We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bokun Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Bokun Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bokun Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Obala Stjepana Radica 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 142 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A really lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is the third time that we have stayed at the Bokun Guesthouse, and it just gets better each time. The house and garden are beautiful, and as ever Toni and his lovely family made us feel so welcome. I would particularly recommend it to families with children, especially since Toni has two children of his own and it was lovely to see them and my two grandchildren playing together. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and everyone was so friendly and helpful. A lovely place, in a very interesting part of Dubrovnik, only 20 minutes walk away from the old city. Excellent value for money. I've done a lot of travelling, and the Bokun is easily one of the best places that I've stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    41
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
65
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

You cannot go wrong. Our room was large , even by European standards, complete with full kitchen ( did not use). Location and the peaceful ambience of Toni's garden make a welcome break from the sea of humanity of the Old City especially when the many cruise ships drop off their sheep. A brisk 20 minute walk to the Old City or a short bus ride 1a, 1b, or 6. 6 also takes you to the Babin Kuk Peninsula and wonderful beaches. Very close to the main bus station for the transfer to the airport and terminus when we came from Split on the coach. Next to the Port. Ideal if you are taking a Sail Croatia small boat crusie along the Dalmation Coast. Oh... and inexpensive too, we paid 60 Euros a night. Marvellous value. would never recommend staying closer to the Old City which is noisy, touristy, busy beyond words. When we there 4 full size cruise ships dropped off an additional 6, 000 tourists ( at least) oh and hot @ 35 during September. Wew had one day rain, which Toni told us was the 1st rain they had had in 3 months.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Bokun is considered a Sobe in Croatia. This means you get a room and typically not a breakfast. The room we had was small. The rooms could use a good scrubbing. The shaded garden terrace was nice to sit in during the heat of the day. It is located in the middle of Dubrovnik but, in Dubrovnik the sights are at the edge of the city; ie the old city and the beaches. There is a bus stop close by which provides good local transportation to other areas of Dubrovnik. It is close to the bus terminal if you are arriving by bus from Split. If I were to go to Dubrovnik again I would stay closer to the old city or to one of the beach areas, ie Lapad. Toni was very helpful.Bokun is considered a Sobe in Croatia. This means you get a room and typically not a breakfast. The room we had was small. The rooms could use a good scrubbing. The shaded garden terrace was nice to sit in during the heat of the day. It is located in the middle of Dubrovnik but, in Dubrovnik the sights are at the edge of the city; ie the old city and the beaches. There is a bus stop close by which provides good local transportation to other areas of Dubrovnik. It is close to the bus terminal if you are arriving by bus from Split. If I were to go to Dubrovnik again I would stay closer to the old city or to one of the beach areas, ie Lapad. Toni was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We came back from a stay at Mljet and this hotel is very well located close to the port and ferry. We stayed in a ground floor apartment which was very comfortable, clean and had a nice atmosphere. The garden is beautiful and very peaceful. The owner, Toni, is friendly. We used the transfer service to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed two nights at Bokun and after arriving on the overnight ferry from Bari, Italy, found this to be just a short, easy walk from the port. It is also very close to the main bus station. When we first arrived (in the beautiful garden!) we had difficulty finding any staff, but when we did Toni was very helpful and gracious. He has two small boys who were always running around and very cute.

The Air Conditioning in our room was a huge plus, and the shower (our room had a private bath) had surprisingly good pressure + temp. Though I don't think the walls are too thick and Toni mentioned having a full house, we didn't hear much of the other guests and slept well at night.

We walked to the old town our first day (trying to be frugal and figuring we were fit enough) and don't recommend this overall... busy road, blistering heat, uphill, take the bus! You can get a 24-hour pass for the cost of 3 rides. Dubrovnik itself exceeded our expectations. It is a lovely old town. Try to avoid the walls when they unload a bus or boat of tour groups.

We paid for the breakfast at Bokun which was convenient, but not remarkable.

Wifi was available and free though I could only get the signal out in the garden, not in my room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

A family home serving as a GH. In a quiet oasis but in a great location next/near to the bus routes and the port/marina/airport bus terminal.
Toni speaks good English but is often out. Other family members cannot speak English.
Croatians don't fuss over you excessively so don't expect too much. The welcome here is fine. Toni will guide re bus and direction details. the old town is 10 mins by bus.
Clean and airy rooms. I had shared bathroom which was not a problem. Clean with a good shower.
Breakfast is available but if not there are plenty of local shops and a market near the marina.
I would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

we stayed for ten days and enjoyed our stay although the room was quite small, the bathroom very small, the air con leaked and room cleaning was infrequent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bokun Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bokun Guesthouse

Address: Obala Stjepana Radica 7, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bokun Guesthouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When in 1985 we opened our guesthouse in a 400 year old stone house, we just wanted to have a place where all of our guests would have what we think is most important in traveling: security, cleanliness, a warm welcome and helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Bokun Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bokun Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.