We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sociable and fun place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dubrovnik Backpackers Club Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dubrovnik Backpackers Club Hostel to your Saves list
Dubrovnik Backpackers Club Hostel
2 Mostarska, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 421 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sociable and fun place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Fab place! The family are so helpful and welcoming. Breakfast amazing. The family run several trips which are not to be missed. I went on a private boat trip - great way to meet friends, private transfers from hostel, and our guide brought his own camera, took tons of photos and emailed them to us for free.
I stayed in 4 bed room next to BBQ area. Bathroom was quite small but other than that everything was fine. BBQ area good place to meet new friends. Hostel is in lapad so you have to get a bus to Old Town but they run til 3am and every 10 mins. There's also loads if bars and restaurants in lapad 5 minutes walk away. Definitely stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    9
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Quite possible the best hostel in all of Croatia! You become family the second you walk in the door. Great tours every day, and often in small groups which makes the experience even better. Mama Milka is the a great cook and genuinely cares about everyone that is staying there. A short bus ride down to the old town but plenty of beaches close to the hostel. Also free towels which is a huge bonus! We had an absolutely amazing time there and highly recommend it to anyone. Thanks again! Melissa and Stephanie!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

What isn't to like about the place. The staff are the nicest Croatian family, they do a very amazing boat day tour which I highly recommend, the breakfast is awesome and the rooms are decent. They accommodated me very well and it isn't very hard to find via the buses from the airport or ferry terminal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hostel is located in Lapad (a short bus ride away from the Old Town or a decent enough 45 minute stroll). On balance I preferred being out in leafy Lapad - there are restaurants and beaches there and I get the sense it might be a bit claustrophobic staying in the Old Town the entire time. You also get to see a different bit of Dubrovnik.

The hostel is run by a very friendly and warm family, headed by the matriarch Milka. One of her sons Nicolai is also a really nice, decent guy. The family learn their guests names and refer to them by name from the outset which makes you feel welcome. You also get plied with food and drink (including cakes) from the get go. We got a shot of brandy laced with the family's organic honey on arrival too. There is a small balcony to sit outside on in the sun, and there is also a little BBQ/eating area, kitchen and cinema room. I would recommend this hostel mainly due to the lovely family running it. The crowd were relatively chilled out when I was there, but certainly not averse to going to drinking/dancing in the Old Town in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in the 4 bed female dorm. The family are wonderful and helpful and have events organised for every night eg. Movie night, pizza nights etc. The breakfast is delicious and cheap.

The place is right near the bus stop which takes you to the old city (about 10 minutes) or a 1 hour walk (if you're game). Area feels very safe even at night.

The hot water is good. Wi-fi was temperamental and only worked in the room sometimes. Lockers are downstairs (not in the bedrooms). Free towels.

My only issue was that i booked this place because it had female dorms but the second night somehow i 'mistakenly' ended up with 2 males coming in at 1am smelling of alcohol, snoring and sleeping in close to nothing. The owner was apologetic the next morning so it turned out ok however i would not want this repeated again. The main selling point of this place is the welcoming nature of the family

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of May. The directions from the main bus station were relatively easy to follow. When I arrived, they were very nice and offered refreshments straight away. They were very knowledgeable about the area and you feel like you're a part of the family!
The breakfast is wonderful as well.
While the hostel is not in the main part of Dubrovnik, you are still close to a few beaches and just a short bus ride away from Old Town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The family which runs this hostel is truly unique and make you feel at home. The lady of the house Milka is very sweet and warm-hearted. She welcomes you with a drink and makes you fresh tea or coffee whenever you ask for. She treats you like you are part of her family. The day I reached there I suddenly had high fever and did not have any medicine. Milka took great motherly care of me, making me hot soup and then giving me medicines at regular intervals. She used to come to my room to check how I am. Now you really don't find such kindness in a normal hostel!!! THANKS a lot Milka!!! The hostel is a little bit away from the Old Town in a nice and quite part of Lapad, but it only takes about 15 minutes to reach the Old Town by bus!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dubrovnik Backpackers Club Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dubrovnik Backpackers Club Hostel

Address: 2 Mostarska, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 421 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Dubrovnik Backpackers Club Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dubrovnik Backpackers Club Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.