We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, location, value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Kastel 1700

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added B&B Kastel 1700 to your Saves list
B&B Kastel 1700
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mihovilova Sirina 5, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Split
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place, location, value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just spent 3 nights here and it was a real find. The location is great, right in one corner of the Palace, an easy walk from the bus station and ferry terminal, and near all the sightseeing (but quiet). Our room and bathroom were well designed with thoughtful touches like frig and hot water pot. It had a clean, modern, sort of Ikea look. The price was fantastic and included a really good breakfast with breads, cereals, yogurt, fruit, local meats, boiled eggs, etc. Staff was friendly.

The only drawback - and it was minor - is that the soundproofing is not great so we sometimes heard other guests in the halls and showering.

I would go back in a heartbeat and recommend it to any friend who wanted a comfortable, practical room at a great price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    87
    33
    9
    3
See reviews for
25
75
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kastel Gomilica, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Location is the best with great view. We were here for the carnival and we had amazing time. Staff was so nice and friendly, also room was very clean and price reasonable. I highly recommend it if you wanna stay in center of town Split.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I had booked this hotel through hostels.com. The website had sent me confirmation and had debited the deposit. Then I suddenly received an email from this hotel telling me that they had failed to enter the correct price for this website and requested me to cancel the booking. Nothing wrong was done on my side, when I insisted that they should perform the confirmation at the price that I have booked, they (hostel and website) told me that they were sorry and had cancelled my booking after 1 month investigation. I just wonder how our rights as customers are protected? Although they offered a full refund of the deposit, I do not think it is the way to treat customer who did nothing wrong.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kastelsplit, Front Office Manager at B&B Kastel 1700, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
I've been working in this business for a many years now and honestly we NEVER EVER had this kind of experience. We all know that there are all kinds of people (customers); very satisfied, satisfied, or non satisfied at all... we are trying that all of them feel welcome and maybe come back one day again. We are not only good in our business, we are certified as Excellent therefore we feel that we owe explanation to all our former and future guests.

This person made reservation in November 2013 via Hostels.com for June 2014. Unfortunately when we received this reservaton we notice big error in price, we immediately went on web page to check what happened and saw that system withdraw winter -low season prices.
After checking web site (which lasted 1minute) we immediately (not month later as this person claims) sent very apologizing e-mail whith explaination what happened an offering:

1. Cheapest price for June (with discount and breakfast)

2. Apartment in annex building (old town also) for a same price 25,50€/night! (she accepted this offer at first but then changed her mind)

3. Full refund of deposit

This person sent very rude e-mail and accused us that we cancelled her reservation which we CAN NOT do, only person who made reservation can cancell it, even went so far that she was threatening us and the agency by lawsuit. Honestly we were amazed how badly this person wanted to be in our hotel using not quite convenient ways (words), maybe because we are not used to something like this,...We are used to polite and understanding people. But like I wrote we never been in this situation before and we are really hope NEVER again...

We even understand her a little bit, who wouldn't be in hotel in the centre of the old town, on the Promenade, just next to Diocletion's Palace in private room for 2 for only 25,50 Eur/night in high season? Everybody would, but not like this.

I already wrote why we are writing this response on review, and that is that all future guests need to know what really happened and that they can book with any agency or directly with us without worring that someone might cancell their reservation, because this review is very misleading. We NEVER did that and we NEVER will.

We tried and wanted the best solution for all of us but we were rejected in a very bad way.
We can not indulge everybody in everything but most of our guests were very satisfied as you can see in the rest of our reviews.
This person NEVER BEEN in our hotel so Tripadvisor should at least check with hotel how truthful review is before publishing it.

Representative of B&B Kastel 1700
Ana Romac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kastela
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The best sea view room on our honeymoon trip!room was very nice, clean and big.Staff so friendly and nice, always with the smile on the faces.breakfast also very good,price was also excelent, we had 10% discount on cash payment,location the best in this city!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Loved this hotel in a great location in the old town close to everything and especially the port where our boat was leaving from. Was impressed when we received an email a few weeks before our departure offering pick up from the airport at a fee but worth it after a 30 hour flight we just wanted to get to the hotel. The rooms were very clean, windows were double glazed so you could not hear the noise from the Riva and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Depending on where your room is located there can be a lot of stairs. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the extra money, there are a lot of stairs if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The desk staff was extremely helpful and had maps of Split ready for pointing out the sites we were trying to find. There is a laundry within close walking distance, near the church (the desk staff can show you on the map). There are no elevators but they put is in a first floor room so we only had to drag luggage up one flight of stairs (the flight that goes to the front door of the B&B). The room was comfortable and pretty big - roomy enough for three adults (family). Located right off a main gate and overlooks the Riva (main promenade) and harbor. It gets noisy at night. The windows shut out much of it but there are a lot of revelers on the squares. Excellent location though! 10% discount for cash (in Euros preferred but can also be in Kuna) - the desk staffer also helped us set up a ride to the airport through the hotel for 35 euro - sure beat trying to get a cab at 5am and the driver was very nice!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This B&B is really all about location. You can't get any closer to Diocletian's Palace than this. Our room overlooked the Riva and the sea, but was surprisingly quiet with the windows shut. Walk out the door, and you are in the heart of the old town.

The staff was friendly, breakfast was typical (nothing hot) European style breakfast, but good. The rooms were average sized, but on the low end as far as furnishings go. If you are looking for 4 star accomodations, this probably isn't the right place. But if you are looking for an affordable, clean B&B steps away from all the action, then check them out!

Room Tip: The entrance can be hard to find, since it's not on the Riva (promenade). You have to go around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Kastel 1700? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Kastel 1700

Address: Mihovilova Sirina 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B Kastel 1700 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B&B Villa Kastel 1700 is located in Split top center at the most attractive location in town, southern part of 1700 years old Diocletian's palace with beautiful sea view, islands and the medieval square. Outstanding location, affordable prices and the thirty years old tradition will make your stay safe and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your B&B Kastel 1700 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bed And Breakfast Villa Kastel 1700
Kastel Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Kastel 1700, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.