We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view and wonderful owner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House With Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added House With Garden to your Saves list
House With Garden
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Obodska 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 162 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
“Gorgeous view and wonderful owner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We've now stayed at House with Garden twice, and each time exceeded our expectations. The view is quite simply stunning and well worth the climb up an admittedly good number of stairs. The place is very clean and quiet, with everything you'd need, including wireless internet. The owner is a lovely gentleman who picked my mom and me up from the airport and was generous with his time and energies. One of the rooms has a pleasant balcony with an unmatched view of the Old City, but there are other common areas of the home, too, with small tables and chairs to have an outdoor breakfast and look out over the city and water. It's just a wonderful place to call your own for a bit of time in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We spent four nights in Dubrovnik and stayed in the living room in this property. Everything was great and exceeded our expectations. The room has a balcony, with a table and chairs, from which you can see Old Town and Lokrum Island. The view is absolutely amazing, the photos do not do it justice. The room is nice and has a homely feel. It has everything you could possible need; a TV with cable, a fridge, air conditioning, a sofa bed, a couch and a balcony! We also had full access to the kitchen and bathroom and the outdoor terrace and grill. Josip was very kind and friendly. Our flight on our departure date was not until 8:15pm and he allowed us to extend our stay, no extra charge, right up until we needed to leave for the airport. This property is value for money! You could not get a view this amazing, for this price, anywhere else! If you go to Dubrovnik you MUST stay here!

Room Tip: The 'living room' which is basically set up like a bedroom, has a big balcony with a wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed at this house whilst visiting Dubrovnik for 3 days to do some general sightseeing. The owner of the house was very friendly and had prepared the room early for us as our ferry arrived at 7AM. This was very kind as we had not expected to check in until the afternoon and were just intending to drop our bags off, but the room was ready! The house has a homely feel and a STUNNING view from the room (eastside room) and outside eating areas. We were able to use the kitchen and laundry for free. We had a shared bathroom which was spacious and clean. The owner was helpful with travel plans. Location was great for the Old Town. The room was homely and self maintained over the stay. Slight mosquito problem however, easily solved with power plug repellent provided. Be aware that there is approximatley 200 stairs from the old town up to the house. Not an issue for us but maybe not suitable for some. The stairs are worth it for the view! Cannot believe the good value of this house considering the stunning surrounds! Stay here if you don't need a 'hotel' type stay and are looking for a relaxing time in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I love this place, we are here for the weekend for a friend's wedding. Stepping out of the airport, we got straight into the shuttle bus (35 kuna each) that took us straight to the Old Town. Off at the first stop, collect info from the Tourist Office right by the stop, the double back on ourselves for about 5 mins to get to the other side of the Old Town, then up the hill (about 50,000 steps skywards) for another 5 minutes to find the House with Garden. With the map from Tourist Information it was really easy to find. Arriving with jelly legs and rather hot from the exertion the very pleasant owner came down part way to meet us to help with luggage. Those who are seriously unfit, or unable to manage steps should be aware that you may not enjoy walking these steps every time you go anywhere.

We have a large double room with a stunning view overlooking the sea and Old Town, the room has plenty of cupboard space, colour TV with cable, fridge, and spacious en suite bathroom. We have use of the kitchen and front and back gardens.

Plenty of little shops dotted around the place and very close by for essential supplies.

Basically, this is a large converted family home, plenty of privacy, lovely helpful owners who "leave you to it" in a picture postcard pretty location.

Two things to be aware of 1. the steps and 2. if using online credit card booking, only the deposit it taken by card, the rest is expected in cash (ATMs all over the place, so no problem there).

Love it and will definitely to book here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the one with sea view.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hämeenlinna, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

The hotel itself is great - I would highly recommend it. The room we stayed in was just what we needed: we had a huge bed, or own toilet/bathroom, a tiny fridge and a gorgeous view over the old town. The only (and I mean only!) downside is the fact that the only way to get to the hotel is to climb stairs - and there are lots of them. Lots! So if you are not able to climb stairs this is not the place for you. No wheelchair access etc. Otherwise....if I was you, I would choose this place!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

I stayed in Josip's apartment for 4 night in May 2010. I had a wonderful stay because
1) Josip is a very nice man, down to earth and helpful. He helped me to find parking place nearby and help me to carry my suitcase when I moved in and moved out. He speaks good English.
2) room is quiet and clean, shower is small but clean, hot water is always available.
3) I can access internet.
4) I can cook breakfast and supper. I bought some seafood from local market and cooked in his kitchen.
5) The apartment have a beautiful view about ocean and oldtown.
6) It is close to oldtown, 10 min walk.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Josip is lovely but we were not enamoured with the hospitality overall nor the facilities, We were given the balacony room which has fantastic views. Our bed was a lumpy, bumpy fold out put me up. The air con that doubles as heating we were told, did nothing but blow out cold air so the cold nights remained cold, thank goodness for the additional blankets. In room fridge doesn't work.
The bathroom was clean and had good supplies of loo rolls but very little hot, or come to think of it, tepid water. Every shower I took was very quick and left my teeth chattering uncontrollably and a race to get dressed and outside where it was warmer than in our room.
The room had satelite TV and great selection of english speaking channels, just about the only warm feeling we got whilst in our room.
We felt a bit pushed out when the day before departure we were asked "what time are you getting up, I need the sheets for the next arrivals but I can move you to another room" Why move us and not put the new arrivals in the 'other room'. When we stipped the fold out put me up of its sheets and left the room to deliver to Josip, he was in the hall waiting for us - talk about outstaying your welcome.
The steps upto the house are steep and tiring and beyond Josips control and we were well aware of them before booking, but after all the steps in the old town, think carefully about what you're taking on. If the room had more to offer than a lovely view, we would have climbed them more willingly

