We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay in Hvar! Best staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Varos

Villa Varos
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Varos to your Saves list
Villa Varos
Miljenko Smoje 1, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 109 Split B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome stay in Hvar! Best staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was the first stop for us in Croatia, after taking the overnight ferry from Ancona via Blueline Ferries. Not a bad way to get from Italy if we must say. Ferry docks at 7am and the walk over is on a flat, gorgeous promenade, fairly smooth and easy to roll several luggage. Cab is about 90kn but they have to go the long way around so unless it is raining walking is totally the best option. We were early for check and the front door was locked, but the front desk has a number you can call and the were able to be there and open up the front door for us to leave our luggage. Check in isn't till 12 and staff isn't there 24 he's a day, probably 8-9am till about 9pm. Super helpful staff, helped carry our luggage up the stairs, there is no elevator by the way. Rooms are newly renovated. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom with shower stall, good water pressure. Hot water rank takes some fiddling and has limited capacity bit still able to handle hot showers for a few adults. The location is a few blocks in from the main strip so super quiet. The main sights are about 5 mins away as is the promenade. Great authentic Croatian restaurant just around the corner with a similar name to the hotel. Pizza place right by the hotel was excellent too, with great seafood. Hosts were great and very helpful with recommendations. Breakfast is severed at a restaurant about 2 mins away, with good coffee, awesome bread and your choice of eggs and bacon, omlettes, yogurt and granola and other items. Breakfast is included. AC was strong and very good. Wifi was strong and had good connection in our room, room 8. Only thing missing was a fridge. All in all an excellent stay for our one night, excellent value for a three star accommodation and we would stay there again. Now off to Hvar!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
4
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Villa Varos is in a great location being near to many of the main attractions in Split. The rooms are clean, modern and well presented. Joanne and her family are very helpful and friendly. The water cooler in the reception area is a nice touch - very welcome after walking around the city in the heat. A great little hotel in a central location very reasonably priced - I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in early June and loved it. For starters when I booked the room on bookings.com I requested a cot for our 6 month old. I was emailed directly by the owner to be asked if I would like to book a more spacious room as the one i had booked would be quite tight with a cot. I'm so glad she contacted us because the upgrade was needed but even with the cot we ended up with room for 2 suitcases without feeling to tight in the room. The staff were lovely and it had all the amenities we required. They even provided a kettle for us so we could steralise bubs bottles. The room was cleaned to perfection everyday. Breakfast is around the corner at a local restaurant and was more than sufficient, you are provided with bread butter honey and jam, oj, choice of tea or coffee and then you can choose either the vegetable omelette, the ham and cheese omelette, bacon and eggs or muesli. The vegetable omelette was delicious. I found the ham and cheese to have too much ham for me but most people would probably love that. Breakfast was a great start to the day. The location is great just a 2 min walk from riva the main pedestrian mall. Getting from the bus stop to the hotel is easy enough but with baby in tow made it quite difficult while you can't get a cab to the dots you can get one to drop you like 40m from the place so we did this on our return trip. When we come back to split we won't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This little hotel is well located, no more than 10 minutes front the historic old town and 5 minutes from the Riva. Rooms are very clean and private bathroom is newly renovated and modern. Gregg, our host, went to college in the US, speaks perfect English and was extremely helpful. If you are driving, he will park your car for about 10 Euros a day. This is important because parking in Split is limited and expensive. Breakfast is included. Highly recommendVilla Varos.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I would stay here again and recommend to friends also. Delightful little hotel with excellent location whether you're heading to old town, Marjan or islands. Not a long walk from beaches either. Rooms are clean and quiet and are cleaned daily. Breakfast is served in a nearby and friendlyt restaurant and was good. There are some really good evening restaurants near Villa Varos, for example Konoba Marjan and a pizza place right across that. You can also book a transfer from the hotel to the airport - easy and comfortable. Staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

While there are cheaper options, I found Villa Varos to be a great place for the $$. Its location can't be beat: 5 min from the Riva and about 15min walk to all the ferry terminals. I took public transport everywhere in Croatia so I did not have any problems or worries about parking a car. Several good restaurants and a grocery store are just seconds outside the entrance. Getting to the steps to the Marjan was quick and easy as well. What I was most pleased with was the large, modern, and clean bathroom. After a long day in the sun and heat, it was so nice to come back to a good shower. Well done and I would stay here again!

Room Tip: It is in a residential area so there is no real quiet or absolute privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Fantastic little hotel in an old villa. About 5 minutes on foot from the cental bus station (which is ~ 30 minutes by public transport from the airport). Close by the harbor, the old Diocletian's palace and in the middle of many very enjoyable restaurants.
Very friendly staff and clean, modern and very quiet rooms at a reasonable price.
I can highly recommend this accomodation for your stay in Split!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Varos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Varos

Address: Miljenko Smoje 1, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villa is located a 5 minute walk from the city center. In the area you have an array of local restaurants which offer all kinds of menus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Varos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Varos Hotel Split
Varos Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Varos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.