We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Kastel 1700

Save Saved
You added B&B Kastel 1700 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Kastel 1700
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mihovilova Sirina 5, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 50 hotels in Split
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location, lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked here very last minute in June 2013 for one night. We were upgraded to a sea view room which was lovely, very comfortable and nice views. Strongly recommend and at a good price for what you receive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    74
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
21
65
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The location couldn't be better, right on the waterfront where all the action is, but I didn't find it noisy in either of the rooms I occupied on the two separate nights I stayed in May 2013, despite both nights seeing major party events.
The first room I had, Room 2, is quite luxurious, with a window overlooking the promenade and sea. The second room was also very nice, with a window overlooking the small piazza with the statue. Split is a lovely city, with lots to see and do, and of course great eating everywhere.
The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the ferries, the train station and the bus station.
Staff were all very pleasant and helpful, with excellent English, and the breakfast choice is really good. I won't look for anywhere else to stay when I return to Split.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Kastel and were very pleased with it. The location can't be better -- right on the Riva promenade and harbor waterfront of Split's old town, near Diocletian's Palace. Access to the hotel is from the rear, via a side street off the Riva, through a public square, and down a little dead-end street. The entrance to the hotel is up a flight of steps from the street, a bit of a hassle with luggage. Our room was on the same floor as the lobby/reception desk. It was a triple room (which we had reserved even though we were only 2 people because it was the only type of room available when we reserved.) The triple room was large and on a corner of the building, with nice views out onto the Riva and waterfront and also onto the side street. The room was very nicely furnished and clean, and the excellent soundproofed windows kept out all noise from the streets. One small issue was that the towels smelled faintly of cigarette smoke.

The reception staff was extremely friendly, spoke excellent English, and was very helpful. She told us of a place we could park our car for free on a little dead-end residential street only a couple of blocks away. This saved us a lot of money we otherwise would have had to pay if we had left our car in the very expensive public lot right on the Riva.

The continental breakfast was good enough, served in the hotel's breakfast room that shares a wall with the Palace. However, breakfast is extra cost (50 kuna/person/day) and is overpriced for what you get, but more convenient than seeking a cheaper breakfast in the city.

Overall we highly recommend the Hotel B&B Kastel 1700 for a stay close to all the sights and restaurants of old town Split.

Room Tip: Triple room on same floor as reception desk is great -- large and nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray Bridge, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a very small establishment located right in the heart of the old town. All facilities are very compact. We had a studio suite on the top floor and getting the suitcases up those stairs was not easy! However, our beds were comfy and the tiny bathroom very functional. We also appreciated the helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The location in the old town was convenient but our sea front room overlooked a noisy café and promenade area. We closed the windows to get some quiet and tried the A/C but it was quite warm in the room for sleeping. The bathroom was tiny and my husband hit his head on the large water heater mounted over the toilet. The shower was very moldy. When we checked out the clerk refused to take a credit card in spite of being surrounded by many stickers advertised them. Luckily we had enough cash. We retrieved our car from the recommended nearby parking lot and had to pay over $50 for less than a day. We would not stay again or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed in room 2.
Twin beds. Small kitchen, tiny bathroom. Because everything is so narrow, that is not surprising though. But it had everything we needed. Together with the prime location I would recommend staying there.
Breakfast was a simple affair which we used only once.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The location of Hotel B&B Villa Kastel in perfect - right in walls of Diocletian's Palace. The staff is very helpful. I didn't opt for the breakfast option because there are so many good breakfast options in the neighborhood. The rooms are small but have comfy beds and nice interior design. I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the alley because it can get noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Kastel 1700? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Kastel 1700

Address: Mihovilova Sirina 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 hotels in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B Kastel 1700 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B&B Villa Kastel 1700 is located in Split top center at the most attractive location in town, southern part of 1700 years old Diocletian's palace with beautiful sea view, islands and the medieval square. Outstanding location, affordable prices and the thirty years old tradition will make your stay safe and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your B&B Kastel 1700 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bed And Breakfast Villa Kastel 1700
Kastel Hotel Split

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Kastel 1700, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.