We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Averaga hotel - nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dujam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dujam to your Saves list
Hotel Dujam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Dujam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Velebitska 27, Split 21000 , Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 50 hotels in Split
Osijek, Croatia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Averaga hotel - nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed here on business trip. Hotel is easy to find. Furniture is bit old. Bathroom was clean and basic. There is a free parking if needed. Hotel is offering wireless but it was hard to connect. Breakfast is realy basic with not so big selection. Price for stay is also average. Maybe the hostel part is little bit better value for money

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
8
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Weald, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed two nights in the hostel part of the hotel. The rooms are clean as are the shower rooms. For the cost (£30 for a twin room per night) you can not go wrong for a short stop over. For a longer stay the walk into the centre of about 15 mins may get a bit much. There are some very good value eating places nearby.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget then take the Hostel part. No en-suit or air con but this was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I am not one of those persons who leaves a bad review for the sake of complaining and am not overly fussy with hotels. However I must say my stay at Hotel Dujam was horrendous - and I was only there for 9 hours!!!!

The main problems were:

1. Location. I knew it wasnt next to the waterfront, but the immediate surroundings are terrible with little amenities available and is in the middle of a concrete jungle of tower blocks.
2. The room was very cramped, aged and above all, extremely musty and smoky. I am not adverse to the smell of cigarette smoke (I even smoke myself from time to time) but this was not nice when you can smell it in your pillow as you go to sleep.
3. Our main problem that made the stay so awful was the behaviour of the night porter. We turned up late (around midnight) after our plane was delayed for 2 hours due to the weather in Split so arrived hungry and tired. Firstly, there was no water and he refused to open the restaurant to let us fill our bottles up. There were no shops in the vicinity that were open at all and having just arrived in Split, we had no idea where to go. The porter spoke little English and made no attempt whatsoever to help. What kind of hotel has no provision for late arriving guests?! Absolutely pathetic. On top of this, when we asked him to change a 100kn note into some coins for their vending machine (which had no water - only soft drinks - we were desperate by now) he TOOK THE MONEY AND HID IT THINKING WE WOULD FORGET ABOUT IT!!!!! Only when we challenged him and raised our voices he magically remembered he'd put it in the office and gave it back. Total [--]. What kind of hotel employs staff like this. When I then asked again for water he closed his eyes, pretended to sleep and shooed us away.

When we complained in the morning, the girl on the desk was very understanding and polite, but by then the damage was done. It sickens me to think we paid £70 for the pleasure of our 9 hours at Hotel Dujam.

Stay away from this place. Pay the tenner extra and dont make our mistake and stay somewhere better located and, above all, a place that doesnt employ staff like this and can actually deal with the late arrival of a guest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is clean, non-descrip and a good 15 minute walk from the water front. Glad we are just passing through as it would be worth paying a bit more to be closer in.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

This is a very acceptable budget Hotel for a short stay in Split. Our double room (which I gather was in the Hotel and not the Hostel) was basic but otherwise clean and comfortable. Nothing outstanding but very good value for what's being offered.

The breakfast buffet was surprisingly good, with quite a good variety on offer. I've certainly stayed in Hotels with a higher star rating than this one where the choices have been more limited.

The drawback in staying here is the location - it's a 20-30 minute walk to the Split waterfront area (which includes the train station and ferry terminals). While it's an easy walk I can see it being an inconvenience for a stay of more than a few days (as our stay was a single night this wasn't a big issue). On the other hand the bus station - for a connection to Trogir, among other places - is on the way to the waterfront and is perhaps only 10-15 minutes away.

The decision whether or not to stay here is a trade-off between good value/reasonable facilities and a less the perfect location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed only one night in the hotel part of "Dujam" in Split. The hostel and hotel is within the same building, just in different floors. The staff was very friendly, well organized, and quite helpful in providing directions. They even have city maps, hotel flayers and business cards, and newspapers for tourists - overall it is really well organized place, although bit far away from Split centre.
The hotel rooms are very clean, not too small, have TV, free wireless and air condition that can be used as heating during colder days. The bathroom is basic, but provides everything necessary: clean towels, shower caps and shampoo/soap in the shower.
The hotel is easy to reach if you travel by car. However, there are only 4 parking spaces within very small one way street, and it is unclear where the next parking is if these 4 places are already taken.
Overall, this hotel is really worth to stay for a night or two, taking into account longer walk to the town centre for the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

This is a good value for money hotel / hostel near to central split. I timed it and It's about a 20 min walk (if you go the quickest route). I had booked into the hostel part (without knowing) and for a couple of days it was fine. The rooms are all private (2 beds per room). There is a kitchen but you have to bring all your own cooking equipment. The breakfast was fine, buffet style. The staff were friendly and had no problems checking in or out. There were not many people there so it was quiet. There is one large bathroom for men and one for women on the floor. For the price it was good value. Staying in the hotel part seems to about double the price. So it depends on how much you want to spend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dujam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dujam

Address: Velebitska 27, Split 21000 , Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dujam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Dujam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dujam Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dujam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.