We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kazbek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kazbek to your Saves list
Hotel Kazbek
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Wonderful location, bus ride or half hour walk from old town. Deluxe room highly recommend, food mouthwatering and some playful croatian wines. Helpful staff, quiet ambience. A perfect break. We were so lucky with the weather. Make sure you visit The Bhuza to watch the sun go down in the old town, and walk the wall!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Deborah C,

Thank you for your lovely review and for all of the great information you've given to other travelers. I am delighted that we were able to create an excellent travel experience for you and hope that you will return for another great stay soon.


Warm regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Sals and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    41
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
147
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A great boutique hotel on the waterfront. The room we had was on the small size but very comfortable and clean with a nice modern bathroom. The pool area and changing rooms are great. The breakfast was very good with an extensive menu- available till 11am! All the staff were very helpful my only slight criticism was that service could be a little slow at times. There appears to be a great terrace bar overlooking the water but it wasn't open when we were there which was a shame as it would be a lovely spot for a pre or post dinner drink.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear LondonGipsy,

It was very nice of you to make such kind comments about your recent stay with us - very much appreciated.
We look forward to having a pleasure of welcoming you back.

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Just back from 8 days at Hotel Kazbek and I would have to say its one of the best if not the best hotel I've stayed in. We arrived late at night but were welcomed at airport by a driver from the hotel. Check in was swift and our room was in a perfect spot.
A nice touch was wine,fruit and water in our room.
Breakfast was basically anything you wanted, fresh fruit, juice, omelettes and freshly baked bread and croissants to die for. The waitress took your order without writing it down and always got it right! We sat outside in the courtyard with a view of the port and there was always a nice atmosphere.
The area was ideal for access to local restaurants and bars and only 15 minutes in a bus to the old town.
We ate dinner in the hotel twice and it was also a pleasant experience with veggie options and good service. The pool area was clean and you got a buzzer to summon the bar staff if you wanted a drink.
When we were leaving, the manageress gave me a print of the hotel as a souvenir to take home which was a nice touch. The staff always gave you the impression that they were happy to work there and we're always smiling. ( even when the lady from San Diego who was an absolute mare, was haranging them).
The city of Dubrovnik is a great place full of history and we went up the cable car to the museum of the Homeland war. This was very moving and it's hard to appreciate that this city was bombed to destruction only 20 years ago.
A great city, a great hotel and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear StirlingGulliver,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor, I am truly touched by your comments and delighted to know that you consider us as one of the best hotels you've stayed in. How wonderful to hear this!
We can't wait to welcome you back!

Best regards from Dubrovnik,

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Excellent location - It is a 5 minute easy drive to park by the old city of Dubrovnik. The hotel is on a harbor and is a 5-10 minute slow walk to Lapad beach which is a lovely area to hang out, watch the sunset or swim in the ocean.

The staff were wonderful and were super helpful. Nice rooms, very quiet, good WIFI and parking. The parking is limited so you need to reserve in advance. There is no gym and the pool was too cold to swim in.

Breakfast was OK but not great. You order off a menu. Service was uneven, bad one day, great the next. For example you must explicitly ask for fresh squeezed orange juice or you will get the canned variety.

Overall, we thought it was quite a nice place but a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: Car parking is limited so you need to reserve ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear travelpal32489,

Thank you for your kind review and for all of the great information you've given to other travelers. Your lovely words about our location, staff and rooms are very much appreciated.
So sorry to hear that the service was uneven - please rest assured that we will deal with this. Sometimes a reminder is necessary! In regards to the orange juice - we actually serve bottled one of a World famous producer, but if our guests ask for a squeezed one we are happy to serve it as well.
I sincerely hope that you will return to the Kazbek hotel and we all very much look forward to welcome you back.

Warm regards,

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a lovely and luxurious hotel with an excellent situation overlooking the harbour in Lapad.

The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.

The amenities are excellent, which include a good sized pool, outdoor courtyard for dining, good sized rooms with a lovely bathroom.

The food at dinner was excellent, as was the breakfast.

The only problem was that the electronic systems are overcomplicated, never really mastered the air conditioning system, and had to be shown how to call the elevator.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear peterdouglas3,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.
Apologies for our electronic system - it's our smart room room system who's main role is to save the energy and we are really sorry if you found it overcomplicated. I hope our staff was at your disposal and helped you how to use it.

Warm regards and hope to see you again!

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We travelled to Dubrovnik for a few days in late September and stayed at Hotel Kazbek. The hotel, which is in a lovely setting overlooking a natural harbour, was fantastic.

Our holiday started the minute we stepped into Arrivals at the airport, where we were met by the transfer arranged by the hotel. The hotel itself is lovely, very different to the big hotel chains, being individual in style and all the better for it. The bedrooms are very comfortable, with tea and coffee making facilities and lots of extras, such as fresh fruit in the rooms etc.

I usually find it hard to sleep in hotels, but had a really good couple of nights sleep, the beds being really comfortable and every room has air conditioning.

We found the staff very welcoming and helpful, giving us useful advice about finding our way round Dubrovnik, good places to eat, transport etc.

The Hotel is about 15 minutes away from the old city, by bus, but this is the nice thing about it, as the city itself gets very crowded and hot and you need to take some time out, especially in the afternoons. Sitting round the lovely pool area became a firm favourite for us, with plenty of sunloungers to go round. We can't wait to return. Thank you for lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Jo C,

Thank you so much for your glowing review and for pointing out how comfortable the beds are
We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us and hope you return for another wonderful stay soon!


Best regards,

Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you are one of those people who don't like big hotels and resorts crowded with people, but prefer small luxury boutique hotels with a touch of history, Kazbek is the perfect choice!
The hotel is situated a little outside of the city, but a short taxi drive will get you there in five minutes. There is also a bus station right in front of the hotel.
The hotel only has a dozen rooms and a beautiful pool in the back yard, perfect for relaxing. The service is excellent and the food superb. Both breakfast (which was completely served) and dinner were amazing.
The price was reasonable for a five star hotel.
I particularly liked the evening turndown service, which is non-standard even in top class hotels. Fresh towels were delivered twice a day, which was really nice.

On the down side, it's a pity that the really good wines were not sold per glass, one always had to buy the whole bottle. However, it was possible to buy the bottle and drink it over two nights or get it delivered to your room, if you haven't finished it. It was also not possible to get a glass of champagne, which was very disappointing (again, only bottles were available). There were a couple of open wines, but those were not high quality. (as a side note: I would suggest to remove Bakarska Vodica from the offer, as it is not appropriate for a five star hotel. :)
The air-conditioning in the rooms was really loud, but I think I read here that it is already planned to improve that.

All in all, I loved my stay at Kazbek Hotel and would certainly recommend it. It's without doubt one of the best hotels in Dubrovnik. I will certainly come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMiloglav, Director of Sales at Hotel Kazbek, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Annya_10,

We are so grateful for guests like you. You have really captured the essence of Kazbek in your review and described us very well indeed.
We actually sell 2 red and 2 white wines per glass: 1 of each is a high quality wine and the other is a quality one. Unfortunately due to our limited size we can not sell each wine per glass. Thank you for the suggestion to remove Bakarska vodica from our wine list. Every year we change slightly our food and wine list so we will definitely take your suggestion in consideration, although the sparkling wine you mentioned is medium priced because we believe it is good to have different price range in our offer. But thanks again for your opinion, we do appreciate it.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes from the Kazbek team,


Pave Miloglav
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kazbek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kazbek

Address: Lapadska Obala 25, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Kazbek 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kazbek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kazbek Hotel Dubrovnik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kazbek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.