We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location in Split” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Kastel 1700

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
B&B Kastel 1700
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mihovilova Sirina 5, Split 21000, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 hotels in Split
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic location in Split”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Kastel and were very pleased with it. The location can't be better -- right on the Riva promenade and harbor waterfront of Split's old town, near Diocletian's Palace. Access to the hotel is from the rear, via a side street off the Riva, through a public square, and down a little dead-end street. The entrance to the hotel is up a flight of steps from the street, a bit of a hassle with luggage. Our room was on the same floor as the lobby/reception desk. It was a triple room (which we had reserved even though we were only 2 people because it was the only type of room available when we reserved.) The triple room was large and on a corner of the building, with nice views out onto the Riva and waterfront and also onto the side street. The room was very nicely furnished and clean, and the excellent soundproofed windows kept out all noise from the streets. One small issue was that the towels smelled faintly of cigarette smoke.

The reception staff was extremely friendly, spoke excellent English, and was very helpful. She told us of a place we could park our car for free on a little dead-end residential street only a couple of blocks away. This saved us a lot of money we otherwise would have had to pay if we had left our car in the very expensive public lot right on the Riva.

The continental breakfast was good enough, served in the hotel's breakfast room that shares a wall with the Palace. However, breakfast is extra cost (50 kuna/person/day) and is overpriced for what you get, but more convenient than seeking a cheaper breakfast in the city.

Overall we highly recommend the Hotel B&B Kastel 1700 for a stay close to all the sights and restaurants of old town Split.

Room Tip: Triple room on same floor as reception desk is great -- large and nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    71
    23
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
56
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murray Bridge, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a very small establishment located right in the heart of the old town. All facilities are very compact. We had a studio suite on the top floor and getting the suitcases up those stairs was not easy! However, our beds were comfy and the tiny bathroom very functional. We also appreciated the helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The location in the old town was convenient but our sea front room overlooked a noisy café and promenade area. We closed the windows to get some quiet and tried the A/C but it was quite warm in the room for sleeping. The bathroom was tiny and my husband hit his head on the large water heater mounted over the toilet. The shower was very moldy. When we checked out the clerk refused to take a credit card in spite of being surrounded by many stickers advertised them. Luckily we had enough cash. We retrieved our car from the recommended nearby parking lot and had to pay over $50 for less than a day. We would not stay again or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed in room 2.
Twin beds. Small kitchen, tiny bathroom. Because everything is so narrow, that is not surprising though. But it had everything we needed. Together with the prime location I would recommend staying there.
Breakfast was a simple affair which we used only once.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The location of Hotel B&B Villa Kastel in perfect - right in walls of Diocletian's Palace. The staff is very helpful. I didn't opt for the breakfast option because there are so many good breakfast options in the neighborhood. The rooms are small but have comfy beds and nice interior design. I highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the alley because it can get noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed one night in Split. The hotel has a very good location, next to the Promenade, in the Old Town. It is also close to the ferry terminal and bus/train station, which are about a 5 to 10 minute walk away. Very convenient for day trips to Trogir. Before we arrived, the staff sent us an email with detailed instructions on how to get to the hotel; we found it easily. Our room had excellent views.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for just night thank goodness. As we were only in Split briefly we opted for location when picking accommodation - it was certainly in the heart of the city which was a positive. The room we stayed in was spacious although rather cheap and flimsy furniture and a bathroom that was more like a cupboard. No hot water for a morning shower. Our room was literally 5 metres from the reception desk so with just our bedroom door separating us from that it was a case of "one up, all up"! We left feeling tired but relieved to escape. The breakfast was similarly disappointing.

No parking obviously due to the location - we managed to get a space near the railway station where if I remember rightly it was 120kn for 24 hours. And about 10-15 minute walk through probably the scuzziest street in Split to get to the main pedestrianised street to access the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B&B Kastel 1700? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Kastel 1700

Also Known As:
Hotel Bed And Breakfast Villa Kastel 1700
Kastel Hotel Split
Address: Mihovilova Sirina 5, Split 21000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Split
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Split
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B Kastel 1700 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel B&B Villa Kastel 1700 is located in Split top center at the most attractive location in town, southern part of 1700 years old Diocletian's palace with beautiful sea view, islands and the medieval square. Outstanding location, affordable prices and the thirty years old tradition will make your stay safe and pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your B&B Kastel 1700 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Kastel 1700, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added B&B Kastel 1700 to your Saves list