We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, relaxed & helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bokun Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bokun Guesthouse to your Saves list
Bokun Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Obala Stjepana Radica 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 162 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, relaxed & helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here in June/July 2013 and when I was taken ill (nothing to do with the hotel I hasten to add) the owner was extremely helpful, he even found us alternative accommodation when we needed to stay an extra night but he was fully booked. We felt well looked after, which is particularly valuable when on holiday in an unfamiliar place.

He was also very helpful pointing bus routes etc. and the guesthouse was only a short trip from the old city, making it easy to explore.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    45
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
72
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakobstad, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A nice and peaceful family hotel at a fairly short distance from the Old Town and Lapad Beach. The price was low, but yet the room was good. The pickup service from the Airport made it easy to find. The breakfast was good and enough to start the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bollington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here, and it was a pleasant peaceful place to stay away from the noise of the city. The only negatives were that we couldn't get any hot water to run (probably just being silly and not spotting something that would heat the water up), and the parking was a bit odd. We had to park in what seems to be a bus depot. It was hard to gain access to the parking through the barrier, as the guard wouldn't let us in without a struggle. This may have been a one off, as no-one else seems to have a problem with it so we were probably just unlucky. There also was something that I spotted that concerned me a little (but I do work with health and safety so I spot danger everywhere), it was that there was a gas bottle that was used to run the gas hob. I didn't like the thought of having a gas bottle in a place where I slept, but it is probably ok. The owner was friendly, if a bit stressed. Room was clean and comfortable, ktichen well equipped.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We arranged with Toni to be picked up from the airport. His sister was waiting there and then we made our way to Gruz. His sister gave us an overview of things to do and likely costs extra, which extremely helpful as we had never been to Dubrovnik first.
When we arrived I was amazed at the location, set within a flower/vegetable garden it was a beautiful location. Toni was very helpful and showed us to our room which was a top floor apartment. The apartment was very spacious and had everything we required.
The family were very friendly and accommodating, and watching the kittens play the dog up was entertaining one evening.
The guesthouse is located on Gruz harbour, which is quiet except for when the cruise ships come in. We walked into the Old Town which took us about 20/30 minutes. There were buses too, but we enjoyed the walk.
We also walked into Lapad one evening which also took about 20 minutes.
Overall, a pleasant stay. I would recommend to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment overlooking the back garden, with a shared balcony overlooked the front a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We chose Bokun because of the pictures, location and price.
The guesthouse is a small family run place about 30 mins walk from the Old Town.
Its location is nice because its fairly central, but not too busy. There is plenty to do in the area.

We had room 8, which had a garden view (if the weather was nicer, the view would have been pleasant.). The room was fairly basic, plenty of storage, Sat TV and with a nice, comfy bed. Some tea and coffee making facilities would have been nice. The shared bathroom was not a problem for us. The shower was clean and gets very hot.

The place has character, Toni and family are very welcoming and always at hand. They have 3 kittens running about in the garden and a dog, which is nice. There is a useful notice board by the door with bus times and contact numbers for things to do in the area (and a nice collection of awards).

The restaurants and cafes in the area are all very nice, there is also a market nearby too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Although not initially too easy to find, or to park near, with the hire car, once we stepped through the green door at the end of the alley we stepped into Toni`s Secret Garden. His house is set in lovely flower and vegetable gardens. We ate breakfast every morning outside, under a canopy of Kiwi Fruit and Grape vines.
Toni and wife were great, very helpful and informative, with their two young boys, the lazy dog and two kittens it was like staying with friends rather than in a guest house.
The bus to the Old Town was a five minute walk away. Car parking turned out to free and close by in the bus park where Toni has an arrangement with the owners.
An enchanting place to stay.

Room Tip: We had the upstairs apartment, which was quite simple but very spacious and clean, also the shared b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Good location in the Port Gruz area. About 10 mins from bus station and on good bus route for the Old Town. Walking distance of around 20 mins/very short journey on bus to beaches.

Toni, the owner was very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was simple but tasty and value for money in a pricey town.

Stayed in twin room shared bathroom. Basic, clean and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bokun Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bokun Guesthouse

Address: Obala Stjepana Radica 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bokun Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When in 1985 we opened our guesthouse in a 400 year old stone house, we just wanted to have a place where all of our guests would have what we think is most important in traveling: security, cleanliness, a warm welcome and helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bokun Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bokun Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.