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shepa, Owner at House With Garden, responded to this review, July 25, 2010
I am very sorry that my guest(Dulciestmum)is only partly satisfy with her stay in our lovely apartment-House with garden.I am not quite sure that I can answer on all complain as I found that two world in his article are not English world and could not be found in dictionary(enamoured,stipped).
Let’s go step by step: First of all we meet each other a few times but no world about problems.
1. Our bed was lumpy, bumpy fold out put me up.
Our apartment has three rooms, West Sea View, East Sea View and Living Sea View. Sometime we give opportunity to guest that they can book room separately. Living room is fitted with double bedded sofa with additional mattress 16 cm in size. In this room we have one more single sofa.
2. Air Condition is still same and working superfine. Only what you have to do on Remote Control is push right button if you like cooling or heating.
3. Room fridge work perfectly only what you need to do is switch on.
4. The bath room like all house has three systems for water heating, Solar Panel, Electric heater, and for winter time Central Heating system which we can use in summer. Bath room has own room heaters.
5. The day before departure.
Our conversation was like this. If they need room after check out time 10 00 that they can stay in the house but in another room as that room was booked by another guest and he like to walk in because they book it.
6. About Old Town Steps: That steps was built about 1500 years ago and I do not know how I can be responsible for problems #6.
Regards,
Josip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to House With Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House With Garden

Address: Obodska 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — House With Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THIS ACCOMMODATION GUEST CAN BOOK AS APARTMENT OR EACH ROOM SEPARATELY. House with garden is situated at the most attractive part of Dubrovnik (Ploce) with a panoramic view of the Old Town Dubrovnik, Island Lokrum and Adriatic Sea, which you can reach in 3 minutes walk. From terraces you have breathtaking views of the Old Town, as do all our rooms. The accommodation providing you with comfort and everything you may need for an enjoyable vacation in Dubrovnik. This accommodation will enable you to spend a relaxing and memorable vacation in Dubrovnik. House with garden has 101,3 m²( 1090 ft²)and consists of two bedrooms + living room, all with sea view, and can sleep 4+2. There is a kitchen, dining room, two bathrooms. Living rooms you can easily convert to the sleeping room. Whole house is air conditioned and it is fully equipped and furnished. Each room has Radio, TV and refrigerator. East side terrace have Garden grill, large table with six chairs where guests can sit and look at the sea, the Island of Lokrum and Old Town. The Old Town, the center of all happenings, with numerous monuments, galleries, concerts, together with many cozy restaurants and cafes that are all located inside the city walls which you can reach in 3 minutes walk. The public beach east & west is only 3 minutes walk. Sea View Studio Apartment - House with garden Studio Apartment with King's bed sleeps two person overlooking the sea is 22 m²(237) ft² with Air Condition and a private bathroom with toilet and a small kitchen in hallway so far. The Studio Apartment has a refrigerator, a TV and a radio alarm clock. From East and West terraces, you have a beautiful view of the sea, the island Lokrum and Old Town. The Old Town, the center of all happenings, with numerous monuments, galleries, concerts, together with many cozy restaurants and cafes that are all located inside the city walls you can reach in 3 minutes walk. Guests can use Garden grill without extra charge. For winter season house. Is equipped with central heating system. Walking distance to the Old Town and the beach is less than 3 minutes. But the return trip is longer because of the climbing upstairs. As an alternative, guests can use taxi which is very cheap and costs ca. 6 EUR for 4 persons. Bus tickets for 4 cost the same. Other options are to use car or scooter. Room East with sea view - House with garden The twin bedded room overlooking the sea is 16 m²(172ft²). The room has Air Condition. Refrigerator, TV and a radio alarm clock. This room share bathroom and toilet with Living Room. From East and West terraces, you have a beautiful view of the sea, the island Lokrum Old Town. At the anchorage you can see the very large yachts of famous personalities. The Old Town, the center of all happenings, with numerous monuments, galleries, concerts, together with many cozy can use taxi which is very cheap and costs ca. 6 EUR for 4 persons. Bus tickets for 4 cost the same. Other options are to restaurants and cafes that are all located inside the city walls you can reach in 3 minutes walk. Guests can use kitchen & dining room and Garden grill without extra charge. For winter season house is equipped with central heating system. Walking distance to the Old Town and the beach is less than 3 minutes. But the return trip is longer because of the climbing upstairs. As an alternative, guests use car or scooter. Room Living with sea view - House with garden The living room with balcony and double bedded sofa for 2 persons and an additional sofa bed and a beauty full view of the sea is 28 m²(301 ft²). The room is equipped with Air Condition a refrigerator, SatTV and a radio .The guest can use the kitchen, dining room and Garden Grill. This room share bathroom and toilet. From East and West terraces, you have a beautiful view of the sea, the island Lokrum Old Town. The Old Town, the center of all happenings, with numerous monuments, galleries, concerts, together with many cozy restaurants and cafes that are all located inside the city walls you can reach in 3 minutes walk. Guests can use kitchen & dining room and Garden grill without extra charge. For winter season house is equipped with central heating system. Walking distance to the Old Town and the beach is less than 3 minutes. But the return trip is longer because of the climbing upstairs. As an alternative, guests can use taxi which is very cheap and costs ca. 6 EUR for 4 persons. Bus tickets for 4 cost the same. Other options are to use car or scooter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your House With Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House With Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.