trip.
We hope you will visit us again.

Warm regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kazbek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kazbek

Address: Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kazbek 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kazbek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazbek Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kazbek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.