We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kazbek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kazbek to your Saves list
Hotel Kazbek
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I picked this hotel because of the good reports on Tripadvisor and I am very glad that I did. My husband and I stayed for Easter weekend and I can't praise the Kazbek more. The location is great beside the harbour and 10 mins. by bus from the old city. The hotel is lovely, the staff excellent, the rooms very comfortable and the breakfast top quality. It was very quiet as they had just opened for the season but we found it very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear IrelandJill,

How wonderful and motivating to start the new season with such lovely review!
We sincerely appreciate the time you spent reviewing your recent stay and we hope we will have a chance to welcome you again at our Kazbek hotel.

Warm regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    41
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
147
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Lovely little boutique hotel in harbor area of the city offering great views along with peace and quiet but only 30 minutes walk to the bustling old town. Comfortable rooms, good breakfast and a great pool area. Service from the front of house team was excellent but could be slow in the restaurant and the small terrace bar area was totally unattended throughout our stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Jen W,
thank you very much for your nice review.
We are very happy that you liked our rooms, pool area, breakfast... Thank you very much for your suggestion about service in the restaurant and at the small terrace bar area. We appreciate the comments of our guests and we will do our best to improve our service in that area.

We hape that you will have an opportunity to visit us once again.

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our family stayed one week in this beautiful boutique hotel... with a distinctive "private home" flair, which we enjoyed so much ! Everything was perfect : elegantly furbished and yet very modern rooms, fantastic breakfast until 11 am (which is a must !) with an extensive choice of dishes, intimate restaurant proposing local specialties, very attentive staff, beautiful pool area (and also a sauna available for free)... perfect to wind down in a peaceful atmosphere away from the crowded hotel complexes. The quiet location on the waterfront was also fantastic : our boys (8 and 11) could fish whenever they fancied, a beautiful walking trail runs around Lapad peninsula and covers some nice beaches, bus station 1 min. away, and boat excursions starting right in front of the hotel. We just loved our stay and will be back very soon !

Room Tip: The hotel is small and all rooms are beautiful. It's a quiet location so no disturbance observed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Funky07,

A big thank you for taking the time to post a review which is is so beautifully written! How wonderful to know that you very much enjoyed your recent stay at our Kazbek hotel!
It was a great pleasure to have you staying with us and we sicerely hope you will return to us in the near future.
Warm regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Wonderful location, bus ride or half hour walk from old town. Deluxe room highly recommend, food mouthwatering and some playful croatian wines. Helpful staff, quiet ambience. A perfect break. We were so lucky with the weather. Make sure you visit The Bhuza to watch the sun go down in the old town, and walk the wall!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Deborah C,

Thank you for your lovely review and for all of the great information you've given to other travelers. I am delighted that we were able to create an excellent travel experience for you and hope that you will return for another great stay soon.


Warm regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Sals and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A great boutique hotel on the waterfront. The room we had was on the small size but very comfortable and clean with a nice modern bathroom. The pool area and changing rooms are great. The breakfast was very good with an extensive menu- available till 11am! All the staff were very helpful my only slight criticism was that service could be a little slow at times. There appears to be a great terrace bar overlooking the water but it wasn't open when we were there which was a shame as it would be a lovely spot for a pre or post dinner drink.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear LondonGipsy,

It was very nice of you to make such kind comments about your recent stay with us - very much appreciated.
We look forward to having a pleasure of welcoming you back.

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Just back from 8 days at Hotel Kazbek and I would have to say its one of the best if not the best hotel I've stayed in. We arrived late at night but were welcomed at airport by a driver from the hotel. Check in was swift and our room was in a perfect spot.
A nice touch was wine,fruit and water in our room.
Breakfast was basically anything you wanted, fresh fruit, juice, omelettes and freshly baked bread and croissants to die for. The waitress took your order without writing it down and always got it right! We sat outside in the courtyard with a view of the port and there was always a nice atmosphere.
The area was ideal for access to local restaurants and bars and only 15 minutes in a bus to the old town.
We ate dinner in the hotel twice and it was also a pleasant experience with veggie options and good service. The pool area was clean and you got a buzzer to summon the bar staff if you wanted a drink.
When we were leaving, the manageress gave me a print of the hotel as a souvenir to take home which was a nice touch. The staff always gave you the impression that they were happy to work there and we're always smiling. ( even when the lady from San Diego who was an absolute mare, was haranging them).
The city of Dubrovnik is a great place full of history and we went up the cable car to the museum of the Homeland war. This was very moving and it's hard to appreciate that this city was bombed to destruction only 20 years ago.
A great city, a great hotel and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear StirlingGulliver,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor, I am truly touched by your comments and delighted to know that you consider us as one of the best hotels you've stayed in. How wonderful to hear this!
We can't wait to welcome you back!

Best regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Excellent location - It is a 5 minute easy drive to park by the old city of Dubrovnik. The hotel is on a harbor and is a 5-10 minute slow walk to Lapad beach which is a lovely area to hang out, watch the sunset or swim in the ocean.

The staff were wonderful and were super helpful. Nice rooms, very quiet, good WIFI and parking. The parking is limited so you need to reserve in advance. There is no gym and the pool was too cold to swim in.

Breakfast was OK but not great. You order off a menu. Service was uneven, bad one day, great the next. For example you must explicitly ask for fresh squeezed orange juice or you will get the canned variety.

Overall, we thought it was quite a nice place but a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: Car parking is limited so you need to reserve ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear travelpal32489,

Thank you for your kind review and for all of the great information you've given to other travelers. Your lovely words about our location, staff and rooms are very much appreciated.
So sorry to hear that the service was uneven - please rest assured that we will deal with this. Sometimes a reminder is necessary! In regards to the orange juice - we actually serve bottled one of a World famous producer, but if our guests ask for a squeezed one we are happy to serve it as well.
I sincerely hope that you will return to the Kazbek hotel and we all very much look forward to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kazbek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kazbek

Address: Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kazbek 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kazbek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazbek Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kazbek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.