We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Dalmina is NOT for a vacation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dalmina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dalmina Hotel to your Saves list
Dalmina Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Kopilica, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Split
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hotel Dalmina is NOT for a vacation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed over a night with a tour group in this hotel and were very grateful it was only one night. The hotel inside was clean and well appointed but seemed geared towards business travellers and NOT leisure travellers. It is not beuatiful or attractive in any way.

It's location is bad in an industrial type area of Split and far from the beautiful city centre. It's best to keep your room curtains closed as the views are of adjoining buildings - ours was of the car park. Luckily we had a tour bus which took us into Split at night (an experience I highly reccommend) but if we were travelling without the group we would have been stuck in that ugly hotel and area all night.

The food was atrocious! For dinner we were served soup as starters (which tasted pre-bought in a can), meat as mains which was unrecognisable as meat and so tough you had to leave half on your plate and two scoops of ice cream as dessert (not very good ice cream at that). It was really a hotel taking advantage of a tour group! Breakfast was average at best.

I'd really reccomend leisure travellers steer clear of this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    7
    16
    6
See reviews for
2
17
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel looks like it was an old renovated warehouse like the warehouse situated across from it. There is no atmosphere what so ever. The rooms are large and clean. The bed was very uncomfortable. The breakfast was terrible. Your view from the room is a warehouse. There is nothing around the area (except warehouses) so you have to go into Split which is about 3 km away. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Sorry there is no nice rooms with a view. You are in a commercial area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We asked for a non-smoking room, but they stuck us in a smoking room, and then didn't have any non-smoking rooms available, so we were stuck. The air conditioning didn't really work and it was warm outside and therefore warm in the room. Not close to town or public transportation to get into town. Carpet was very dirty and the wifi was down. Hairdryer was one of those vacuum looking things that burns your hands without drying your hair. Ventilation was leaking in the hall. The dark curtains did keep out the early morning sunshine, which did help us sleep, but that's about the only good thing I can say.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Hotel is located in residential zone of Split, aprox. 3 km away from Riva (city center), but it is ideal if you have rent-a-car. taxi to city cost you aprox 10 euros.
Rooms are newly furnished, modern design and quite spacious, bathrooms are quite big and wi/fi is FOC and accessible in rooms. hotel is super clean, staff efficient and polite, open buffet breakfast is ok.
if you are in short visit or business trip to Split, this is hotel you are looking for, if you plan summer vacation, choose other hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour of Croatia and the Balkins and spent an uncomfortable night. The beds were hard and uncomfortable and the room never cooled down to a comfotable temperature in the middle of July. The hotel is located in what looks like an industrial area far from the city center of Split and the service level was terrible. We were told this was a four star hotel. I would not even give it one star.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else closer to the city center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Honestly we do not know how this Hotel got 4 Stars at all compared to other Hotels we visited before here in Croatia. For business purposes to stay one night n an industrial zone is ok - but for tourists totally unattractive. Rooms are ok but not always perfect clean. Breakfast ranges from poor to very poor - I would not offer anybody sth like this - especially when you are on a vacation tour. Besides one young lady at the information desk the remaining staff needs to get a little bit more proactive and customer friendly.

We were more than happy to leave after a few days and were looking forward to the next accomodation.
No wellness, no pool no nothing besides a fast internet connection.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at Dalmina as part of a Grand Croatian Tour. The bed was the worst we have ever had in many years of travel. We had twin bedding, but they were a child size bed, approximately 2 foot across and no room to get comfortable. They were also hard and the mattress was set in a wooden frame, so you knocked yourself when getting in and out of bed. There were mosquitos also. The breakfast was substandard, yoghurt not kept cold, cold eggs, etc. Totally not recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dalmina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmina Hotel

Address: 5 Kopilica, Split 21000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalmina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Dalmina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalmina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.