We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant Get No Sleep...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Varos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Varos to your Saves list
Villa Varos
Miljenko Smoje 1, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 120 Split B&B and Inns
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cant Get No Sleep...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

If you want a good night sleep DO NOT stay here. Entering the reception we were greeted by a young girl who seemed confused with our reservation, we also requested champagne in our room on arrival we got a bottle of red instead! She advised us of a beach to use near the town which turned out to be the worst dirtiest beach on the planet, glad we didn’t ask her opinion on restaurants!

The building is very noisy, wooden floors and concrete walls you can almost hear every movement from other guests, and the neighbours are just a stones throw away and they like to get up early. The rooms are very basic, an old TV that didn’t work properly, sachets of shampoo etc..which looked like freebies from a magazine, the toilet seat moved when you sat on it, the hot water was scolding, so be warned while taking a shower, the air condition unit was noisy so couldn’t be left on through the night.

For the whole duration we were woken up between 6-7 every morning making us tired and groggy, which is the last thing you want whilst on holiday. What with the cleaner, the delivery of fresh linen being dumped which seemed from a great height and the slamming of doors. My partner did complain to the owners who in return basically said go some where else. No apology or want of feed back to help the situation, the last thing we wanted to do was spend our holiday looking for somewhere else and re-packing. So we tried to get on with our days forgetting about the lack of sleep and the dire hotel. O and breakfast is at a cheap café where you are given discount we only ate there the once!

When we went to pay, we had to wait while the son of the owner (who never smiled and didn’t seem to give two monkeys about the way he was with guests) showed another couple to their room, leaving the reception door wide open which leads to the street, and all passports from guests within easy reach in their pigeon holes, this is where they were kept for the duration of our stay, why they didn’t just photo copy them like most hotels or even put them into a safe? And what with a sign saying the hotel is not responsible for any loss or damages, I wonder what they would have done if our passports went astray?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
4
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Villa Varos is in a perfect position, near to most of what you want to see in Split, but without street noise. We stayed in an upstairs room, after reading some other reviews saying that the downstairs ones were too close to reception - and it was fine. The room was basic, but has everything you need. The bathroom was great - clean and modern.

The staff were particularly worthy of note, being all friendly and informative. We also had to adjust our booking length whilst staying there, and they were more than happy to help us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

The Villa Varon is just outside the old town, a short walk down a small alleyway. The room was very clean and of modern decor. We were in room1 which is on the ground floor (as is room 2) and is right next to reception so you can hear every word while they are on the phone,etc. it also had only one window which looked onto a brick wall! The rooms were lovely with nice bathrooms and a short walk from town but I would recommend asking for an upper floor.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

We were supposed to stay at another hotel but there was some confusion with the booking site and actual availability. The other hotel recommended Villa Varos. They explained how to get downtown and told us a place to meet their son. Everything was great from the get go. We enjoyed our stay, the family is helpful and the location is great. I did a rare dumb thing of leaving my car keys and some other valuables in the room. This included cash in US currency. I called the hotel and JoAnne mailed everything to my US address. I told her to use the cash to pay for the postage and inconvenience but she sent us everything. We love small family run hotels. I would highly recommend Villa Varos. Only thing they could add to the lobby would be a public PC. They do have wifi.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Frtancisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

This place was perfect for our short stay in Split.,..in fact shorter then we originally thought,. This would have been the first stop on our honeymoon and we arrived 8 hours late! We had no way of contacting Joanne, the owner and she literally ran into us on the street in the dark after waiting on us. She then let us to our clean, efficient room where chocolates and wine were waiting. After our stressful trip where my luggage wast LOST she proceeded to call around and talk to airlines etc in order to try to get our luggage back. The airlines were less then helpful and she ended up calling a personal friend who is a taxi driver to personally put it on a boat and make sure it made it to our next destination...an island an hour away! Her kindness and service was above and beyond, the price was great, the bed comfy and had full satellite TV. We were only there one night but wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

This small hotel is perfect for a short stay in Split, and very good value: we paid EUR 60 per night (granted, it was the low season). Our room ("comfort double") was decent size, very clean, and had a comfortable bed. There is satellite TV and wireless Internet.

The owner was extremely helpful, explaining all we needed to know (and more), and recommending places to eat. Communicating in English was not a problem – the owner is Canadian Croatian, I think.

The only little problem was the water heater, which was a bit on the small side (if you're second in the queue, you may end up covered in soap in the shower with only cold water to wash it off).

Villa Varoš doesn't serve breakfast but they have an agreement with Konoba Leut, a small cafe 3 mins away; the breakfast is totally OK, and only 20 Kuna (EUR 5) per person. A nice view of the harbour included.

Villa Varoš is located in a tiny side street in the lovely Veli Varoš district with its charming narrow streets. Walking distance from all the major attractions: 5 mins from the old town core with the amazing Diocletian's Palace, and 10 mins from Marjan Hill, which was the highlight of our visit.

Split in general is a gem. In particular, the food was excellent everywhere we went (Konoba Šperun, Konoba Matejuška, Konoba Varoš – all nearby); don't miss the seafood, the pršut (smoked ham parma/jamón style) or the paški sir sheep cheese).

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

usually prefer to stay in big ultra modern hotels but the reviews for this small back street hotel sounded too good to overlook. Villa varos at around £50pn cam e up trumps due to its excellent location, largeish modern, clean rooms and quiet sourroundings. breakfast is offered at a discount at nearby harbour side cafe and though basic was good value. watch out for rooms 1 and 2 which are on the ground floor right beside the tiny reception. We stayed in room 7 which along with 5 other rooms you have to enter the building via a different entrance. Best room probaly no. 8 which is at the top and has biggest space. Also watch out for the quantity of hot water, you only get enough for two 5min showers before tank runs out. I'd definately recommend this hotel for its location and value especially if yuo want to stay as central as possible.

  • Liked — location, size of rooms, value
  • Disliked — nothing worthy of note
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Varos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Varos

Address: Miljenko Smoje 1, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villa is located a 5 minute walk from the city center. In the area you have an array of local restaurants which offer all kinds of menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Varos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Varos Hotel Split
Varos Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Varos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.